Customer Reviews for

You're Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great Classic Book

    I first read this book as a Jr. High student and loved it. I was happy to see it reprinted. great insite into the mind of an OSS officer in WWII

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    The first time I had ever heard of the O.S.S. was when I happene

    The first time I had ever heard of the O.S.S. was when I happened  to pick up a book titled "Of Spies and Stratagems"  
    by Stanley Lovell at my public library... in 1978!  It was so interesting that it stayed with me all these years, I have sought out anything
    concerning O.S.S. off and on ever since.
    Fast forward to the republishing of this book...Roger Hall was an EXTREMELY clever man, very witty and from that I conclude he was
    likely brilliant.  He understates his accomplishments which is a plus, no one like a braggart but, the reason for only 4 stars is this...
    There HAS to be so much more he could have written!   Considering the time it was written and published, he must have had concerns
    about  revealing too much.  If only he had added another chapter.  I fear this man went to his grave with stories we all would have
    been in awe of.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Roger Hall's comic experiences in the OSS

    Hall's book is his funny story volunteering for, training in, and working within America's WWII OSS unit (pre-cursor to the modern CIA). Like all good soldiers, Hall sought to escape the boredom, heat, and humidity of camp life for anything else. So, he volunteered for the OSS - only knowing that at least it was something different and possibly dangerous - oh my! The book takes us through numerous training assignments of Hall's - patrolling, ambushing, parachuting, espionage basics, infiltration into civilian organizations, and more. Typical of most American WWII soldiers, he spent far more time training than he ever did in combat. The most interesting sections of the book are his parachute and espionage training. He describes both in fascinating detail. It is quite funny to see how amateurish much of his spy training was - I suppose that's why the CIA would have liked for the book not to be published. Hall writes in an irrevent and playful style that makes his book both fun and easy to read. He is the type of original smart-*ss that self-important superior officials love to hate. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, especially as it pokes fun at a rather serious business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    You're Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger

    I read this book when it first came out and thought at the time anyone this brave with a sense of humor like this and would dedicate his first book to 'Whom It My Concern' certainly was someone I would want watching my back in Vietnam. It was much better reading the second time around. Hope to see more from Mr. Hall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    You're Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger

    Wry, irreverent,and belly-laughing funny. Recommended to everyone who is not recovering from abdominal surgery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    You're Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger

    When I was in Junior High School and High School, I would walk 1.77 miles to school and 1.77 miles to home every day. To make good use of my time, I would read a book on the way to school and on the way home. I read hundreds of books on these trips over a period of six years. Of all of the books I read, there are two books I vividly remember. 'Your Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger' is one of the two. I actually read this book several times. Then, after two years of college, I found myself enlisting in the US Army. I ended up in the United States Army Intelligence School (USAINTS) at Fort Holabird, Maryland. After a couple of days of classes, I began thinking: 'This is Deja Vu all over again.' Then I began comparing what I was going through with a book I had read. Wow! I was becoming the guy who wrote 'Your Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger!' When you first read this book, it sounds like great fiction. In reality, it is an accurate reflection of the author's experience. While the book is about World War II, it also reflects what military intelligence, CIA and other 'spooks' are doing daily today. We got to play with the highest level of technology available to anybody. I was in Intelligence Collection overseas and in Counter Intelligence in the U.S. Much of the activity I was involved in can only be done overseas because it is illegal to do it in the U.S. Overseas, I was in the Headquarters of the 525th Military Intelligence Group at 'The Ponderosa' in northern Saigon. We hired and fired spy rings and native agents. We had rows of high security filing cabinets with dossiers on just about every espionage agents in Vietnam. This book is still a great tale about what it's like to be involved in espionage. It's great for all ages. If you have any interest in espionage, this is one of the 'must read' books of all time involving espionage. Even all of the hilarious episodes are accurate descriptions of what really happens among spies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    You're Stepping on My Cloak and Dagger

    Reviewer: Lucy M. Huntzinger from San Bruno, CA USA. One of the funniest books I've read in any genre. If Dave Barry had been eligible for enlistment in 1942 this is the the kind of book he might have written. Roger Hall's account of his time in the O.S.S. is full of dry wit, bawdy humor, accute assessments of the Army's intelligence operations during World War II, and his own vivid personality. The pace is fast, people and situations are clearly delineated in a few deft words, and the irreverence only heightens the sobering reality of military life in a time of war. Thirty years after I first read it this book still makes me laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1