Customer Reviews for

You've Been Warned

Average Rating 2.5
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Despite the other ratings....

I loved this book, I couldn't put it down. I was surprised to see it rated poorly on this site. I enjoyed the twists it took, gripping at times, nerve-racking. Good book.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Be warned--- Don't read this

This was a very poor read indeed. It felt like a child wrote it. I kept hoping that somewhere along the way, things would get more interesting but it never did. I suggest filing your fingernails for an hour...it would be more entertaining than this. I was very disapoi...
This was a very poor read indeed. It felt like a child wrote it. I kept hoping that somewhere along the way, things would get more interesting but it never did. I suggest filing your fingernails for an hour...it would be more entertaining than this. I was very disapointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    way too much unnecessary foul language

    foul language, that is not needed in any way for character development

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Not one of his best

    We usually always enjoy James Patterson but this wasn't one of his best as far as we are concerned.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Book I've Read In A Long Time

    Extremely simplistic plot and amateurish writing. Apparently James Patterson is loaning his name out to amateur authors to write books. Books like this one are going to ruin Patterson's reputation. To call this book garbage is an understatement. It's going to be a long time before I trust picking up another Patterson novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Yuck!

    I'm guessing the co-author wrote this, and Patterson's name is only on it for the name value. Mr. Patterson should write his own book. I've avidly read most of him, except for the avalanche of new stuff, most co-authored.

    Most of Patterson's book are extremely readable, and have such nice short chapters that they really hard to put down. This book was so un-Patterson that I found it hard to pick up! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run Away

    It is obvious Patterson is going for quantity & not quality in this bizarre but boring attempt @ infusing supernatural elements into You've Been Warned.

    I think he was trying to branch out into the supernatural arena -- maybe it was my mind trying to grasp the dreadfully peculiar happenings.

    Patterson's signature short chapters, speedy nonsensical storyline & ever present co-author is packaged into a snoozefest.

    You've Been Warned...

    Grab the Tylenol.

    Run away!!!


    I love Patterson's Alex Cross series but this novel is best stored away for when there is a toilet paper shortage!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Worst book I've read!

    I have read everything James Patterson has written, and this has got to be the worst book of anyone's I have ever read! I have told all my friends how terrible it is.... James Patterson you didn't get this one right!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Disappointed

    This might have been the 1st James Patterson book that I've read that I totally didn't enjoy. Really glad when I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Horrible

    Not worth the star i have to give it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Extremely disappointed

    I'm a huge Patterson fan. This one, to say the least, was awful. It was not true to Patterson's style at all. It seemed more like the co-author wrote the whole thing and Patterson's name was printed on the cover. Not worth the time and effort to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    HORRIBLE BOOK! WORST EVER! DO NOT READ!!!!

    This is the WORST BOOK EVER!!!!! What a waste of time! I thought it would get better, but it did not. And the end, OH MY GOD!!! How STUPID!!! Just read the last 10 pages of the book and you will see why. Then you will not read it or buy it. I am very disappointed with James Patterson in that he would make us buy a book for $24.95, waste our money and days of our time on this. He should be ashamed of himself!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    I love James Patterson's books and until this one I haven't read one I didn't enjoy. This one was bizarre, disjointed and boring. I kept waiting for it to get better but it was dreadful to the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I can't believe I wasted my time reading the whole thing. I was so disappointed with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Wish I had been warned before I bought this book !

    If you like cliches such as screaming your head off because of cockroaches crawling on your body or recurring haunting nightmares, you'll like this book. Otherwise you have been warned. Between reading another Patterson book or getting a root canal done, I'll choose the root canal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Worst James Patterson Book Ever Read

    Wow! I think someone else wrote this book and put James Patterson's name on it. Not like his writing at ALL! Simplistic writing, poor story plot, repetitiveness, boring characters, some of whom had no purpose in the book and no explanation was given for their being there. Wanted to stop reading it so many times, but thought that since it was a Patterson, it HAD to get better. Well, it didn't. I would pass this one up, even if you normally love Patterson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    The worst Patterson book I've read.

    James Patterson is my favorite author so I look forward with anticipation to reading every one of his books. What a disappointment "You've Been Warned" was!! The writing was elementary -- not quite up to Patterson's normal style. While I did complete the book, I kept hoping that it would improve along the way. It didn't. The plot and characters were hard to believe and there were several instances where the book strayed from the plotline. Perhaps Patterson should thing twice about partnering with Howard Roughan. If someone were to read this book as their introduction to Patterson, they'd never read another of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Not a true Patterson. I should have suspected that when I noted a co-author. Strickly sci-fi without a plot.Shame on James!

    Perhaps Patterson was trying to give a leg up to an up and coming amateur writer, or maybe he just needed the money. In either case, it was a bad move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Waste of time

    I love James Patterson... normally. This is the worst book I have ever read, ever. Complete waste of time. Kept thinking it would get better and it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Ilyana Kadusin needs a new career!

    I love James Patterson's books, but "You've Been Warned" was the most boring I've read. And Ilyana's voice is so annoying. She made a mess of the "Twilight Series" as well. Get a different job Ilyana...your reading is not for you...or us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Run Away!!!

    It is obvious Patterson is going for quantity & not quality in this bizarre but boring attempt @ infusing supernatural elements into You've Been Warned.

    I think he was trying to branch out into the supernatural arena -- maybe it was my mind trying to grasp the dreadfully peculiar happenings.

    Patterson's signature short chapters, speedy nonsensical storyline & ever present co-author is packaged into a snoozefest.

    You've Been Warned...

    Grab the Tylenol.

    Run away!!!


    I love Patterson's Alex Cross series but this novel is best stored away for when there is a toilet paper shortage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Wish I had been Warned

    Don't waste your time. I, too, have read every Patterson book but it seems that he is going for quanity rather than quality. This book was boring and it did seem like it was written by a child. I wish I had read the ratings before buying it. I don't think he needs help in writing a book and he should get rid of his co-writers. I have found authors not as popular as he is and enjoy their books much more. The next time I buy a book....Patterson will be at the bottom of my list as his books do NOT prove to be as exciting as they once were. Look into Jeff Abbott, Lorenzo Carcaterra or William Lashner if you want a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6