Customer Reviews for

You've Been Warned

Average Rating 2.5
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Despite the other ratings....

I loved this book, I couldn't put it down. I was surprised to see it rated poorly on this site. I enjoyed the twists it took, gripping at times, nerve-racking. Good book.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Be warned--- Don't read this

This was a very poor read indeed. It felt like a child wrote it. I kept hoping that somewhere along the way, things would get more interesting but it never did. I suggest filing your fingernails for an hour...it would be more entertaining than this. I was very disapoi...
This was a very poor read indeed. It felt like a child wrote it. I kept hoping that somewhere along the way, things would get more interesting but it never did. I suggest filing your fingernails for an hour...it would be more entertaining than this. I was very disapointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Be warned--- Don't read this

    This was a very poor read indeed. It felt like a child wrote it. I kept hoping that somewhere along the way, things would get more interesting but it never did. I suggest filing your fingernails for an hour...it would be more entertaining than this. I was very disapointed.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    A waste of time!

    I usually love James Patterson books, but this one was very disappointing to say the least....At first I thought, wow, this is going to be good, but then it went downhill - fast! The ending was the worst! Ugh, I am mad at myself for picking it up!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Like Patterson but this book disappointing

    I have read several of his books and this one was at the lower end of the list. I would not recommend this book as he has done much better work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    You have been warned

    Disappointed in the book, unlike Patterson's books...not sure it is worth the time....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Bad

    Story starts slow and really never picks up. BORING. Charctors had no good qualities. I'm glad that they all died and went to hell. Thats where i was while readinyg this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Awful

    Worst James Patterson book I have read. Disappointing ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    ugghhh

    i love james patterson books but I hated the end of this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eh

    I liked it - Didnt love it - The first part was pretty good, but the end was so awful - I could have lived with out reading it =) But not a total waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Very Strange

    A real departure from the regular writings of James Patterson. Not a book you can put down and come back to a few hours or a day later and follow what is going on. He should keep to his original style of writing, or choose a different co-author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Predictable

    The title of this book says it all: during the whole plot the warnings accumulate so much that they gradually lose strength. The author is capable of creating a tense atmosphere and the style is sharp, so one keeps going. Nevertheless the plot, although interesting is thin, and by the middle of the book, if you didn't guess the end it is because it is raining and you still have some time left to enjoy, so - why bother thinking, right? If you, like me, enjoy surprises and twists, this is not the book for you, but if you are more attuned to character development, you might enjoy it... and the price was right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    An OK book..

    Book was a little confusing on the story line, had to remember at what phase the character was in in life. Not a James Patterson story line. While the story was something to keep you questioning, it again was confusing because it referenced too many other phases that didnt make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Not His Best

    I have bought/read almost all of this authors books...this one just didn't measure up. Maybe he's aligning himself with to many "co-authors". Skip this book completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    Not written like typical Patterson

    The characters were not believeable. The storey line was poorly developed and the style was not true Patterson. It was not until the last chapater that I felt Patterson had anything to do with the writing at all. Very disappointed with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    I CAN'T BELIVE THIS IS JAMES PATTERSON!

    James Patterson is one of my favorite authors, a suspense god, who has turned up so may good page turners. I picked this up at Barnes and Noble and thought that i'd spend a pleasnt afternoon, enjoying myself- losing myself in the plot of the story, but that didn't happen. The book seems like it hasn't been written by James Patterson even though it has, but also woth Howard Roughan. The writing is more like the kind you'd find in a goosebumps books. I kept on reading thinking desperately and hopefully that something exciting would happen, something that would bring the story back to life. But nothing happened. The ending wasn't so good either, i don't reccomend this book. If you want to read a GOOD James Patterson novel than just pick up anything else by him- except this. And just an opinion, i think that James Patterson should start wrote more novels by himself insteadof with other authors. I like to read his writing and only his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Different

    This novel was certainly different from much of Patterson's other work. While his recent novels have become increasingly silly and superficial, this one goes further than most of the others except, perhaps, for When the Wind Blows and its sequel. As for the plot, and there is little else to be concerned with in a Patterson novel, it is very intriguing. I kept reading just to see how he was going to tie together the many loose threads of the plot. Unfortunately, the climax was disappointing and reads like it was written by a third-rate horror writer. The real suspense here was generated by the love triangle of the main character and her married boss. This, too, was not sufficiently resolved in a way that felt satisfying. Mr Patterson took a good opportunity to generate some real tension and all but squandered it. His message, if there was one, was completely lost after the book's final sentences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    I've read all Patterson's books and can't put them down once I've started them. I had to finish this one to see the denouement what a disappointment. I kept thinking, 'This can't be James Patterson'. The style, the characters, the dialogue - everything seemed stilted and rushed. I do not recommend this book unless you want to see how it shouldn't be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    So this is James Patterson...

    This is the first book of Mr. Patterson's that I've read and I must say, I was a bit surprised and disappointed. The only reason I kept reading it was because I figured it had to get better, after all, it's James Patterson. I will, however, try another one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Very disappointing book

    I have read almost every other James Patterson book and have thoroughly enjoyed the vast majority of them. This one, however, is a huge disappointment and a waste of money. I kept reading it and thinking it would get better. Instead of getting better, it got worse. Don't waste your time or money on this Patterson book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Not a typical Patterson book.

    I have read several Patterson Books and this was very dissapointing. It was very drawn out. You should give Honeymoon, Hide & Seek, or other regular suspenseful stories of Patterson a try. Repetition is overdone in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    This was not a good one

    I usually love Patterson books but this one was very poor. Maybe he is writing too many at a time and losing quaility. I don't know but I am happy I waited for the library to get it and didn't buy this one. Hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4