BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Z

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

A very good read. Hard to put down

posted by 18505855 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but not as horrifying as I'd hoped.

The Setting - is 2032, fifteen years after the Zombie War. The world has been cleansed of zombies, and high tech gadgets replace many of the organic things that once lived alongside humans; pets, insects, they're all gadgets now. And man, do humans rely on their gadge...
The Setting - is 2032, fifteen years after the Zombie War. The world has been cleansed of zombies, and high tech gadgets replace many of the organic things that once lived alongside humans; pets, insects, they're all gadgets now. And man, do humans rely on their gadgets! Paper. What's that? Video games lack cords, they're fully submerged virtual reality worlds where you feel and sense everything. Global warming has taken its toll, melting the polar ice caps enough to cause water to have risen significantly. But most of all, humanity is complacent; the zombie threat is of the past.

The Characters - were interesting. I decided halfway through the book that I couldn't think of them as high school kids; it just wasn't believable in my head. Josh has to be either a sophomore or a junior in high school, yet he faces few consequences, runs around with lots of freedom and thinks with more critical skills than most high school students possess. I decided halfway through that I would think of Josh and the others as live-at-home college kids, freshmen or sophomores maybe. The relationships between the team of Torchers is defined by the initial dynamic and then they don't really grow. I don't really buy into the emotional turmoil, the bonds, or any of it - and I think it could have been much more powerful had I felt along with those characters.

The Plot - was the other reason I decided to think of the characters as college kids. Josh must deceive his family to join the other Torchers in their real life battle against the zombies, well, the cybernetic zombies - right? There's the drug, Z, which I can believe - plenty of high school kids do drugs sadly. I just question the ability of a bunch of high school kids to battle zombies who are stronger than they are and work as a team functioning with high levels of memorization. I thought that the book missed out on a lot of the thriller/horror aspects what with being toned down for a YA audience. At the closure of the book I felt that it could have been so much more powerful and heart wrenching, it could have given me nightmares - but it just wasn't on that level. I enjoyed Z, it's an interesting zombie story with a twist, it's just not as scary or powerful as I'd hoped it would be.

posted by Cid on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, but not as horrifying as I'd hoped.

    The Setting - is 2032, fifteen years after the Zombie War. The world has been cleansed of zombies, and high tech gadgets replace many of the organic things that once lived alongside humans; pets, insects, they're all gadgets now. And man, do humans rely on their gadgets! Paper. What's that? Video games lack cords, they're fully submerged virtual reality worlds where you feel and sense everything. Global warming has taken its toll, melting the polar ice caps enough to cause water to have risen significantly. But most of all, humanity is complacent; the zombie threat is of the past.

    The Characters - were interesting. I decided halfway through the book that I couldn't think of them as high school kids; it just wasn't believable in my head. Josh has to be either a sophomore or a junior in high school, yet he faces few consequences, runs around with lots of freedom and thinks with more critical skills than most high school students possess. I decided halfway through that I would think of Josh and the others as live-at-home college kids, freshmen or sophomores maybe. The relationships between the team of Torchers is defined by the initial dynamic and then they don't really grow. I don't really buy into the emotional turmoil, the bonds, or any of it - and I think it could have been much more powerful had I felt along with those characters.

    The Plot - was the other reason I decided to think of the characters as college kids. Josh must deceive his family to join the other Torchers in their real life battle against the zombies, well, the cybernetic zombies - right? There's the drug, Z, which I can believe - plenty of high school kids do drugs sadly. I just question the ability of a bunch of high school kids to battle zombies who are stronger than they are and work as a team functioning with high levels of memorization. I thought that the book missed out on a lot of the thriller/horror aspects what with being toned down for a YA audience. At the closure of the book I felt that it could have been so much more powerful and heart wrenching, it could have given me nightmares - but it just wasn't on that level. I enjoyed Z, it's an interesting zombie story with a twist, it's just not as scary or powerful as I'd hoped it would be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Amazing

    A very good read. Hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awesome

    Best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I really liked the idea of this book and the book itself. There are few role playing fiction books that I have found which are worth the read. It's a page turner, keeps you on the edge of your seat and I'm wondering if there is a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    coo

    it is good and i fun,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Lark

    She waits for Ranger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Yo

    Moma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Love this book...what about a ending?what about a second book?do

    Love this book...what about a ending?what about a second book?don't like the ending!!:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Kimberly

    She moans and her breathing gets heavier.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Wow

    When i saw the book i was expecting little out of it but now that i have read it i love it! great read for people who dont get scared of zombies!
    : - 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Moonkit is locked out help!

    Moonkit is locked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Ok

    Got exicting at begining then dropped to an ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Okay

    It was an okay book really. Not as suspensful as i hoped but overall it was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Aahh

    Not all that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Pretty Good

    I love zombie books, ahd this was a good one, without the apocalyptic plots but still with the horror of zombies. It's definitely different, but in a good way; and it's full of fire, nosy sisters, badass girls, and some manipulative people you'll want to punch in the face just as much as the main character does. I do recommend this highly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    loved the book

    it was a good book cant wait to read it again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2