Customer Reviews for

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules

I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules of Civility.

posted by elisabeth1st on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife,

Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife," which I thought was wonderful.

posted by 7160081 on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules

    I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules of Civility.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nicely Done!

    Therese Fowler is a very talented writer as have read all her books--once again she has written a winner! Hats off first with the stunning cover (an eye catcher) and the research involved in putting together this extraordinary novel! Everything about the roaring 20s is appealing from the glitz, glamour, romance, travels, parties, culture, and fashion.

    As a lover of Scott Fitzgerald and The Great Gatsby, the first person fiction from Zelda’s perspective was nicely portrayed, transporting you back in time, setting the mood for each adventure. You get caught up into Zelda’s lifestyle as she experiences the highs and lows of a complex relationship of love and hate. She was talented and misunderstood-a Southern belle merging from the naïve protected girl to the struggles of power, success, fame, travel, alcoholism, infidelity, and mental illness and tough choices as she struggles for her own independence and self-worth. Well done!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    This is an incredibly readable novel, one of the best I have rea

    This is an incredibly readable novel, one of the best I have read about Fitzgeralds. As a university English professor, I have done a great deal of research on both Scott and Zelda, and the research here is impeccable. What Fowler has also done, is write a wonderful readable novel. The prose moves swiftly; no details are superfluous, repetitive or unnecessary. I stayed up half the night finishing this. What I also really appreciate is that Fowler tries to address several of the mythologized aspects of Zelda's life. Read Fowler's ending notes and you will see how she explains using the vast amounts of research available on this couple--including their own letters--to try and present a rationale view of what happened during that tragic, turbulent relationship. What emerges is Zelda as a sheltered, spoiled, naïve young debutante, whisked away by the romantic notions presented to her by a mysterious, brash young man--a young man who offered her a way out of that safe and predictable existence she knew. The fact her parents were dead-set against it only added to the allure. To see this bright spirit crushed and distorted against her husbands' excessive ambition, immaturity, alcoholism and insecurities is tragic. Zelda is a heartbreaking figure and Fowler does a beautiful job bringing her to light. One of the best books I've read this year, so far.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    This in an incredible story about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald!

    This in an incredible story about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald! Fowler captures the lives of Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald in such a way that makes you never want to stop reading!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Z: A NOVEL OF ZELDA FITZGERALD written by Therese Ann Fowler,rea

    Z: A NOVEL OF ZELDA FITZGERALD written by Therese Ann Fowler,read by Jenna Lamia is a wonderful historical/autobiography set during the 1920’2. A powerful story of the Fitzgeralds,the Jazz age,the roaring 20′s,love,the life and times of F. Scott Fitzgerald and his beautiful wife,Zelda. Their drinking,jealousy,obsession,fame,and Zelda’s diagnosis of Schizophrenia and her stay in a Swiss Mental facility. An autobiography of a fascinating couple in American history,F. Scott Fitzgerald. I think we all have read “The Great Gatsby” in high school,but this story will make you want to re-read that story with a new look. Oh yeah, did I mention Ernest Hemingway. The reading of this story was very smoothly done, holding your interest. And yes the reader uses a Southern drawl often to carry the story. Being from the South, I enjoyed the Sourthern drawl. A wonderful and intriguing audio. Be warned: It may contain some offensive language to some readers! Received for an honest review.

    *On Sale 3/26/2013*

    * Published simultaneously with the print edition from St. Martin’s Press*

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: NONE

    RECEIVED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews/My Book Addiction and More

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I hope that, in another life, I was Zelda Fitzgerald.  In Z,

    I hope that, in another life, I was Zelda Fitzgerald. 




    In Z, A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, Therese Anne Fowler has captured the most amazing and interesting character of a real-life person and spun a fascinating tale of what her life was like as the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald. The voice of the book is intriguing and unique and I couldn't help but be drawn into the 1920's and wish I were living this glamorous, chaotic life...until it came crashing down.




    Fowler has managed not only to grab my attention for the reading of this book but also to rekindle an interest in the writings of F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and Ezra Pound. I even put on a Cole Porter album to listen to while reading the last few chapters.




    If you'd like to be transported to another time and place do not hesitate to read Z.




    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Interesting but not a must read

    Being a big fan of F Scott Fitzgerald I thought this would be a great read and it was interesting but not a must read. An unexpectedly sad tale that made me want to learn more about her though to see how others viewed her and their relationship. For those that really loved The Paris Wife, you will likely enjoy this as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    If you liked The Paris Wife, you will love Z. Fowler writes an

    If you liked The Paris Wife, you will love Z.
    Fowler writes an incredible story of the life and times
    Zelda Fitzgerald and her struggle to establish her own talents, 
    find self worth all in the shadow of her infamous/famous husband
    F. Scott Fitzgerald.
    Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife,

    Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife," which I thought was wonderful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I was somewhat disappointed with the book. Thought the Paris Wi

    I was somewhat disappointed with the book. Thought the Paris Wife was better. Would suggest you read the book Zelda. Much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    I loved every minute of this book.  The writing is so beautifull

    I loved every minute of this book.  The writing is so beautifully done, you just want to write down little snippets to remember forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Absolutely fabulous. I could not put the book down. The author transports you back to a part of history full of excesses. You feel the love and the heartache with each word that F. Scott and Zelda had for each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    A very good book about the life and times of Zelda, but her stru

    A very good book about the life and times of Zelda, but her struggles reminded me of other women I have known.  Her story may be set in a particular time, but it is also universal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Powerful Story, Emotionally Driven!In all honesty, I should say

    Powerful Story, Emotionally Driven!In all honesty, I should say before my review that I don't know much about Zelda Fitzgerald.  All I really knew about F. Scott Fitzgerald was just from reading some of his work.  In all honesty, my love of Midnight in Paris is what made me click request on NetGalley.  My enjoyment of this book has nothing to do with accuracy of the historical information.  
    I wasn't sure what to expect in this book.  The time period though is such an interesting time.  The 20's?  It was just interesting time in our history.  Prohibition. The first world war.  New York.  And then the book goes into Paris and other parts of France, Italy, and others.  I love books that allow me to explore the world outside the great state of Texas.  I really thought that the author did a great job of capturing the blurring world that Scott and Zelda faced.  
    As a story, the book was pretty awesome.  The story was powerful, and I felt all these crazy swirling emotions throughout Zelda's fight with her world, her role as a woman, and the wife of a great and troubled writer.  Living in the world now, I can't imagine what it must have really been like for women.  Many people would be disappointed to find that I am not really a feminist.  But I do understand that it's hard to criticize a world in which I didn't live.  I really appreciated the character that Zelda represented.  
    Many would really appreciate the relationship between Scott and Zelda.  There was a lot of love there, but there was also a bit of toxicity.  The relationship was just as bad for them as there was good.  Watching them love each other and yet slowly tear each other apart was incredibly heartbreaking to witness through the pages.  Seeing the different characters that we have come to recognize through their work in the book was also really interesting.  Characters like Ernest Hemingway, Gertrude Stein, Gerald and Sara Murphy, Ezra Pound, Picasso, and many others fill the book.  I really appreciate that kind of thing. 
    I know that my review isn't a super clear image of what the book is.  Let me try to summarize.  Zelda Fitzgerald was the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald, a great writer from the 20's.  She was also a dancer, an artist, and a writer herself.  She would discover so much about who she is throughout the story, but she is also faced with the conflicts such discoveries have with the role that women were to play during that time.  As a daughter of the South, Scott promised her a world of adventure.  Still at the end of a tumultuous adventure, even in the midst of mental instability made worse by misdiagnosis, she kept a strength and dignity that I respected.  The story is powerful and emotional and the writing, to me, was beautiful.  It's a great story, and it makes me want to read some biographies and read some of Zelda's work. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    &female

    Mi res 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Loved this book! i now have a slight obsession for the Fitzgeral

    Loved this book! i now have a slight obsession for the Fitzgeralds.  Great read. Recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Dash

    Jason??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    basically boring

    I've not finished reading it...the vocabulary is at a third grade level and the style is too simple to snare my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Coral

    Done and done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5