Customer Reviews for

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules

I loved this book! Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife or Rules of Civility.

posted by elisabeth1st on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife,

Disappointing. Seems to be a poor copy of "The Paris Wife," which I thought was wonderful.

posted by 7160081 on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who is Zelda Fitzgerald? Born Zelda Sayre in Montgomery, Alabama

    Who is Zelda Fitzgerald? Born Zelda Sayre in Montgomery, Alabama in July 1900, she was an American novelist and 1920s icon. The wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald was nicknamed "the first American Flapper." She was the other half of the famous Jazz Age/Roaring Twenties celebrity couple. On the outside, the Fitzgeralds' marriage seemed golden. But behind doors, it was full of the harsh realities of alcoholism, lost identities, mental illness, infidelity and literary rivalry.

    "Happily, happily foreverafterward—the best we could." ~ Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald

    The beautiful southern belle first met Scott in 1918. They fell in love hard and fast. After F. Scott sold his first novel, This Side of Paradise, to Scribner's Zelda boarded a train north and married him. Their life became a wild train ride. From New York to Hollywood to Paris, the legendary couple lived a glamorous, yet doomed life. But married life for the famous miscreants wasn't always glamorous "Gatsby-like" parties, bottomless champagne, tuxedos and sparkling gowns. Real life kicked in and along with it, conflict between the Fitzgeralds. Women's roles in marriage was quite different than modern-day. But even then, Zelda had a tough time adjusting to being a dedicated housewife and not a career woman. Zelda was among the first to read F. Scott Fitzgerald's writing. But did you know she was often the author behind articles with only F. Scott's Fitzgerald's name in the byline? This is just one of the many things told in this novel.

    Author Therese Anne Fowler tells Zelda Fitzgerald's story the way Zelda herself might have told it. It is evident through the novel that the author has respect and affection for both Scott and Zelda. If you are a writer, you know that fiction is based on real people. Z takes readers on an imaginary journey through Zelda's life and thoughts. In the Acknowledgments, the author says this novel is an attempt to imagine what it was like to be Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald. The research is evident in passages that reflect known facts of the Fitzgeralds. Yet it has a personal spin to it that newspapers, media and gathered correspondence could not portray. Well done, Therese Anne Fowler. Well done.

    Because facts are woven into imagination through words, there were moments where the story seemed to drag. However, it was often the case where back story was necessary to continue into the future of the plot. Z is an exceptional novel to read, especially while re-reading The Great Gatsby or watching the new movie which releases this Friday, May 10. Z is 380 pages of fiction based on reality that any Fitzgerald or classic literature fan will enjoy.
    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    What a spellbinding book.

    I had to keep reminding myself that this is a novel, it read like an autobiography. Fowler takes you back in time and re-creates the roaring 20s and Zelda and F. Scott's life during that time. I felt like I was there and I didn't want the story to end. Make sure you read the notes at the end of the book.

    Reading Z had made me want to go back and read Fitzgerald's books again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    What an eye opener

    I knew Hemingway was a creep of a human but F. Scott was almost as bad. So good to learn more about Zelda based on good research. The writing is great and it's hard to put down. I would give it an A+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Z stands for Zelda, Zany and Zestful!

    I would give this book TEN stars if such a rating was available -- wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    One of the best books I've ever read!!!!

    One of the best books I've ever read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Zelda Fitzgerald Lives

    For those of us enchanted by the Flapper era,this picture is painted with a broad brush. There is a bit of Zelda in every woman alive! Lovely depiction of a by-gone era!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hxbsbchc v 4r s5zt

    W hdx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Good job.

    This was totally fascinating. A+++ job.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2