Customer Reviews for

Zach's Lie

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Must read!!

Zach's lie is about a boy who gets put into the Witness Protection Program because of his father's decisions. The book starts off explaning the characters and their first conflict with the drug cartels men. The main character is Zack or Jack who is a young immature boy ...
Zach's lie is about a boy who gets put into the Witness Protection Program because of his father's decisions. The book starts off explaning the characters and their first conflict with the drug cartels men. The main character is Zack or Jack who is a young immature boy who throughout the story is just trying to do right and live with his condition. Joanne or Wanda is his siter she is a great singer who just wants to excell in life regardless of the situation. Mrs.Osborne is Zach and Wanda's mom she is great person who is just trying to keep her family together. Neil osborne is their dad as you can see the one who brought them into this mess. Later on in the book you will come to meet Sam who plays a big role in he story and also Catalin who later on becomes Zach's girlfriend. Lastly you will meet Alonzo who is the drug cartel's leader. The main conflict throughtout the book is character vs character because throughtout the book zach is mad at his parents and at the same time trying to stay away from the drug cartel. One of the events that made up the rising action in the book was when him and his family were awoken during night and held hostage in their house. Another part was after the men left and had threathned them the agents came and already knew what had happened. What I liked about the book was while reading it I didnt want to put it down I wanted to continue to read especially the part where they were at the hotel. Also when peter ended up getting conrtol of the zachs backpack i couldnt stop cause it made think what will happen. Lastly the bestpart was the end it had an ironic ending that really made the book complete. I would recommened this book from grades 5-9 because I liked the way the author put the story together and made it ironic and also because it gives an input on what the witness protection program is like.

posted by LIlCowUno on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Zach's Lie

Ever wonder what it would be like to be in the witness protection program? Well I did but I didn't actually want to be in it so I read a book about a kid who was.
It starts off with Jack and his family sleeping. Suddenly, a man thrashed Jack's door open with as much f...
Ever wonder what it would be like to be in the witness protection program? Well I did but I didn't actually want to be in it so I read a book about a kid who was.
It starts off with Jack and his family sleeping. Suddenly, a man thrashed Jack's door open with as much force as a bear. The man grabbed Jack and brought him downstairs. There he found his mom and sister tied up on the couch with two other men standing over them. The men informed them that if they told anyone that the men were at the house to consider them dead. Jack loved superheroes so he depended on them to save him and so while sitting there he asked himself

"Where was the caped cruiser when I needed him?"

After they leave Jack called the police and they showed up immediately. The policemen told them that their dad was involved in drugs so because of that Jack must be put into the Witness Protection Program. Jack's dad is in jail so Jack can not see him because the bad men are looking for them and if they go see their dad, the men could find them and kill them.
Towards the middle of the book, Jack, his mom, and his sister moved to a small town with very few people. Now Jack becomes Zack. He dyes his hair, puts colored contacts, in and dressed conservatively. He can start fresh. The first day of his new school he made one enemy (Peter). Peter was picking on a girl and Zack stepped in and punched Peter in the face. But even though Zack was sticking up for someone he still got in trouble. But the Janitor (Sam) calmed him down. He let Zack go into his office and hit a punching bag to let all his anger out. Now the girl he saved from peter started to like him. He spent a lot of time with her and they become boyfriend and girlfriend.
Zack was finally fitting in and not thinking about his old life .He has lots of friends and was doing well in school. His life was going great . but the men found him. Zack knew that if they caught him they will do as they said and kill him. He did everything he can to keep them away but was not enough. Right when he is losing hope someone showed up to help him! Now they must find a way to catch the men and send them to jail, but will jail cells keep them from trying to kill Zack?


Review
I give this book 3 stars because it is full of action but it could be more detailed with better vocabulary. Some parts need to be cut out but over all it was pretty good. I recommend this book to 5-7th graders because it's an easy read. This book is for girls and boys because they both would like it.

posted by comets20 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Must read!!

    Zach's lie is about a boy who gets put into the Witness Protection Program because of his father's decisions. The book starts off explaning the characters and their first conflict with the drug cartels men. The main character is Zack or Jack who is a young immature boy who throughout the story is just trying to do right and live with his condition. Joanne or Wanda is his siter she is a great singer who just wants to excell in life regardless of the situation. Mrs.Osborne is Zach and Wanda's mom she is great person who is just trying to keep her family together. Neil osborne is their dad as you can see the one who brought them into this mess. Later on in the book you will come to meet Sam who plays a big role in he story and also Catalin who later on becomes Zach's girlfriend. Lastly you will meet Alonzo who is the drug cartel's leader. The main conflict throughtout the book is character vs character because throughtout the book zach is mad at his parents and at the same time trying to stay away from the drug cartel. One of the events that made up the rising action in the book was when him and his family were awoken during night and held hostage in their house. Another part was after the men left and had threathned them the agents came and already knew what had happened. What I liked about the book was while reading it I didnt want to put it down I wanted to continue to read especially the part where they were at the hotel. Also when peter ended up getting conrtol of the zachs backpack i couldnt stop cause it made think what will happen. Lastly the bestpart was the end it had an ironic ending that really made the book complete. I would recommened this book from grades 5-9 because I liked the way the author put the story together and made it ironic and also because it gives an input on what the witness protection program is like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    Movie Material

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    READ ZACH'S LIE

    Zach's lie is an action book with little romance. Jack's father helped in-port drugs into the country. Afterwards, the family's house is invaded by the people that his dad helped. Now, Zach and his family have new looks, new friends,and new lives. This book is reccomended for all ages. It was magnificent. The story by Roland Smith could not have been put together better. If you hav not read this book, you should.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    OMG!!!!!!!!

    This Is Like A Really Good Book.. Even Though I Had To Read It For School. I Was Glad I Did. Really Good.. Jack's Run Was Also Really Good (Second One)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Zach's Lie

    Zach's Lie is about a boy living the dream in california. Only to find that his dad helped the columbians ship some weed, and get caught by the DEA. Now the people that his dad shipped drugs for are after Jack and his family to make sure his dad doesn't tell the DEA anything. Soon the DEA puts them under the Witness Protection Program. As they lead their new lives in Elko they find that the past has a way of getting revenge. Zach's Lie by far one of the best books I have ever read. Althoguh the first few pages were slow, by page ten I couldn't put down the book. I recommend this book to everyone, because event though it's short read. It's tight Dawg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    AWESOME!!!!

    Zach's Lie is an awesome book i couldn't put it down until i read the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Zach's Lie

    This book was a summer reading that I enjoyed. It is filled with many twists and turns. The end is the one of the most touching parts of the book. 'here is your co-piolet, Robert Green' Zach's love for Cat is fun and I find this a very good book, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    Zach's Lie is a great book. My language arts teacher recommended it for a book report, and I couldn't put it down until I was done! Roland Smith is an excellent author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Can You Keep a Secret?

    He was a normal boy forced to keep many secrets inside. Zach¿s family is in a lot of trouble. He is forced to hide many secrets that are hard to keep because of his fathers mistakes. Zach, his sister, and his mom are forced away from their loved ones and from their house and basically everything! Warned not to tell a soul about who visited them and why. But will Zach be able to keep the secret or will someone find out who he really is because of one stupid mistake? I liked this book a lot. There was page turning suspense and great detail. I could hardly ever put the book down at times. There were some parts that began to get a little boring but very few of them. I believe the setting of this novel is very realistic and is something that could happen today. Although I couldn¿t relate to this novel very often I would still love to read a sequel or follow-up. I recommend this book to people around the ages from twelve to fourteen. Both boys and girls, I believe, would enjoy this interesting novel. Some may even relate to this story. But remember don¿t tell your secret! I have yet to read another one of Roland Smiths novels but I have a feeling that all his books are probably just as interesting as this one was. The sequel to Zach¿s Lie is Jack¿s Run. I can hardly wait to read this one after reading Zach¿s Lie. This book isn¿t too difficult but isn¿t so easy that you read it in an hour. The first chapter of the book already was very good and reeled me in, the second chapter was even better! I love to read and even though you may not just give this book a chance. Trust me you won¿t regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    It was awesome!!!!!!

    zach's lie was one of my favorite all-time books. It was scary, yet fascinating. in this book, a boy, jack, and his om and sister get put into the witness protection program because their dad is going to tell the government about a drug organization. the company finds them, and they are in big trouble. read the book to find out if they come out of it alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    awsome book!!!!!!

    this book is really cool! it has a lot of action! if you read the book you'll really be shoked to find out what sam,the custodian, really is! the parts with alonzo aznar are cool to! I recommend you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    The best book

    I could never put this book down it was so great. The auther never told u what was going to happen next. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    I loved this book soo much i couldn't put it down!

    If u love books where a person has the perfect life and something bad happens and they have to get through the tough times and they start their whole life over and it's much better... then this is the book for you. This book is not just about bad stuff happening to Zach there's a lot of good things happing like Zach falls in love with a girl and she falls in love with him. this book is soo good read it and i'll never want to put it down trust me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    WOW!!! WHAT A BOOK

    I'm a very picky reader but when i picked up this bok i just couldn't put it down!!!!This book was so good!!!!! I also read Jack's Run and it was even better!!!! Anyone will enjoy it!!! Just give it a chance. (Anyone think there will be another book? i hope there IS!!!!) Roland Smith is such a good AUTHOR!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Best Book Ever!!!!!

    This book absolutely had it all. There was a lot of action, surprising twists, and romance. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    It was a book that never had a boring part in it and kept you guessing from begining to end. You'll never guess the ending. A book well worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Kids Love This Book!

    Zach's Lie is the answer to motivating reluctant readers! For the past four years I've read Zach's Lie aloud to my sixth grade class. Every year the students can't wait for the next reading session, become skilled predicters, and increase their personal reading interest. Zach's Lie is a first-rate adventure novel for any reader age 10-100+. Roland Smith captures the reader's attention with vivid images of the action and well-researched details of Elko, Nevada. We are eagerly awaiting the publishing of Jack's Run, the sequel to Zach's Lie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Shocked

    I was so shocked I thought this wasn't going to be that great of a book but it turned out to be fantastic. My recemendation is to keep reading it even if it isn't that great because it turns into a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Zach's lie of idenity

    Imagine if your whole life was a lie, or imagine living your life with two seperate idenities. Well in this book a young boy in 8th grade transfers from one school to another and from one idenity to another. Also imagine changing your idenity because because of your dad's enemy. So if you like mystery books and turning to the next page to see what happens than you will like this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Andy's review

    This was an awsome book and I think everybody should read this book.This book rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3