Customer Reviews for

Zach's Lie

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Must read!!

Zach's lie is about a boy who gets put into the Witness Protection Program because of his father's decisions. The book starts off explaning the characters and their first conflict with the drug cartels men. The main character is Zack or Jack who is a young immature boy ...
Zach's lie is about a boy who gets put into the Witness Protection Program because of his father's decisions. The book starts off explaning the characters and their first conflict with the drug cartels men. The main character is Zack or Jack who is a young immature boy who throughout the story is just trying to do right and live with his condition. Joanne or Wanda is his siter she is a great singer who just wants to excell in life regardless of the situation. Mrs.Osborne is Zach and Wanda's mom she is great person who is just trying to keep her family together. Neil osborne is their dad as you can see the one who brought them into this mess. Later on in the book you will come to meet Sam who plays a big role in he story and also Catalin who later on becomes Zach's girlfriend. Lastly you will meet Alonzo who is the drug cartel's leader. The main conflict throughtout the book is character vs character because throughtout the book zach is mad at his parents and at the same time trying to stay away from the drug cartel. One of the events that made up the rising action in the book was when him and his family were awoken during night and held hostage in their house. Another part was after the men left and had threathned them the agents came and already knew what had happened. What I liked about the book was while reading it I didnt want to put it down I wanted to continue to read especially the part where they were at the hotel. Also when peter ended up getting conrtol of the zachs backpack i couldnt stop cause it made think what will happen. Lastly the bestpart was the end it had an ironic ending that really made the book complete. I would recommened this book from grades 5-9 because I liked the way the author put the story together and made it ironic and also because it gives an input on what the witness protection program is like.

posted by LIlCowUno on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Zach's Lie

Ever wonder what it would be like to be in the witness protection program? Well I did but I didn't actually want to be in it so I read a book about a kid who was.
It starts off with Jack and his family sleeping. Suddenly, a man thrashed Jack's door open with as much f...
Ever wonder what it would be like to be in the witness protection program? Well I did but I didn't actually want to be in it so I read a book about a kid who was.
It starts off with Jack and his family sleeping. Suddenly, a man thrashed Jack's door open with as much force as a bear. The man grabbed Jack and brought him downstairs. There he found his mom and sister tied up on the couch with two other men standing over them. The men informed them that if they told anyone that the men were at the house to consider them dead. Jack loved superheroes so he depended on them to save him and so while sitting there he asked himself

"Where was the caped cruiser when I needed him?"

After they leave Jack called the police and they showed up immediately. The policemen told them that their dad was involved in drugs so because of that Jack must be put into the Witness Protection Program. Jack's dad is in jail so Jack can not see him because the bad men are looking for them and if they go see their dad, the men could find them and kill them.
Towards the middle of the book, Jack, his mom, and his sister moved to a small town with very few people. Now Jack becomes Zack. He dyes his hair, puts colored contacts, in and dressed conservatively. He can start fresh. The first day of his new school he made one enemy (Peter). Peter was picking on a girl and Zack stepped in and punched Peter in the face. But even though Zack was sticking up for someone he still got in trouble. But the Janitor (Sam) calmed him down. He let Zack go into his office and hit a punching bag to let all his anger out. Now the girl he saved from peter started to like him. He spent a lot of time with her and they become boyfriend and girlfriend.
Zack was finally fitting in and not thinking about his old life .He has lots of friends and was doing well in school. His life was going great . but the men found him. Zack knew that if they caught him they will do as they said and kill him. He did everything he can to keep them away but was not enough. Right when he is losing hope someone showed up to help him! Now they must find a way to catch the men and send them to jail, but will jail cells keep them from trying to kill Zack?


Review
I give this book 3 stars because it is full of action but it could be more detailed with better vocabulary. Some parts need to be cut out but over all it was pretty good. I recommend this book to 5-7th graders because it's an easy read. This book is for girls and boys because they both would like it.

posted by comets20 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Okay

    The middle was a bore. I felt more exhileration in a cereal box. I thought this was the worst book the only amount of action was the last three pages! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    I loved this book soo much i couldn't put it down!

    If u love books where a person has the perfect life and something bad happens and they have to get through the tough times and they start their whole life over and it's much better... then this is the book for you. This book is not just about bad stuff happening to Zach there's a lot of good things happing like Zach falls in love with a girl and she falls in love with him. this book is soo good read it and i'll never want to put it down trust me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    WOW!!! WHAT A BOOK

    I'm a very picky reader but when i picked up this bok i just couldn't put it down!!!!This book was so good!!!!! I also read Jack's Run and it was even better!!!! Anyone will enjoy it!!! Just give it a chance. (Anyone think there will be another book? i hope there IS!!!!) Roland Smith is such a good AUTHOR!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Best Book Ever!!!!!

    This book absolutely had it all. There was a lot of action, surprising twists, and romance. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    It was a book that never had a boring part in it and kept you guessing from begining to end. You'll never guess the ending. A book well worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Kids Love This Book!

    Zach's Lie is the answer to motivating reluctant readers! For the past four years I've read Zach's Lie aloud to my sixth grade class. Every year the students can't wait for the next reading session, become skilled predicters, and increase their personal reading interest. Zach's Lie is a first-rate adventure novel for any reader age 10-100+. Roland Smith captures the reader's attention with vivid images of the action and well-researched details of Elko, Nevada. We are eagerly awaiting the publishing of Jack's Run, the sequel to Zach's Lie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    OMG!!!

    I have been waiting for this book to come out and i got this what a waste of time never ever buy this book or spend time reading it... Trust me DON'T GET IT.... They talk about stupid bad stuff..unless u like bad stuff you cna read it....i hate it... Zack supposdly was cool kid but he scwered his parents lifes up what a dumb butt..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Shocked

    I was so shocked I thought this wasn't going to be that great of a book but it turned out to be fantastic. My recemendation is to keep reading it even if it isn't that great because it turns into a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Zach's lie

    listening to the book out loud made me wanna take the book from my teacher and read it my self!! every time we would read i just wanna keep going!! this book was so thrilling! zach's lie is about a boy and his family that has to change their whole identity and had to move to a new town to hide out from the people that were out to get them for zach's dads mistake in involvement with drug dealers!the ending was awsome but im not gonna tell you what happens because you need to go out and read it your self!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Zach's lie of idenity

    Imagine if your whole life was a lie, or imagine living your life with two seperate idenities. Well in this book a young boy in 8th grade transfers from one school to another and from one idenity to another. Also imagine changing your idenity because because of your dad's enemy. So if you like mystery books and turning to the next page to see what happens than you will like this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Andy's review

    This was an awsome book and I think everybody should read this book.This book rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    I was so shocked

    I couldn't belive how well this book was writen I can't wait to read other books By Roland Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Zach's Lie

    Imagine that your dad gets thrown in jail ,drug dealers are trying to find and kill you ,you have to change your whole identity ,and leave everybody you¿ve ever known ,and never talk to them again. Well that¿s jusy what happens to Jack osbourne and his family. Their forced to leave evrything behind and move so they don¿t get caught and killed by the drug dealers. What happens is jack¿s dad buys an airplane buisness and can¿t pay all of it so he asks a guy named Alonzo Aznar to help him pay some of the buisness and in return Alonzo will own half of the buisness. But what Jacks dad doesn¿t know is that Alonzo is a drug smuggler and is using the buisness to smuggle drugs from Mexico to the U.S. Then when Jacks dad is caught smuggling he gets taken to jail. When Alonzo finds out about this he threatens to kill jack¿s family if he tells the DEA anything about him. Well I give this book a 9 out of 10 because it keeps you geussing what will happen next and wondering what will happen to Jack and his family. I recommend this book to people who like mystery and a little adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    great book!!

    The story is about Jack Osborne, or Zach Granger. His father is under arrest, so he and his family have to move to get away from the evil Alonzo A znar. i won't tell you what happens, but this book sure got me turning pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    THIS IS A GGGRRREEEAAATTT BOOK!!!!!!

    i LOVED this book!! i wish i could go on forever and never stop!!! Roland keep writing your a great author! write a 2nd one i cant wait to read the next one to come out!! i couldn't stop reading it i loved it!! i even went and bought it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Zack's Lie

    What would you do if your whole life was lies? Well, Zack¿s lie was a book written to keep you off your seat. The story was about an average teenager whose life gets turn upside down, when his father makes one wrong move. Then his sister, mom, and Zack have to move, and in there they have to make whole new lives where no one knows who they are or where they came from. Do you think that that you could keep everything a secret? Well that was the question faced by the whole family. The characters were very easy to relate to, in one part of the book Zack is faced with the problem that every new kid would go through, starting all over, but this way was a little harder because he couldn¿t even tell people where he came from. The theme of the book makes you think about, what if that happened to you, because Zack¿s family was so normal and then all of the sudden everything changed. The author had a great way of keeping the reader guessing through the book and made the reader keep reading until they found of what happened.I think that this is a really great novel that most readers can get into. The book has a exciting plot with realistic characters. Any one who liked a good thriller/mystery could get in this book. So if you want to know what it would be like to lie about everything from the color of your eyes then this is the book for you. This story proves a very important lesson in anyone¿s live. It proves that everything can change within minutes, and when it is gone it won¿t come back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    Can't stop reading Zach's Lie!

    Wow, this is the best book I have ever read! It's a great book for teenangers, and it's good without getting innapropriate. It gets intense and gets into real life situations yet to a safe point. I just recently finished a book report on it. I would highly reccomend it to anybody who wants a great adventure story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    from a 14 year old perspective

    I think since alot of kids hate to read in school teachers have to find a really good book to read and i am the kid that hates to read i would rather take a test than read a book and i got started and didnt stop till i was finished so i think this is an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    *You would wish it would never end!*

    This is my all-time favorite book. I couldn't get my hands off it! The characters were so amazing and the author did a wonderful job, go Roland!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Best Book ever!

    This is one book i recommend to anyone no matter what type of books you like to read! Roland Smith is an outstanding author! I really want a sequal to this amazing book!! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4