Customer Reviews for

Zahrah the Windseeker

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Awesome!

    My only critique of this book is that I wished the author would show more rather than tell.

    But besides that this book is definitely one my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    A heroic story!

    Wow, I loved this book! It's a very heroic story of a girl named zahrah wandering into the forbiden greeny jungle to save her best friend. It sends a really good message that you can do anything as long as you put your mind to it. And anything is possible. Such a good fairytale! Great and quick read for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Zahrah

    This book is fantastic I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Delightfully told Fairytale

    Zahrah the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu is a wonderfully written fairytale. This story is for anyone who would like to escape reality and jump back into their childhood made up of dreams and fantasies. Zahrah is a thirteen year old girl with a rare gift which no one is entirely sure what she will be able to do. Born with vines growing in her hair, she has bee taunted beyond tears most of her life. Very shy, withdrawn with low self confidence and a deadly fear of heights she is about to find herself doing things she never would have remotely considered. Dari is a fifteen year old boy and quite the daring adventurer. Always wanting to do the forbidden, his insatiable curiosity leads him into a life and death situation that will change forever how the people in his city look at life and what it has to offer. The story starts off with our two characters supporting each other with their problems and how to deal with them. They are the best of friends and can share anything with each other without fear of ridicule or chance of gossip. They are indeed true friends beyond the sense of the word. After Dari is attacked and left in a coma it is up to Zahrah to go into the Forbidden Greeny Jungle to find the one item that may save her friend from a possible permenant coma to quite likely death. Does she have the courage and stamina to accomplish such a task. This is something she is about to find out the hard way. Relying on an out dated field guide Zahrah sets off to find her way through the Jungle braving all kinds of horrible creatures and plants, eating what is available and taking chances that she will not be poisoned in the process. She soon finds out that the field guide has only the basic information when it decides to give it and she must rely on her on intuition to help her accomplish something that has not been done by an adult in many years and has never been tried by a child. The author has given us an amazing story of love, devotion and courage that it was a true delight to read. I can actually envision being a child in a village at dusk with an elder sitting there telling all the children of this marvelous tale. It is highly colorful, intriguing and encouraging to say the least. A delight for teens and adults this tale should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    One of a Kind!

    These days there is a lot of wonderful young adult fantasy in bookstores. Nevertheless, Zahrah the Windseeker is still one of a kind, for it is the only young adult fantasy novel out there that is African from its very center. In the world of Ginen (which in Voodoo, is the name of what slaves imagined Africa to be¿since many could not remember¿but in this novel, Ginen is a whole other world), Zahrah is dada (in Nigerian culture, this is a child literally born with dreadlocked hair- these children are believed to hold special powers). When Zahrah learns that she has special powers, this realization leads her to the adventure of her life. Okorafor-Mbachu takes from the myth of the flying Africans. In this case, it goes even father because Okorafor-Mbachu is Igbo, just as those Africans of the flying Africans myth of South Carolina were. The fascinating thing is that aside from African American and African myth and culture, Okorafor-Mbachu blends in elements of the fantasy genre. There¿s a hilarious homage to Douglas Adam¿s Hitchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy, the novel¿s got magical creatures and beasts that easily rival those in Star Wars world, and there are science fictional elements that are really fascinating- like computers that grow from seeds. Zahrah the Windseeker is a fresh and new type of fantasy and Zahrah¿s adventure is will definitely raise your heart rate! I can¿t wait to read her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Zahrah the Windseeker

    Magical...creative...imaginative!!! In the traditional of exceptional young adult fantasy writers, Okorafor-Mbachu's debut novel represents the next generation of fantastical heroines. Okorafor-Mbachu creates a world where nothing is exactly what it appears to be, teaching us all that anything is possible and a young girl is capable of the wondrous. I urge every parent to share this treasure with their children and everyone else to share the fantasy too. Trust me folks, there is a lesson to be learned here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    intelligent

    i really enjoyed reading this book, it kind of takes you into a fantasy world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    Zahrah the Windseeker

    The is the first fantasy I¿ve encountered that features a female heroine and takes place in a land that sounds a lot like Africa¿with its distinctive regions and citizens, its vibrant, exotic open-air markets and a lush forest populated with unique flora and fauna. I loved the character of Zahrah, a young, somewhat introverted but thoughtful teen, who ultimately learns to value her individuality (including her ¿dada¿ hair and new-found ability to fly) and to use her gifts and talents to save her best friend¿s life. When Dari is bitten by a snake during one of their forays into the forbidden Greeny Jungle, Zahrah determines to enter the forest and face whatever terrors abide there, in order to find and retrieve the antidote to the poison. The awesome trek that follows makes many physical, emotional and spiritual demands upon her, but her determination and growing confidence are aided by forest creatures who respect her diligence on a cause most called ¿impossible.¿ This exciting story delivers an ageless truth to young readers: In your unique self, you are are endowed with the tools you need to live a life of purpose and wonder. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Zahrah the Windseeker

    I flew through this novel in two days! I¿ve never read a fantasy book like this. I think the author is African and she (I think) created this fantastical world using African cultures and folklore. I¿ve read Virginia Hamilton¿s ¿The People Could Fly,¿ maybe she got some of the myth from that. But I also noticed elements from the Hitchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy (it has a similar kind of humor) and Harry Potter. This is definitely something new and I really enjoyed it! I especially loved all the crazy creatures, the realistic characters and the plant technology. It read smooth and fast. I¿m glad I found this book. Very unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1