Customer Reviews for

Zane (Harlequin Desire Series #2239)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's funny how the Westmoreland men think they are always in con

It's funny how the Westmoreland men think they are always in control of their relationships but some how Brenda Jackson pulls out her cupid bow and the female takes command. It happened that way in this sizzling story with Zane and Channing. Zane repeatedly tells Channi...
It's funny how the Westmoreland men think they are always in control of their relationships but some how Brenda Jackson pulls out her cupid bow and the female takes command. It happened that way in this sizzling story with Zane and Channing. Zane repeatedly tells Channing that is does not love her and he will never fall in love but cupid threw her arrow and he went down for the count.
Channing has always loved Zane but it took him losing her to someone else for him to realize that he was in love with her. She walks away and he came running. That's right - Channing - stand your ground!

As I was reading this story I felt Mrs. Jackson was truly giving relationship tips while at the same time engrossing you into a sensual love story. It was reminiscent of a “How to Love” advice column. Although I would title it “Think Like A Woman but Man Up! LOL Thank you Mrs. Jackson for getting Zane in the love lane. I really enjoyed this story it was full of sensual content with an adoring courtship with plenty of advice on finding love and appreciating it. 
Nevertheless, another one falls to the Queen of Romance pen; one more Westmoreland falls in love!   Great job Mrs. Jackson. I enjoyed it.

posted by Love2Read04 on July 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not much substance

I have anticipated this story since Derringer met Chloe. However this was a big let down. I never saw her push him to fall in love all she did was let him screw her. The beach incident was the highlight. Also too short and not enough conflict development.

posted by DTD25 on July 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    It's funny how the Westmoreland men think they are always in con

    It's funny how the Westmoreland men think they are always in control of their relationships but some how Brenda Jackson pulls out her cupid bow and the female takes command. It happened that way in this sizzling story with Zane and Channing. Zane repeatedly tells Channing that is does not love her and he will never fall in love but cupid threw her arrow and he went down for the count.
    Channing has always loved Zane but it took him losing her to someone else for him to realize that he was in love with her. She walks away and he came running. That's right - Channing - stand your ground!

    As I was reading this story I felt Mrs. Jackson was truly giving relationship tips while at the same time engrossing you into a sensual love story. It was reminiscent of a “How to Love” advice column. Although I would title it “Think Like A Woman but Man Up! LOL Thank you Mrs. Jackson for getting Zane in the love lane. I really enjoyed this story it was full of sensual content with an adoring courtship with plenty of advice on finding love and appreciating it. 
    Nevertheless, another one falls to the Queen of Romance pen; one more Westmoreland falls in love!   Great job Mrs. Jackson. I enjoyed it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Zane Westmoreland said he will never fall in love but when he le

    Zane Westmoreland said he will never fall in love but when he lets Channing Hasting slip through his fingers, he realizes he might just lost the best thing in his life.

    A proclaimed bachelor, the only woman to ever touch Zane has been Channing but when he refuses to commit Channing moves away. Two years later, Channing returns engaged to attend a wedding for Zane's family member. Conflicted is the least of Zane's troubles now that he's seen Channing again.

    Can the habitual ladies man change his ways and reunite with his perfect match or will he loose her forever?

    This was a quick, sweet, romance pulling us back into the loving arms of the Westmoreland clan. I love the hot, sexy alphas Brenda Jackson portrays in her stories, but Zane took me a while to warm up too. This novel, Zane, did give the bug to revisit the Westmoreland gang again. A warm, heart felt story, an impassioned romance and steamin' hot encounters, Zane keeps the pages blazing.

    This ARC copy of Zane was given to me by Harlequin in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication July 1, 2013.

    3.75 Stars

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Montana, Texas, California, Atlanta or Colorado the Westmoreland

    Montana, Texas, California, Atlanta or Colorado the Westmoreland men are hot...The first book in a trilogy of books
    is Zane of the Colorado Westmoreland's. Zane is a ladies man and he is upfront about it, and it has worked until he gets involved with Channing. When Channing wants more and Zane doesn't she cut her losses and move on.
    She returns to Denver an engaged woman and Zane doesn't approved of her fiancé. Will Zane realized he loves Channing? Will the second time around be the charm?


    Mrs. Jackson delivers again this is one hot book, make sure you pick up your copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Hello Readers!!! Looking for a site that you can discuss your fa

    Hello Readers!!! Looking for a site that you can discuss your favorite books, write blog post, and keep in touch with other book lovers? Join Live By Reading today, the cost is free, but the content is rich! You can create a discussion of any book that you want, than get ready for the responses. If you have a website you can link it to the online book club for instant advertising. I hope you have fun and enjoy the conversations! (Hey where else can you enjoy your favorite bottle of wine in your PJs and still join a book club?) :) 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Not much substance

    I have anticipated this story since Derringer met Chloe. However this was a big let down. I never saw her push him to fall in love all she did was let him screw her. The beach incident was the highlight. Also too short and not enough conflict development.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Not What I was Expecting

    Yes I agree. Too short and a little off. If Channing wanted to win Zane's heart she should've closed her legs. With her being readily available for him was a bit much, every TRUE lady knows thee way to get a man to fall in love and want to marry/make you a part of his life is to be a mystery and keep him wanting more. Channing gave him too much and everything too soon. SMH book a bit backwards in my opinion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    More Westmorelands!  Zane is the first in a trilogy of books abo

    More Westmorelands! 
    Zane is the first in a trilogy of books about men in the Colorado branch of the clan. One thing that pretty clear about these strong willed men is that they are usually stubborn as well and it's up to a woman to put them in their place. Zane Westmoreland, like a lot of his male relatives, had decided that marriage wasn't in the cards for him. He was happy playing the field and even settling down into a nine month relationship with Channing Hastings. When it became clear that Channing wanted more, but Zane didn't, she decided to cut her losses and move to Atlanta to accept a new job. Zane, not wanting to be pressured, let her go.




    When Channing returns to Denver two years later, on a temporary work assignment, Zane is forced to deal with his lingering anger over their breakup. Even though Zane hasn't changed his mind about marriage  the fact that she is now engaged to another man doesn't sit well with him. Channing's reluctance to settle for just his definition of their relationship despite what she wants was refreshing to read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Mrs. Jackson does it again!!! Once you pick this book up you wil

    Mrs. Jackson does it again!!! Once you pick this book up you will not be able to put it down. The Westmoreland men are simply irresistible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Too Much Sex

    At times this book was disgusting. The story was good but I wouldn't read any of her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Brenda Jackson is at it again with another Westmoreland. In this

    Brenda Jackson is at it again with another Westmoreland. In this book Zane Westmoreland has been dubbed the Westmoreland that knows everything about a woman and how to be a playa, but Zane has met his match with Channing Hastings. Zane thought that he can have a non committal relationship with Channing Hastings the same way he had with previous relationships, but when things start to getting hot and heavy and he starts to feel things for Channing that he has never felt for another woman. Zane does the ultimate man thing and break things off. Channing is hurt by Zane actions and leaves Denver for Atlanta than fakes an engagement, so that Zane does not know how badly he hurt her.
    In this book Zane realized he made a mistake and didn’t want to admit that Channing is his soul mate once he realizes this he stops at nothing to make her leave her fiancé and take a chance on loving him again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book. It was fun to read about a strong alpha cow

    I enjoyed this book. It was fun to read about a strong alpha cowboy realize that he's in love with a woman that he let go two years ago. What he has to do to convince her that he loves her after he's done nothing but say he will never love a woman ever. Channing and Zane were good characters with great sexual chemistry. The sex practically sets this book on fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Why??

    Why do I keep torturing myself reading Ms. Jackson's books? It's been two years since I purchased one of her books and nothing has changed. Same storylines with a change of characters name..... urgh!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read

    Loved the book. Love the author. Just steamy enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Worth Every Penny!!!

    You have to love the Westmorelands! This book was great. Zane and Channing's story lived up to its expectation with a couple of twists and turns but one can only fight love but for so long. Great work by Mrs. Jackson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Smiling as I type this how can you not love those westermoreland

    Smiling as I type this how can you not love those westermoreland men. Though Zane tried very hard to convince his self that he was not in lovw with Channing we was soon proved wrong. You don't know what you have until its gone. some well it wasn't that good or she didn't push him to love her but I think she didn't have to because he already did and though she didn't physical process the thought I would like to believe something in her knew he loved her. I love to love and Mrs. B never lets me down this was a great book a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Star Review Zane is the first book in the new Westmoreland

    4.5 Star Review

    Zane is the first book in the new Westmoreland trilogy.  If you like your romance with a lot of heat, then your going to want to get your hands on this super sexy romp. 

    Sexy cowboy, Zane Westmoreland, is known for his womanizing ways.  He is bound and determined to never fall in love.  Two years ago, Channing Hastings walked out on Zane because she wanted to find a man that could give her the love that she deserves.  

    When Channing receives a wedding invitation from Zane’s sister, she decides to attend the wedding with a fake fiancée in tow.  Zane becomes worried for Channing when her fiancée proves to have roving eyes.  He sets out to convince Channing that she has chosen the wrong man.

    When Zane invites Channing out to dinner she readily accepts his invitation.  While dining in a private room, things heat up quickly between the two and they end up having sex on one of the tables. But Zane is still adamant that he doesn’t love Channing, so she takes off and leaves again.  This causes Zane to realize that he does truly have feelings for Channing and he goes after her and tries to win her over.

    Zane has his job cut out for him.  Channing isn’t falling for his professions of love.  I loved watching Zane and his romantic gestures toward Channing. When Zane confesses that he has had a hard time loving anyone since the death of his parents, my heart went out to him.

    Channing is a charming character.  I loved her strength and the fact that she refuses to settle for anything less than she deserves.  It is fun to watch Channing give Zane a run for his money.

    Zane is a fun romance with a lot of hot lovemaking thrown in.  There is sex in the restaurant, in a car and even up against a refrigerator.  Brenda Jackson pens authentic characters in real life situations. This was may first Westmoreland novel, but I am definitely hooked now and I must go back and read the other stories.  It might take me a while, because there are twenty-four of them.  You don’t want to miss this smoking hot gem!
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Very good

    Another great book keep them coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great read...Another Westmoreland winner

    Another hot Westmoreland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Must Read Read

    This book is well written. Wonderful family story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Don't Toy with Zane Westmoreland... Channing Hastings walked awa

    Don't Toy with Zane Westmoreland...
    Channing Hastings walked away from Zane and has returned an engaged woman. Only the ring is no deterrent for Zane. Zane wants Channing back and he stops at nothing to win her heart. This book has some sexy scenes – one notably an explosive scene in the private dining room of a restaurant. All I can say is don’t tell a man who knows you that he doesn’t arouse you. He may put you to the Zane Westmoreland test!
    If you haven’t read Donovan Steele’s story, you can pick up the Zane with the Intimate Seduction bonus book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3