Customer Reviews for

Zen in the Martial Arts

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Love It!!!!!

    I am taking Martial Arts and our Instructor reads a story out of Zen in the Martial Arts once a week at the end of class. I wanted to buy the book for myself so that I could highlight what is important to me and make my own kind of notes on thoughts that have come to me when reading it. I feel it is a book that you can apply to your everday life. It can be used not just for Martial Arts, but anytime, so the examples in it can be utilized by any profession. I would suggest anybody to buy this book and read it, and see what they can pull out of it to apply to their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    Very Good

    Well as a high schooler i actually though this was pretty good. Being in martial arts really helped with all of his analogies. This is a must read for anyone in martial arts or seeking some sort of daily living tips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    This is a very well written, easy to understand book. It should

    This is a very well written, easy to understand book. It should be read by martial artist of all styles. The only thing I wish is that it is longer with more stories in it. The stories are a great deal part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Tabbi

    Whoo come on adien

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Clara

    Smiles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Loved it

    Found that I keep it close as I research other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good book for tennis players

    It's a good book -- short and easy to read. We bought it because the information is applicable to tennis. Very useful for the tennis mindset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Awesome

    Loved+it%2C+read+it+twice+and+enjoyed+it+both+times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    A great read!

    Required reading for every martial arts enthusiast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    An Outstanding Book on a Necessary Subject

    Mr. Hyam's book is one of my favorite concerning zen. The chapters are short and easy to read, and the information that they contain is appicable to everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Martial Arts for those looking beyond dojo doors

    I have heard criticism of this book citing the fact that Mr. Hyams is not a very accomplished martial artist (He never claims to be in this book.). and that the depth of his understanding of zen is open to question (as would be my own). For me neither of these criticisms bother me in the least and shouldn't dissuade anyone from placing this little gem on their bookshelf. Here we have a book about a man who trained with many of the best martial arts practitioners available in the West in his time ( Parker, Lee, Han etc. )and while he may not have drank as deeply from the cup as some (who am I to judge?)he was able to sample what there was to offer from far more sources than many of us ever will. He also was able to learn many lessons which he was able to apply with significance to his life outside the dojo. Hitting a special chord within me was his recounting how, during a very dramatic medical emergency, he was able to slow down his breathing by using the breathing exercises he had learned in his aikido class and avert having a heart attack. A clear example of the benefits of training extending beyond the the narrow confines of martial technique. This book really is one man's odyssey through various martial paths and their significance to him, but they are written so well and in such an engaging way that I feel that I have learned these lessons along with him. I felt that this book was one of the more significant books on the subject that has actual appeal even to the less serious practitioner or the non-practitioner of the martial arts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    A Profound Little Book

    It's amazing that just by reading the personal experience of a martial artist can put your mind in the same state as his. There's a saying that said ' Experience teaches experience ! ' This book is base on experience and you will gain so much more experience for yourself by reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    This Book Is Exelent!

    I recomend this book for everyone! This book takes Zen and relates it to everyday life. Everyone should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    This is how you learn a great deal in a short time!

    I teach myself the martial arts and without proper guidance I was getting confused about Zen. With this book, I came to realize the obvious, martial arts are much more than fighting arts, they are the bridge between our spirits and physical selfs. I thank you Joe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Anecdotal reflections of a lifelong martial artist

    Hyams does a great job of passing along a lifetime of martial arts wisdom from his vast experience with leaders in this area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2