Customer Reviews for

Zero Day (John Puller Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 646 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(178)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!

Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. E...
Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. EVERY review this person writes (and there are MANY) gives away the best parts of the book before anyone has a chance to read it themselves. May I be so bold as to suggest that "HARSTAN" go to the apps and purchase a journal? That way you can write and write and write and write and STOP with the annoying reviews. Like I said, great book, tired of "HARSTAN" reviews.

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

posted by fdsJS on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Great book!!

    Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. EVERY review this person writes (and there are MANY) gives away the best parts of the book before anyone has a chance to read it themselves. May I be so bold as to suggest that "HARSTAN" go to the apps and purchase a journal? That way you can write and write and write and write and STOP with the annoying reviews. Like I said, great book, tired of "HARSTAN" reviews.

    58 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb police procedural

    U.S. Army's Criminal Investigative Division Warrant Officer John Puller, Jr. visits his brother Robert, a nuclear scientist convicted of treason at the US Disciplinary Barracks, but his sibling refuses to answer whether he did it or not. Their father the famous Army hero would like to believe his oldest son did not betray his country.

    At Quantico, Puller's Special Agent in Charge Don White assigns the Warrant Officer to investigate the murder of Defense Intelligence Agency Colonel Matthew Reynolds in Drake, West Virginia. The officer worked at the Pentagon, but what disturbs Puller is the DIA should be making the inquiry into the murder of the colonel, his wife and two teenage children in their rural home. He makes contact with Sergeant Samantha Cole, the civilian homicide detective investigating the mass murders, but she considers him an unwanted outsider and acts accordingly towards cooperative Puller.

    This is a superb police procedural filled with a twist that takes a local rural homicide investigation spinning it into international waters as only David Baldacci can do and make it feel real. Puller is terrific as the agent holding the story line together. Readers will relish this fast-paced thriller as Zero Day has come to West Virginia and other nearby states.

    Harriet Klausner

    45 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    the next big thing!

    Baldacci did it! Zero day has all the elements needed for it to be a success. Thriller, suspense and mystery all in one book! Very worth your buy.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Did Lee Child Write This?

    Not one of his best but a decent book. It reminded me of the Lee Child - Jack Reacher series.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Move over, Jack Reacher

    This is the best book I've read in some time, and I'm an avid reader! Hopefully we will read more about Puller!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Coincidence? I don't think so...

    John Puller --- Jack Reacher --- really? Don't do this again, ever.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Uh... David have you been reading the Reacher series???

    David Baldacci isn't a pen name for Lee Child is it?? Mr. Baldacci, you should not do this... ever. Your story telling style is good with most of your books, but I felt as if Lee had written this book. The likeness with the comparison strains credibility. Since I've enjoyed most of your novels to date, I will give you the benefit of the doubt (however small that doubt is). Be careful.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Come on, even a head butt?

    There has to be a conspiracy with Lee Child and Baldacci with this book. Maybe Mr. B needed a story and Lee had one saved up, or maybe they are drinking buddies and decided it would be good fun to share a character. The protagonist is EXACTLY like Reacher - (maybe as a sequel he and Reacher could meet up in some remote town where things are SO bad that they need 2 Reachers instead of just one to straighten it out!!)

    Because I like the Reacher books so much, this one is enjoyable, but as others reviewers noted, not as strong as the Child books - and it's just incomprehensible that there could be such a glaring similarity without some kind of agreement between the two authors. When stuff like this happens in music, people soemtimes end up in courtrooms.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A great story, but . . .

    As usual, Baldacci concocts a great yarn, but his prose continues to be the clunkiest on the bestseller lists. It's hard to stay interested in the plot while you're wincing at the writing.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    I usually love David Baldacci's books...

    But, just like a bunch of other reviewers, I had to keep looking at the cover to make sure it wasn't a Jack Reacher story. I mean, Puller's history is almost exactly like Reacher's, so much so that I was waiting to reach that his father married a French woman. I am not all the way through the book, and I am finding it hard to read. It is definitely not at the same level as Baldacci's other work or as Lee Child's Reacher stories.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Lee Child??

    I couldn't believe this book. I like Lee Child's character Jack Reacher. This book was so similar it was a bit frustrating. Strange for Baldacci.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to Par

    As much as I love David Baldacci and all his books, this one had me checking the author. As another reviewer said: Did Lee Child write this. The hero of the piece certainly reminded you of Reacher and I did actually check to see who's book I was reading. It was a good book, but not as good as usual and, sorry to say, it seemed a rip-off of Lee Child's books.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great Page Turner

    People are being very critical of this book it takes you on a great ride and adventure.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Really enjoyed this book. Great story. Relevant, creative, and kept me engaged and wanting more. Completed book in 3 sessions. I would like to see a series involving the main character.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A thrill ride...

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    "Zero Day" by David Baldacci is a bit unbelievable but still a thrill ride. Fans will have mixed feelings for Baldacci’s latest audiobook. Despite the over the top, exaggerated abilities of the main character, the way the author left the reader with no idea of what is going on until the last of the book, and the way he kills off the female lead for absolutely no reason, I enjoyed this audiobook. The reader Orlagh Cassidy did an excellent job.

    The setting is a small rural town in West Virginia. John Puller is a larger than life Army CID, Special Forces Agent with unique skills of protection such as using an iPod sharp enough to cut someone’s throat. The government may want Apple to add a warning on all IPod’s that they could be hazardous to others. Puller’s brother is in prison for treason although he is innocent and his father is a well-respected retired Colonel suffering from some form of dementia. When the family of a Defense Intelligence Agency officer was found brutally murdered Puller was called to assist the local police. Police Officer Samantha Cole is in charge of the investigation. At first she was not happy to have Puller on the scene but slowly the relationship takes on a romantic air.

    The author has depicted West Virginia as a state filled with stills. I feel he has done an injustice to a beautiful state with friendly people. I am not from WV but have visited it many times and dislike seeing the population typecast.

    The investigation leads to danger for Puller. Explosions can’t keep our guy down! I believe this book will lead to a sequel. I would enjoy reading more about Robert Puller; perhaps John can figure out how to get him released from prison. I was extremely disappointed about the death of a likable character. I cannot perceive a purpose. I think the character could and should have been used in other books. But what do I know; I am just a reader, not the author.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Good but not great

    I have read every Baldacci book and i am a huge fan. This book was very entertaining in general and i loved the plot idea. However after reading his last book (The sixth man) i felt this one was not as good.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Zero Day Ends Up Being A 10!!!

    If you are looking for a book to help you get to sleep at night, don't start "Zero Day"! This book will keep you up all night! David Baldacci is always a good read, but his new character, CID Special Agent Puller, has a typical dysfunctional family to keep track of, along with dead bodies that just keep multiplying! This is one good read and is a great lead in to the next Agent Puller book in "The Forgotten".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Disappointing

    Not up to par...I kept wondering if I'd picked up one of Lincoln Child's "Reacher" novels by mistake. The writing style was terse and choppy; the plot rather predictable. Sadly, not one of Baldacci's finer efforts.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again a fantastic book from this author. The characters we

    Once again a fantastic book from this author. The characters were fantastic. David Baldacci never disappoints!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This is a great book. There are many books that have complicate

    This is a great book. There are many books that have complicated plots, too many characters and jumpy timelines. Baldacci gets the recipe just right. I felt like I was really a part of the story. Exciting, but realistic action on every page and ends with a bang. You will not be sorry for picking this book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33