BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Zero Day (John Puller Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!

Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. E...
Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. EVERY review this person writes (and there are MANY) gives away the best parts of the book before anyone has a chance to read it themselves. May I be so bold as to suggest that "HARSTAN" go to the apps and purchase a journal? That way you can write and write and write and write and STOP with the annoying reviews. Like I said, great book, tired of "HARSTAN" reviews.

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

posted by fdsJS on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 606 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Excellent

    Great reacher , i mean puller story ..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    DB never disappoints

    My only complaint - I wish this book was "lendable"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Great book

    Another fantastic book. I couldn't wait to read it and then didn't want it to end. Mr. Baldacci's books are hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Exciting & Frightening!

    Great Book. Pure Baldacci!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Liked (#2 Puller)"Forgotten" Better

    Have read of few of Baldacci’s books and I liked the Forgotten (#2 Puller) better than (#1 Puller) Zero Day. I listed to both on audio and enjoy sound effects and the narrators Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy made the novel very interesting.

    Again war hero, John Puller is the top investigator in the US Army CID. As in Forgotten he is called to work the case after someone is brutally murdered in a remote area of West Virginia. As usual, upon his investigation, there is more than meets the eye and teams up with local homicide detective Sam Cole. There are secrets of the past and deceit surfaces. Without giving up the ending-- A shocking conclusion of family and justice and how to make things right – A fast-paced book with battles between good and evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Great Book

    Zero Day was riveting. I was hooked before the end of the first chapter Baldacci has created another great hero

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great read!

    I would recommend this book, even though I found the main character a little too "good to be true." The pace is great, good page turner, great plot! Great murder-conspiracy book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    If you know Jack Reacher, MEET John Puller, Jr. After the Tom C

    If you know Jack Reacher, MEET John Puller, Jr. After the Tom Cruise corruption of Jack Reacher, I have a new found match. . . .this is a great read. Though it is tough to replace Reacher, from now on every time I read Reacher novels, I will be picturing Tom F'n 5' 8" Cruise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Great plot. Good characters

    fast paced and exciting. My biggest negative is that John Puller is a direct ripoff of Jack Reacher. The name, the career, the father, the physical attributes...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Not his best

    It's a page turner for sure, but in the bottom tier of Baldaccis great stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Excellent read!  Very enjoyable.  Plenty of action and enough su

    Excellent read!  Very enjoyable.  Plenty of action and enough suspense to keep me turning the pages.   I've read all 17 Reacher books and enjoyed Zero Day more than I did 3/4's of the Reacher  books.  I don't read this genre for literary acumen.  I read action books to be entertained!  This is my first Baldacci read and in this book he doesn't waste your time spending over a page describing the dirt and grass in a field that has nothing to do with past, present or future plot of the book. Unlike Child's waste of space, most of Baldacci's descriptions serve a purpose and are tied in through out the book if you pay attention.  If you are looking for post graduate level action type novels, read original Ludlum.  If you enjoy action, you'll love this read.  
    If Mitch Rapp is a "10", Scott Harvath a "9", John Wells a "9", John Puller is a "7.5" (mainly because he is a cop and can't be as 'bad' as characters that don't have to play by the rules of law).    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    A good, fast read with a convoluted plot twist.

    David Baldacci's new character, Army Special Agent John Puller, is a combination of Paul Brenner (Nelson DeMille), Mitch Rapp (Vince Flynn) Jack Reacher (Lee Child), all rolled in to one. I found traits of each in Puller and the plot twists throughout the book. It all seems perfectly clear at the end of the book. DO NOT READ THE ENDING FIRST!

    I enjoyed reading this one and I am looking forward to the next book in this series, The Forgotten, already on my Wish List.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    A must read

    For all the fiction lovers out there who enjoy the suspense/thriller genre...this book is a must read..totally exhilarating experience...and it goes on..until the very end..!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    good

    I like all of books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Fortunately, a new plot line!

    A well constructed plot line with overtures of government casual indifference. The central characters are strong and capable with foibles that add to their humanness. Nice to see that sex doesn't clutter the story. A thought - fiction is often a vehicle for disclosure of things what haven't been known or might have been swept under a rug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Morningrunner to searclaw

    *her eyes were teary as she saw searclaw from a distance away *(searclaw if you are reading this go back to camp and go to res 4 i left you a little note hopefully you still remember me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    I.qvqqqjqqqqmk.mk..iik.lmqikm.k.k

    .akikk.kkmjjkm.ekmi.ikmcikiiqeef mr.mm..m.mii
    Yi.kyiKimjkmiikkurikm..miikm.kimitmmkkf..kmmiii,k,jkijm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Spearclaw

    Padded the way she told him to .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Loved it!

    Fun quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 606 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31