Customer Reviews for

Zero Day (John Puller Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 667 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!

Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. E...
Loved the book. Unfortunately, "HARSTAN" strikes again and writes a review that gives everything away. You know those people who watch a good movie, convince you to go see it yourself, but not before telling you how it all ends? Well, thats good ole "HARSTAN" for you. EVERY review this person writes (and there are MANY) gives away the best parts of the book before anyone has a chance to read it themselves. May I be so bold as to suggest that "HARSTAN" go to the apps and purchase a journal? That way you can write and write and write and write and STOP with the annoying reviews. Like I said, great book, tired of "HARSTAN" reviews.

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

posted by fdsJS on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Uh... David have you been reading the Reacher series???

    David Baldacci isn't a pen name for Lee Child is it?? Mr. Baldacci, you should not do this... ever. Your story telling style is good with most of your books, but I felt as if Lee had written this book. The likeness with the comparison strains credibility. Since I've enjoyed most of your novels to date, I will give you the benefit of the doubt (however small that doubt is). Be careful.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Come on, even a head butt?

    There has to be a conspiracy with Lee Child and Baldacci with this book. Maybe Mr. B needed a story and Lee had one saved up, or maybe they are drinking buddies and decided it would be good fun to share a character. The protagonist is EXACTLY like Reacher - (maybe as a sequel he and Reacher could meet up in some remote town where things are SO bad that they need 2 Reachers instead of just one to straighten it out!!)

    Because I like the Reacher books so much, this one is enjoyable, but as others reviewers noted, not as strong as the Child books - and it's just incomprehensible that there could be such a glaring similarity without some kind of agreement between the two authors. When stuff like this happens in music, people soemtimes end up in courtrooms.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A great story, but . . .

    As usual, Baldacci concocts a great yarn, but his prose continues to be the clunkiest on the bestseller lists. It's hard to stay interested in the plot while you're wincing at the writing.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Disappointing

    Not up to par...I kept wondering if I'd picked up one of Lincoln Child's "Reacher" novels by mistake. The writing style was terse and choppy; the plot rather predictable. Sadly, not one of Baldacci's finer efforts.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GAG A MILITARY MAGGOT!!! As many times as Baldacci mentioned &qu

    GAG A MILITARY MAGGOT!!!
    As many times as Baldacci mentioned "treason" in this book, he should be sentenced to a firing squad made up entirely of authors who have had their work ripped off... and ripped off so pathetically badly.
    I'm not going to rehash all the similarities between this drab, flimsy, copy-cat story line and a robust, rousing Reacher novel... or three. I'm going to offer a couple of plausible theories for why this hack might have pirated and trivialized such a powerful franchise as Lee Child's masterful, military/loner series.
    FIRST THEORY: Child and Baldacci are in real life good friends, colleagues, and old time drinking buddies who, in a rowdy bout of chug-a-lug, thought it would be a hoot if Baldacci tried his hand at something as surefire and foolproof as a Reacher novel. SURELY, no one could screw up this failsafe line of escapist hoopla... WRONG! He didn't just screw it up; as they say in the military: It is FUBAR.
    SECOND THEORY: Baldacci knows a cash cow when he sees one, and he's more than eager to lead it to slaughter. With all the delays and speculation and striving for perfection that's keeping Reacher off the world's movie screens, Baldacci thought he just might be able to score. If he could whip up a Reacher-like character (names changed, of course, to protect the real writer in the contest) then maybe he could rush his flimsy military-cop hotshot to Hollywood before the REAL police arrived.
    Either way, the result is repulsively bad. The characters are dreary. The dialogue is from MTV. The plot is outlandish. And every tool of the writer's craft is simply ignored.
    Do yourself a favor. If you HAVE NOT discovered the Jack Reacher novels from Lee Child, go out and get KILLING FLOOR, and then read the rest of the series in order of publication. In these taut, well paced stories you'll see what Baldacci is trying (and failing so miserably) to achieve. If you are ALREADY a Reacher fan, be patient. Find another diversion until the next Reacher episode comes our way. If our luck continues to hold, Lee Child won't cut that wait artificially short for us by rushing a story to print without its usual deft editing and literary polish. While I've been waiting for Reacher to return, I've read all three of The Hunger Games trilogy, all three of The Dragon Tattoo trilogy, and the first three books in The Game of Thrones series. Oh yeah... after swearing years ago I would NEVER read him again, I also read Baldacci's ZERO DAY. The title is such a prophetic description.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Plagarism

    This is Jack Reacher version 1.5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    I've really enjoyed Baldacci's other books but this one seemed l

    I've really enjoyed Baldacci's other books but this one seemed like a thinly disguised ripoff of the Jack Reacher character.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    At moments interesting

    He sure did research on army. There is nothing toremember. Sometimes feels like user manul.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    WoW!

    Kill someone with the edge of an ipod. REALLY! I enjoyed this fast read until the cheeeeeesy ipod attack .David, dont be in such a hurry to end your books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A jack reacher knock off

    Way below his standard. Reads like a patterson book with a dick and jane style.

    I would skip this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No Way

    Terrible parody of a "Reacher" novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3