Customer Reviews for

The Zero Game

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Good book!

I received this book as a free bonus book at the end of a Preston & Childs book. I really enjoyed the Zero Game, it was well written, with many plot twists. I will be reading other Meltzer books for sure!

posted by susanc1249 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful and Entertaining

This was my first book by Brad Meltzer and I was impressed. Yes, the plot is far-fetched and implausible, but that is what makes it entertaining. As someone who has lived in the DC area, there are enough little details that Meltzer gets exactly right to make the story...
This was my first book by Brad Meltzer and I was impressed. Yes, the plot is far-fetched and implausible, but that is what makes it entertaining. As someone who has lived in the DC area, there are enough little details that Meltzer gets exactly right to make the story not seem so crazy. The action is pretty fast paced and even if you find the story unbelievable (especially the science part), you'll still want to keep reading to find out what happens. The characters are well developed, though the character and dialogue of Viv is a little cliche at times and the "bad guy" is sometimes too invincible. Overall, I would definitely recommend to any political action/thriller reader.

posted by ncfitz13 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good book!

    I received this book as a free bonus book at the end of a Preston & Childs book. I really enjoyed the Zero Game, it was well written, with many plot twists. I will be reading other Meltzer books for sure!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Read this

    I got this book free with another book. I loved this book it kept my intrest from start to finish. I could not put the book down. So far it is my favorite book by this writer. I have read many of his books and i will continue to read them. I also recomend the inner circle. All his books make me enjoy reading more. I would recomend this book to everyone. I believe his books really are for all readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Ok read

    I was kind of disappointed in some of the character development. The hero's sidekick,Viv, could have been great, but the author left this very intelligent female page the typical female...timid, and easily dupped because she was too emotional. The fight scene was very well written. I felt like I was in the room with Harris and Janos. This was my first Meltzer book and I would purchase another one. I like his use of historical backdrops.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun to read

    I enjoyed reading this book. I don't know if this kind of stuff goes on in our Capital or not but if it does someone need to clean house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Suspenseful and Entertaining

    This was my first book by Brad Meltzer and I was impressed. Yes, the plot is far-fetched and implausible, but that is what makes it entertaining. As someone who has lived in the DC area, there are enough little details that Meltzer gets exactly right to make the story not seem so crazy. The action is pretty fast paced and even if you find the story unbelievable (especially the science part), you'll still want to keep reading to find out what happens. The characters are well developed, though the character and dialogue of Viv is a little cliche at times and the "bad guy" is sometimes too invincible. Overall, I would definitely recommend to any political action/thriller reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Started off good read, than very long, somewhat boring detials u

    Started off good read, than very long, somewhat boring detials unless you love science stuff,  actually reading the last few pages just to end it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Not a good read

    Took me 2 weeks to get through this book. It could have been a good book but just didn't get there. Guess I got what I paid for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story

    I enjoyed this book, although I would never recommend an abridged version of any book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    Enjoyable Reading!

    This book was a fun read. Sometimes a little far-fetched, but the twists were good. I couldn't put it down. The part when Harris, Viv, and Janos were fighting in the 'cellar' was a little drawn out but overall this was a good read. --K--

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Since I have liked Brad Meltzer's other books, I picked up this one, only to find it a mediocre tale that just defied any ability to suspend belief. It's an okay read, but we know he can do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Not even worth reading the flapps!

    After reading the Millionaires by Mr. Meltzer, I was eagerly awaiting his next novel and boy was I disappointed. Slow pace, characters weren't believable, most of all the story was laughable. Sorry. That's the way I feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    There's nothing like a book that grabs the suspense from the very beginning...and a book that makes one feel like they're part of the chase scenes - very intense and it was a struggle just to have to put the book down. Who would have thought a 30 year old somthing staffer and a 17 year old senate page would make such a great team. Great suspense....a must read, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Adrenaline Rush

    I love it when I read a book that I can't put down and I CAN'T PREDICT THE ENDING!!! Brad Meltzer does it! Meltzer is an awesome writer. The Zero Game is a non stop pulse beating supsense thriller. 'The First Counsel' was the first novel I read of his and that got me hooked on this writer. His style is young, fresh, and energetic. You won't want to stop to eat! Critics want to compare him with John Grisham - don't do that - they are completely different story tellers. Meltzer grabs and holds your attention from beginning to end - Grisham seems to have lost his touch. Grisham's latest novels are simply limp - they start off pretty good and then you find yourself putting it down and taking several weeks trying to finish it. Meltzer is modern day, easy read, and highly suspensful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    A great read

    This book was awasome! Brad gives you an inside view in Capitol Hill on how things are really done. His prose it easy to understand, which makes the suspence all the more exciting. The 'Zero Game' is real page-tuner. I couldn't let it down. Pick it up and experience it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Energized Reading!

    I love it when I read a book that I can't put down and I CAN'T PREDICT THE ENDING!!! Brad Meltzer does it! Meltzer is an awesome writer. The Zero Game is a non stop pulse beating supsense thriller. 'The First Counsel' was the first novel I read of his and that got me hooked on this writer. His style is young, fresh, and energetic. Critics want to compare him with John Grisham - no comparison - they are completely different story tellers. Meltzer grabs and holds your attention from beginning to end. Meltzer's book is modern day, easy read, and highly suspensful novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Disappointing.

    As an avid Meltzer fan, and a former Capitol Hill staffer, I was really looking foward to this one. Unfortunately, once the action moved away from the Hill, it was like any other wanna be mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Another winner from Meltzer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a thrill ride from the get-go. Read as easily as a typical James Patterson story but obviously Meltzer's stories are much deeper plot wise. A 400 pager that I got through in two afdternoons. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    ENTHRALLING AND ENTERTAINING LISTENING

    Audie and Earphone Award winner Scott Brick is one of the most versatile and accomplished voice performers to be found. He has recorded more than 150 books for Time Warner; this breadth of experience comes to the fore in readings that tend to become even better than the last. Brad Meltzer, with a string of bestsellers to his credit, now draws upon his time as an intern on Capitol Hill to lend authenticity and detail to 'The Zero Game.' Matthew Mercer has decided he may want to leave his job as a high paid staffer in our country's corridors of power. Rather than lose a buddy his best friend, Harris Sandler, invites him to join in an intriguing game - it's a game no one knows about, least of all their important bosses. Bets are made on the outcome of proposed legislation. Sound like fun? Perhaps, until someone is murdered. The pair have uncorked more than trouble. Now, someone is out to kill them. They have no one to help nor anyone they can trust save for a 16-year-old Senate page. Scott Brick's readings on the Abridged CD version and the Unabridged Audio Cassette edition will both enthrall and entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Awesome!

    People getting in way over their heads NEVER gets old. Original twists.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    I LoVe MaTtHeW MeRcer & HaRrIs SaNdLeR

    This book was da bomb,I loooovved it!All of Brad Meltzer's books are amazing,this is the book that would never want to put down.All the characters are so real,and while I was reading it,it felt like I was in the book.This is just an awesome book,well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8