Customer Reviews for

The Zero Game

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Good book!

I received this book as a free bonus book at the end of a Preston & Childs book. I really enjoyed the Zero Game, it was well written, with many plot twists. I will be reading other Meltzer books for sure!

posted by susanc1249 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful and Entertaining

This was my first book by Brad Meltzer and I was impressed. Yes, the plot is far-fetched and implausible, but that is what makes it entertaining. As someone who has lived in the DC area, there are enough little details that Meltzer gets exactly right to make the story...
This was my first book by Brad Meltzer and I was impressed. Yes, the plot is far-fetched and implausible, but that is what makes it entertaining. As someone who has lived in the DC area, there are enough little details that Meltzer gets exactly right to make the story not seem so crazy. The action is pretty fast paced and even if you find the story unbelievable (especially the science part), you'll still want to keep reading to find out what happens. The characters are well developed, though the character and dialogue of Viv is a little cliche at times and the "bad guy" is sometimes too invincible. Overall, I would definitely recommend to any political action/thriller reader.

posted by ncfitz13 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good book!

    I received this book as a free bonus book at the end of a Preston & Childs book. I really enjoyed the Zero Game, it was well written, with many plot twists. I will be reading other Meltzer books for sure!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Adrenaline Rush

    I love it when I read a book that I can't put down and I CAN'T PREDICT THE ENDING!!! Brad Meltzer does it! Meltzer is an awesome writer. The Zero Game is a non stop pulse beating supsense thriller. 'The First Counsel' was the first novel I read of his and that got me hooked on this writer. His style is young, fresh, and energetic. You won't want to stop to eat! Critics want to compare him with John Grisham - don't do that - they are completely different story tellers. Meltzer grabs and holds your attention from beginning to end - Grisham seems to have lost his touch. Grisham's latest novels are simply limp - they start off pretty good and then you find yourself putting it down and taking several weeks trying to finish it. Meltzer is modern day, easy read, and highly suspensful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Another winner from Meltzer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a thrill ride from the get-go. Read as easily as a typical James Patterson story but obviously Meltzer's stories are much deeper plot wise. A 400 pager that I got through in two afdternoons. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    ENTHRALLING AND ENTERTAINING LISTENING

    Audie and Earphone Award winner Scott Brick is one of the most versatile and accomplished voice performers to be found. He has recorded more than 150 books for Time Warner; this breadth of experience comes to the fore in readings that tend to become even better than the last. Brad Meltzer, with a string of bestsellers to his credit, now draws upon his time as an intern on Capitol Hill to lend authenticity and detail to 'The Zero Game.' Matthew Mercer has decided he may want to leave his job as a high paid staffer in our country's corridors of power. Rather than lose a buddy his best friend, Harris Sandler, invites him to join in an intriguing game - it's a game no one knows about, least of all their important bosses. Bets are made on the outcome of proposed legislation. Sound like fun? Perhaps, until someone is murdered. The pair have uncorked more than trouble. Now, someone is out to kill them. They have no one to help nor anyone they can trust save for a 16-year-old Senate page. Scott Brick's readings on the Abridged CD version and the Unabridged Audio Cassette edition will both enthrall and entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    I LoVe MaTtHeW MeRcer & HaRrIs SaNdLeR

    This book was da bomb,I loooovved it!All of Brad Meltzer's books are amazing,this is the book that would never want to put down.All the characters are so real,and while I was reading it,it felt like I was in the book.This is just an awesome book,well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Meltzer Does It Again!!

    Great page-turner! I couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Another Hit!

    Having read all of the other books that Meltzer wrote, I was anxious to begin, and finish, another story. When this came out, I promptly purchased it, began it, then set it aside for a while. When I finally picked it back up again on a Saturday, I had completed it by Sunday afternoon. Once past the initial 'game' line, the story took off and drug me along with it. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Thanks for another great ride, Brad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Another great thriller from Brad Meltzer.

    The zero game is a dangerous game surrounded by secrecy. It is a game of risk, reward, mystery and the thrill of knowing that just being invited to play confirms your status as a Washington power broker. Matthew Mercer and Harris Sandler are two young men playing the zero game, no one knows they are playing, not their friends, not their co-workers and definitely not their bosses who happen to be some of the most powerful senators and congressmen. The game starts off as fun for both men with the reward of some extra cash, until someone they both know turns up dead. As Matthew and Harris try to figure what they have become involved in, they realize the zero game hides a sinister secret and that they both have been marked for death. With a killer tracking their every move, Matthew and Harris must run for their lives and their only chance for survival is to trust the 16 year-old Senate with the know-how to roam the capital undetected. `The Zero Game¿ is another great thriller from Brad Meltzer. From page one the story grabs hold and doesn¿t let go. Complex plot, break-neck pacing, well-drawn characters and shocking twists all blend together to make an unforgettable read complete with an explosive climax. Brad Meltzer¿s smooth writing style and ingenious plots have earned him the reputation of being a master thriller writer, with `The Zero Game¿ he not only confirms the reputation, he proves he is at the top of his game. Expect to see this book dominate the top spot on the bestseller lists. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    LOVED IT

    I loved this book. A real page turner. Lots of fast paced action right from the start. More than believable, considering the Washington capacity for intrigue and deception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    I just loved this book. I didn't think that it could get any better and with every page turn, it did! This is the first book that I have read by Meltzer and I can say that it will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    One of the best suspense stories to come out in a long time.

    Brad Meltzer is an expert in the field of writing thriller suspense. In the Zero Game he does a great job alternating between first person and third person point of view, even shifting the first person perspective when a lead character suddenly and unexpectedly meets his demise in the first quarter of the book. The secondary characters are so well-drawn (as in all of Meltzer's books) that it leaves the reader wondering who can be trusted. Not only is this a page turner, but the ending is one that you don't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3