Customer Reviews for

Zero at the Bone

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Original

    This was a great book. I normally don't give out 5 out of 5 stars but this book was so original and unique I couldn't put it down. My only complaint with the book is that I feel it should have ended a good 40 pages before it actually did. It seemed like the author didn't want to put an end to the characters so she tried to think of new situations to put them in. Overall, this book was very fast paced, there was a lot of action and the situations were very believable. A great gay thriller. I loved how the characters actually built a relationship with each other, unlike some books where the characters meet and fall in love the next day, the timeframe and emotions portrayed were very realistic. Definitely worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    A very different plot.  Much suspense and strong action through

    A very different plot.  Much suspense and strong action through out,  with a  moving  love story unfolding that grabs you.
    I think the ending went on too long,   but otherwise a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN/Guest Reviewer Leigh & posted at

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANN/Guest Reviewer Leigh & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog


    Jack and D are completely iconic of couples in the genre ~ Under the Covers

    I've been on a little M/M streak lately and decided to finally jump into ZERO AT THE BONE. I've been meaning to read this book for a very, very long time and when Leigh further recommended this book to me, I figured that today would be a good day as any.

    D is a hit man hired to kill Dr. Jack Francisco, a witness to a murder that occurred as he was heading home from the hospital. In the days before the trial, all hell breaks loose as several assassins are targeting one another and people are getting trigger happy. Violence isn't a stranger to this book and I think that it definitely gets the reaction that the author wants. My heart pounded as I read, and in addition to the plot twists, the romance also gave me something else to get excited about.

    ZERO AT THE BONE has swiftly become one of my favorite M/M romance books. And to make this review a little more special, our regular guest reviewer and fellow M/M addict, Leigh is here to chat with me about it!

    So Leigh, what were your thoughts on ZERO AT THE BONE before you started it and how did those thoughts compared to how you felt after you finished the book?

    Leigh: Hi, Annie! Well, when I immersed myself in the m/m romance genre about a year ago, "Zero at the Bone" and "Jack and D" were phrases that I kept hearing repeatedly. Zero was highly recommended by so many of my friends, and the love that surrounded Jack and D as a m/m couple was quite astounding. So I added it to my TBR list and finally decided to give it a go just a couple weeks ago. And OMG, am I ever so glad that I did! I absolutely LOVED it! The book was simply amazing, and just as everyone had told me, Jack and D are completely iconic of couples in the genre. Just as a little background, I rarely read book blurbs because I love going into a book blind. I like being surprised by what I am about to read, and I just hold onto faith that so many high recommendations won't steer me wrong. Well, my expectations, while high, were still blown out of the water, and I couldn't have been more thrilled!

    Annie: Word travels fast and when there's a good book out there, I want to read it. Now it's taken me awhile to get to it but I think the book does live up to its hype. There's a lot of suspense, a lot that drives this book forward other than the spectacular romance and I think it's a thrill ride that no fan of M/M romance should miss out on. It has the appropriate amount of angst and a ton of action and heart.

    Of course, I want to ask you about D and Jack! Don't you just love them?

    Leigh: YES, YES, YES!!! They have easily become one of my most beloved m/m couples. There are so many reasons to love these two men, both separately, and of course, then together, and I absolutely loved watching them grow into their relationship. Of course the circumstances of their pairing just draws the reader right in...I mean, you have two men who are so completely different - one a doctor, saving and improving lives, and the other an assassin, taking lives away. But there is so much commonality once you scratch under the surface, and to watch them grow from strangers into semi-friends into lovers then into the best of friends, was just **sigh** wonderful.

    Annie: At first, I wondered how D and Jack would be together. Like Leigh mentioned, they are so vastly different. However, I believe that it's because of those differences that really make them fit so well together. I loved how Jack prods at D until he reaches that soft center of the steeled man. So much is riding on the fact that despite the way D initially treats Jack, Jack never turns away from him or gives up. They are simply beautiful together.

    People are going to want to know about the intensity of sexiness of this book. How would you describe it?

    Leigh: Hmmmmm...in one word: HAWT!!! In many words: the sexiness of Zero and the chemistry shared between Jack and D were both so very intense, and so very, very sexy. At first, their sexuality is just erotic as all hell. Their chemistry is so strong and potent, and the rawness of their carnality just flows directly from that. But then, once their relationship begins to change into something more than just lust and attraction, their sexuality begins to morph as well. It becomes something so beautiful to behold, and so endearing, all the while never losing that strong attraction and intensity. In fact, the intensity only gets stronger.

    Annie: Yup! You said it. HAWT. It's nonstop romping filled with emotion and passion. The sex scenes are very well done and I feel like it only displayed and strengthened the bond that D and Jack forged throughout this book. So amazing!

    What makes ZERO AT THE BONE stand out for you against all the other books in this great genre?

    Leigh: For me, Zero definitely stands out as one of the best books I've read in the m/m genre. First, I think the circumstances surrounding Jack and D's pairing really wrapped me in. I honestly was hooked from page one. We meet D, an assassin, and see him do his work, quick, cold, and calculated. Then we meet Jack, a doctor who witnesses a murder and has to go into the Witness Protection Program in order to keep him safe from the mob prior to testifying at trial. D, who chooses his contracts, is put in a situation where that choice is taken from him, and Jack is to be his next victim. We see that there is more to D than being a cold-hearted killer, though. And obviously, he chooses not to kill Jack as he is supposed to do. In running from the various parties who are after both men - the mob, the government, and someone else who isn't revealed until the end - they basically become forced roommates as they are living together on the run for a couple of months.

    Second, I just loved both men and who they were, separately. D is alpha to the core. He lives life on his own terms, has accepted the cards that life has dealt him, and is unapologetic about who he is and what he does. But there is SOOO much more to D than meets the eye. Then there is Jack, a doctor who has a hit on his life. Instead of cowering when confronted with that situation, we see the strength of his backbone and will. And Jack is that one special person, through his curiosity and intelligence, that starts to break through to the core of D. Even when D doesn't want to engage, Jack never relents. He, too, is unapologetic about who he is. The different, yet similar, strengths of both men are so very sexy to me.

    Third, Zero definitely stands out as one of the best to me because of how well developed both the characters and the plot are. Seville writes a long book - much longer than most in the genre - and takes her time to fully develop a believable relationship between Jack and D. There is no insta-love here (thank God!); their relationship is hard fought and hard won. And I wouldn't have wanted to miss a minute of that. And while we get to watch their relationship grow, Seville progresses the engaging plot that is more than just their relationship. It's about them running in order to keep safe, and doing whatever they need to do to keep themselves, and each other, alive.

    Annie: This book has two of the most amazing and well-fleshed out characters I've read in a long time, not just in M/M romance but overall. I think Seville killed it when she created D, a hit man with a heart. She was able to create a balance where D was scary and defensive, while also having his vulnerabilities. On the other hand, she created Jack who handles D SO WELL. The book wouldn't be half as good as it is without Jack in it.

    As you can tell, we really enjoyed this book! Any final thoughts?

    Leigh: Well, if you haven't guessed by now, I think this was a 5++++ star read for me. I was fully engro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    this was an awesome book.

    this was an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    I loved loved loved this book. I get excited just seeing the cover. This story sucks you in and won't let you go!!! All 5 of my friends who read this after me raved and gave it 5 stars as well. Buy this book! One of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Worth the looking at!!

    I could not put it down and sad that it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! Definately a Book

    This book is not only a book that is a must read, but it is definately a book to own! It is action packed and there is definately excellent character Development! I highly recommend this book to everyone to read and own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Once you start to read, very, repeat very hard to put down. A keeper as well as a frequent reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST BOOK I've read all year!

    There was not one thing I didn't like about this book. Who could believe a book about a hit man and a doctor could turn out to be such a fabulous story. Jsck is a surgeon who witnessed a mob hit and D is the hit man who was forced to take the job. But D is a hit man with a conscience and saves Jack instead of killing him. they come to like each other and then love each other. It had everything an action, adventure, romance could possibly need. To watch D's transformation as the book progressed was fascinating and heart warming all at the same time. The courage and drive to survive and have the life they want together is amazing. You must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable

    The story is complex but not confusing. The two main characters took their time getting to know eachother - well, not by choice but still, the story didn't rush to the physical side of their relationship. I really liked that. The supporting characters also had some depths, which we don't find very often.

    I agree with another reviewer about the story being too long. The last couple of chapters were unnecessary especially the gruesome description of the case D was working on at the end. That added nothing to the story.

    But other than that little bid... I really liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    great gay mystery

    This book is a great read. It has lots of action, romance, suspense and mystery all surrounding two guys that fall in love with each other. While the development of the relationship between the two men is kind of hard to swallow, the rest of the plot makes for a great read. The author gives no hints as to the men being attracted to other men, in fact it has them act completely straight in their thoughts toward each other. That is the only weakness i found in the book. I understand two men acting straight toward each other in actions but when revealing what they are thinking there was no acknowledgement of who they were so when they change, in my opinion, it was too quick to be believable. However once you get past that part the book was a great book and i recommend it to anyone who wants a gay story line that is a mystery with lots of intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4