Customer Reviews for

Zia

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SO BREATHTAKING!!!!!

I was blown away just as I was with the first one! This book really is a great countinuation to The Isalnd of the Blue Dolphins. I cried at the end! This book was emotionale and hardly funny. It shows the harships of indians when they had to work in missions. I deffinit...
I was blown away just as I was with the first one! This book really is a great countinuation to The Isalnd of the Blue Dolphins. I cried at the end! This book was emotionale and hardly funny. It shows the harships of indians when they had to work in missions. I deffinitely would recomend this book. It's just that I wouldn't re-read it because of how sad it is.

posted by Avid_Reader101 on January 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Book review of Zia

Zia is a fourteen-year-old living at the Santa Barbara mission in California. She is brave and she has a striving wish to save her aunt, Karana, from the loneliness of the Island of the Blue Dolphins. She and her brother, Mando, then try to rescue their dear aunt, but t...
Zia is a fourteen-year-old living at the Santa Barbara mission in California. She is brave and she has a striving wish to save her aunt, Karana, from the loneliness of the Island of the Blue Dolphins. She and her brother, Mando, then try to rescue their dear aunt, but they have many obstacles ahead of them.
As exciting as this book may sound, it did not really capture my attention. Although Zia was the main character, the author did not reveal very much of her personality, which would've added much to the story. Other characters also lacked unique traits of themselves. Also, while reading the story, I sometimes got confused because the storyline swerved and it went to a different subject. Most of the book was also pretty much boring. There were a few parts that I really did enjoy, but hose came only a few times.
In the end, Karana is saved, but she dies because she missed her real home on the island. This book did not fit my idea of a good book, but that's only my opinion. I think that people who enjoy action and an exciting plot would not really like this book, but those who like more realistic and girlish books would definitely like this.

posted by Happens_2_b_me on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I recommend this book

    Great details of Zia's feeling and her emotions and the nature and vocabulary.
    it would be best to read Island of the Blue Dolphins before this book because this book is a follower.


    Sol-Marie 5th grade

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SO BREATHTAKING!!!!!

    I was blown away just as I was with the first one! This book really is a great countinuation to The Isalnd of the Blue Dolphins. I cried at the end! This book was emotionale and hardly funny. It shows the harships of indians when they had to work in missions. I deffinitely would recomend this book. It's just that I wouldn't re-read it because of how sad it is.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    A must have for readers age 8-14!

    This story has an amazing plot, and if you have read Island of the Blue Dolphins, it fills in all of the things you were wondering why they happened. You also get to see what happens to Karana, and her niece and nephew! Learn what happened after the white men left!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    A must-read sequel!

    If you read Island of the Blue Dolphins, you gotta read this. I was more into this when I read it in 6th grade compared to when I read #1 in 5th grade with the class. It's a quick page turner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    A Book review of Zia

    Zia is a fourteen-year-old living at the Santa Barbara mission in California. She is brave and she has a striving wish to save her aunt, Karana, from the loneliness of the Island of the Blue Dolphins. She and her brother, Mando, then try to rescue their dear aunt, but they have many obstacles ahead of them.
    As exciting as this book may sound, it did not really capture my attention. Although Zia was the main character, the author did not reveal very much of her personality, which would've added much to the story. Other characters also lacked unique traits of themselves. Also, while reading the story, I sometimes got confused because the storyline swerved and it went to a different subject. Most of the book was also pretty much boring. There were a few parts that I really did enjoy, but hose came only a few times.
    In the end, Karana is saved, but she dies because she missed her real home on the island. This book did not fit my idea of a good book, but that's only my opinion. I think that people who enjoy action and an exciting plot would not really like this book, but those who like more realistic and girlish books would definitely like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    great Book!!!

    this book is verry good. it answers loose strings from the Island of blue dolphins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    This book is OK

    ¿The waves are hitting our boat,¿ said Zia as she was tightly grasping on to her brother. This a book by Scott O¿ Dell titled Zia This book is about a girl named Zia who is looking for her Aunt Karana. Her Aunt Karana lives on the Island Of Blue Dolphins. In order to get to the island Zia rides a boat she finds in the sea. Then she claims the boat with her brother. Next she uses the boat to find her Aunt Karana with her brother. And she was pressured not to go alone with brother because they said the waves could kill them. And on their way to and from the island they found some misfortunes. The main character in this book is Zia. Zia really wants to find her Aunt Karana. Zia likes to stick to everything she wants to do. For example when everybody was telling Zia that she shouldn¿t go sailing in the ocean, she still did because she wanted to meet her aunt. She is also very close to her brother. For example when the captain told her that she shouldn¿t take her brother because he was to young, she still did because she loved him. I think this historical fiction book is not the worst, but also not the best. This book does not have a lot of adventure, besides the boat ride to the island. Some ways this book could become better is if the author added some more characters, add some more adventure, and if it also put in more action. So this is my opinion about this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    This book was good

    i love this book. its the sequel of the island of the blue dolphins, not as good, but still a really good book to read. the only thing i would change in the book is that karana dies which dissapointed me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    A little confusing...

    The book wasn't that bad, but in lots of the parts it was confusing. You can't keep track of all the names and what's happening. I don't think it's a terrible book, but if you can't stand anything confusing, don't read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    Great

    This book is great. Very exciting and fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    Fantastic!!!!

    I thought it was great, I enjoyed it cover to cover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    TO BELOW

    Read Island of the Blue Dolphins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    This book sucks!

    In the end the main characters aunt/best friend dies:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Remembered the first one and didn't know there was a sequel. So

    Remembered the first one and didn't know there was a sequel. So got around to reading it and wow was it good. A little sad but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    A Perfect Nightmare 6

    (Please leave comments but no rude ones. Quest apps at vespers rising and next in 'the lost heir by tui t. sutherland'.) The Posideon cabin was blue-no surprise-but in the inside I saw a dark haired boy with sea green eyes and a girl sitting on a bed together talking in hushed voices. "This is Percy and thats his girlfriend Annabeth," Anna said. I waved and looked around. There were two bunk beds. One was piled with clothes and super duper messy but the other one was very organized. "This is my bunk," Anna said indicating to the neater one. "THAT is Percy's." She gave a pure look of disgust. "Hey Anna, what did I do?" Percy asked actually looking confused. Annabeth and Anna rolled their eyes and Annabeth pointed to thed bed. "Oh! That again! Seriously Anna, I don't get how you call that messy," Percy agrued shaking his head. "Whatever, Esmerelda, lets go see the other cabins where beds are actually neat," Anna said pulling me toward the door. The next csbin we went to was the Demeter cabin where boys and girls where producing plants out of thin air. "Is Demeter related to Dionysus?" I asked thinking how much the two cabins looked alike. "I guess in a way," Anna answered. "Want to see the arena?" "Sure!" We then took a walk to a circular arena with dummies circled around it. It was empty so Anna suggested we should practice. Immediently I slipped my ring onto my finger next to the pinkie. The effect was immediate, a celestial bronze sword appeared in my hand and I practiced whipping it around while Anna watched cheering or giving me suggestions. "Want to practice against eachother?" I asked looking at Anna. "Oh, you don't want to practice with me," she said shaking her head. "I'll beat you for sure." "Won't see 'til we try it," I answered giving her one of my cooky grins. "Fine." She stood up and slipped a horse charm braceket off her wrist and said sword. Just like that a bronze sword appeared. "But I'll go easy on you." Are swords clashed and in a moment our swords were striking eachother. I had tooken fencing but I had never been too good and I could tell Anna was having trouble holding back a full fledge attack. After about five minutes Anna's blade caught mine and knocked it out my hand. It clattered onto the sandy floor and the two of us were gasping for breaths. "You . . . you did a good job," Anna managed. "Thanks but you did good too," I said looking at her in the eye. She turned away."It's just that I'm experienced and you kind of just started and that was good for a begginer." "But I did fencing," I answered. "But still," Anna replied. A bell rang off in the distance. "We sjould go down to dinner now," she suggested and touched a certain spot on the handle of her sword. It transformed back into a horse charm bracelet that she slipped over her hand. "Lets go."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Good

    Good but caould be better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Ok

    Interesr
    Tind



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    W

    W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Is the the 2nd book of the ilsand of the blue dolphins?

    Is the the squel of the island of the blue dolphins?(rating it 1 beacuse i dont know if this is even good)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Zia

    This booj i not worthy to be called island of the blu dolphins's sequel

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2