Customer Reviews for

Zigzag

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Nothing special

    I liked this novel, but I would not say loved. I did enjoy some of the humor, and felt bad for Robin having to deal with her cousins. I really like to travel, so that kept me interested, but it was nothing special for me. However, I never expected what happened with Dory when they were in New Mexico.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    As the reader, you are taken along on the journey as Robin embarks on a life changing experience. Her longtime boyfriend, Chris, is spending his last summer in their small hometown of Thunder Lake, Iowa before running off to college. Robin had only one summer left with Chris before facing her senior year of high school without him. Unfortunately for Robin, the Melville¿s graduation gift to their son was to break them apart, or so she thought. Chris¿ parents had enrolled him in a summer program in Rome. Their last summer together was suddenly cut short. Devastated by Chris` departure, Robin reluctantly accepts an invitation to accompany her Aunt Dory and two younger cousins on a cross-country road trip. Spending time with recently widowed Dory and ¿bratty¿ cousins, 13-year-old Iris and 10-year old-Marshall wasn¿t exactly how Robin pictured her summer vacation, though it was sure to help take her mind off of Chris. For Robin, the trip begins as a nightmare. Cramped in a car with a family grieving the loss of their husband and father, Robin finds herself in the middle of every sibling and parental dispute. Iris and Marshall can¿t seem to get along and are constantly fighting with one another. Their outrageous behavior catches the attention of Dory and especially Robin. As their journey continues, Robin quickly realizes she has the ability to help her troubled family and in return helps herself. What begins as a teen¿s summer of disappointment becomes an life-changing adventure filled with growth and discovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Amazing book!!

    This book is really good...it surprised me some toward the end...it is clearly shown how robin changes in the story, also marshal and iris... i love this book and i enjoyed reading it too...it really is proof that a road trip can change you life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Very Good

    I thought this book was good as a whole. It had a few moments where it dragged, but most of the time I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    zigzag

    Zigzag. Ellen Wittlinger. Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group, 2005. 264 p. Zigzag by Ellen Wittlinger was a fiction novel based on a teenager¿s life. The thesis or theme of the book is to not underestimate oneself and to believe in oneself. The main character is forced into a situation where she realizes qualities in herself that are crucial to her being a better person. The purpose of the novel was to teach teenagers to be independent. It also was for pure entertainment, not to educate someone about a certain topic. The audience of this book was probably meant to be for young adults considering the situations that were written about. My opinion of this book is very good. A woman who is 14 to 20 years old would typically enjoy this book because of the context. The literature is fairly well written, with a hearty amount of vocabulary. It also discusses appealing subjects such as high school, vacations, and relationships. Zigzag is a great book for someone to read for a leisure activity. Zigzag is about a seventeen-year-old girl who calls herself Robin. She lives with her single mom because her father left them when she was just a little child. The story begins in the summer right after school is released. Robin is astounded when her boyfriend, Chris, tells her he is going to a summer program in Rome for ten weeks. Robin is devastated because it is their last summer together because Chris will be attending Georgetown University in the fall. In her words, this is ¿no occasion for rejoicing.¿ As a result of the unexpected change, Robin decides to join her aunt Dori, and cousins, Iris and Marshall, on a road trip across the country, which they refer to as the zigzag plan. Earlier this year, Dori¿s husband and the children¿s father passed away. Since then the family has become even more dysfunctional than they already were. The four relatives zigzag across the country to discover places and qualities they never thought they existed. Each person is changed forever and eyes are opened a little wider. Robin learns change can be good and that she can be the person she always admired. Characters in the novel played a crucial role in the structure of the story. The whole story was based on the main character, Robin. Robin is a dependent girl who is very confused about who she is as a person. During the book, Robin discovers herself. She learns how to help others in need and most importantly how to help herself. Chris, Robin¿s boyfriend, is a rather selfish boy who is very rich. He is inconsiderate of Robin by going off to Rome for the summer. Dori, Robin¿s aunt, is very fragile because of her husband¿s death. She is very weak and is overtaken by her children. Iris and Marshall are Robin¿s cousins. They both have their own drastic problems. Iris suffers from bulimia, an eating disorder. She is also a complete brat who throws tantrums frequently. Marshall has frightening nightmares about death and draws inappropriate pictures covered in red ink, symbolizing blood. He also has random outrages where he curses and screams. Those are the characters that have a major impact on the story. Each character¿s personality changes drastically because they are all in different settings and surrounding from their daily life. This book achieves its purpose very well. The purpose was to entertain. Zigzag was not just entertaining it was humorous, sad, and scary all at the same time. It definitely satisfied the reader¿s purpose in reading the book. The significance of the title is so important to the book itself. The title of the book is Zigzag, which emblematizes the road trip the family takes. The road trip, designed by Dori, is to travel through southwest America, ending up in California. The group is taking the longest route, zigzagging across the country. They hope to see interesting landmarks and acquire knowledge from the trip. Dori refers to the trip as the zigzag plan because of the char

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Pretty Good

    The book itself was good. I expected more of a relationship between Robin and Chris, and i didnt get that. But all in all, it turned out well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Zig Zag

    This was a great book. I liked it a alot and really enjoyed reading it. It really fit the title with the events that happen throughout the story. It was a about a 17 year-old girl named Robin. She has a boyfriend named Chris who just graduated from highschool and this was their last summer together before he went off for college and he had some bad news to tell Robin. His parents gave him a graduation present to go to Italy for the summer to study. Robin was really upset about this and got furious. She didn't talk to Chris for days and they left eachother on bad notes. A few days after he was gone, Robin's aunt called and asked if she wanted to go on a road trip with her and her two children who Robin wasn't really fond of. Since she doesn't have anyone else to spend her summer with. The trip is really a big zigzag. Many things happen along the ride and you never know what to expect to happen next, then one big event changes everything and with that note you'll have to read to find out what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Pretty good summer read

    Satisfied is the way I felt when I finished this book. I almost loved this book, but not quite. Robin lives in Iowa with her mom and boyfriend. When the book opens, she's upset because he has just graduated and in September, he'll be going east to school. Then she receives further bad news, his parents are sending him to Italy for the summer! Coincidentally, Robin's aunt calls asking if she is free to join her aunt and cousins on a car trip zig-zagging their way to California. Of course there are some interesting developments along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1