Customer Reviews for

Zoe Letting Go

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    I could easily relate to this book. There was never a moment I took my eyes off the page. This book kept me interested the entire time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    amazing book

    I love this book! Finished it in three days! it gives an amazing look about what anorexia does! I couldnt put the book down! absouloutly recamend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    I can relate!!!!

    I love this book so much. It helps girls to see what anorexia does to your body and how it can be deadly. I have been through it and it i rough and you are blind to what it does to you. I cried when i found out because it reminded me of how that could have been me. Definite read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2014

    How I Can Relate. This book really appealed to me because I have

    How I Can Relate. This book really appealed to me because I have been anorexic before and I have actually experienced some of the feelings and situations that Zoe and the other girls are going through. I am 15 years old and I would recommend this book to girls ages 14 and up. If you're struggling or have struggled before with an eating disorder this might be a good book for you because you can see the different points of view within the book. At first when Zoe's mom drops her off at Twin Birch, Zoe doesn't really know why she's there, or even what Twin Birch is, but as the story unravels, she figures out what events lead to her being in the Anorexic Rehabilitation center of Twin Birch. Zoe realizes in her sessions with her therapist at Twin Birch, Alexandria, that her best friend was actually a large contributing factor to her horrible eating habits. I also can relate to that because I used to see myself as a second to my best friend, because she was beautiful and popular while I was not very good looking and definitely a low life of the school. Zoe didn't even notice that her eating habits where bad, or even that she was unhealthy, because she ate a lot of the same ways as her best friend, the only difference was that her best friend could do that without being unhealthy, because she had been like that her whole life. Zoe on the other hand, had just started her new eating habits freshman year, the year before the summer when her mom took her to Twin Birch. In the beginning of Zoe's stay at Twin Birch, she was basically investigating the other girls and the other adults there. She wouldn't trust anyone because she was so paranoid. When it was brought to her attention just how intimidating she was to the other girls, she realized that she had just as much of a problem as all the other girls. It might not have LOOKED like Zoe belonged the Twin Birch, but on the inside, Zoe was a true Twin Birch patient. I will leave you with one last thing, Zoe will never be the same again after staying her time at Twin Birch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Abby's bio

    Name: Abigail Marie Shaer <br>
    Nickname: Abby (or anything else -not perverted- you want) <br>
    Age: 13, 14 on september 2nd <br>
    Gender: other jk female <p>
    Family: <br>
    Parents- Poseidon and Bridget Shaer <br>
    Siblings- two step sisters aged 15 and 16 and a real brother who died at age 8 when she was 6 1/2 <br>
    Heritidge: 1/3 Irish <p>
    Apperence: 5 foot 1 and 90 lbs. She has long silky medium brown hair that almost reaches her waist and hazely- green eyes. On rare occasions she wears mascara, other than that no makeup <br>
    Personality: funny, flirty and a little bit crazy. She loves babies and little kids. Meet her. <br>
    Clothes: average stuff that a teenage girl wears, sweaters, skinny jeans, boots and ALWAYS wears a rolex watch on her left hand. <br>
    Friends: almost everyone, espesialy Dc <p>
    History: ask and i might tell you <p>
    Powers: still discovering but can control water and make water. <br>
    Fighting: likes to use water but has a small dagger encrusted with emralds in the shape on a wave. And can sword fight well because she is ambidextrous. <p>
    Other: ask!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Sick unto death

    When Zoe's Mother wakes her in the wee hours of the morning urging her to pack everything she will need for 6 weeks (actually 36 days) but with no explanation, Zoe doesn't understand what's happening. When she arrives at an historic mansion that looks more like a prison a few hours later, she begins to realize that something is very wrong...especially when her Mother drives away. Stealing a facsimile of a brochure from the office and meeting the five other girls who will be her companions for this "session," Zoe finally pieces together that Twin Birches is a very exclusive treatment center for girls with eating disorders. She and her best friend Elise have been dieting, sure, but Zoe is definitely NOT like these frail, skeletal girls...so why is she here?
    Thus begins this beautifully written story divided between Zoe's journal entries about her incarcertion and her epistles to her best and beautiful friend, Elise, without whom Zoe is lost.

    The descriptive blurb here mentions 6th Sense and psychological twists which I find a little misleading. Anorexia is a psychological disorder that reveals itself through the physical symptoms of a wasting body, but there is nothing here of the paranormal as the 6th Sense comparison would suggest. And the twist...nonexistent for a dscerning reader. I gave it 4 stars, rounding up because of the beauty of the writing although I felt the ending was incomplete and very anti-climactic after the build up. I even looked for more pages thinking surely I missed some. Still, the story was a good one and Zoe was a well fleshed-out character (despite her surroundings!), and it wouldn't hurt teen readers and their parents to read about this terrifying and sometimes deadly disorder that afflicts so many young girls (and, yes, a few guys, too).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Must Rea

    This book is amazing. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great story.

    They only thing kinda confusing is why the other girls were so mad at her. It just never was explained what she did. Elsie died but it wasnt her fault. Why were the other girls so afraid?great story though. I was pulled in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Great

    Just finished this book. Very good. Could never take my eyes of of the page and in the end, when i found out why elise wasnt writing back, i almost cried. I recomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Good

    this was good, but a bit slow I think

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Well....

    It wasnt the greatest book I've read, but I did finish it. I liked the small mystery to it, it was a little sad at the end but overall it was okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1