Customer Reviews for

Zoey Rogue

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best book Lizzy has written to date. I have read every book

The best book Lizzy has written to date. I have read every book that Lizzy has written, and I think this is the best story she has written. The main character, Zoey is a tough, fighting "chick". She bucks the system whenever she can. And of course, believe...
The best book Lizzy has written to date. I have read every book that Lizzy has written, and I think this is the best story she has written. The main character, Zoey is a tough, fighting "chick". She bucks the system whenever she can. And of course, believes she is unstoppable. Yet, there is the insecurities she has in her personal life that she tries to hide from everyone. Her insecurities is what really draws you to her character.

Then, there's Declan. Wow! Also a very strong character, yet Lizzy does show you that he too may have some insecurities..

When the two finally meet it's like a volcano erupting. Through the whole story you're rooting for Zoey and Declan. Of course the road of trust and love does not run smooth. When Zoey is betrayed by Declan as a reader you feel her pain and sorrow. You also feel for Declan when he realizes the pain he has caused Zoey.

Great job Lizzy!

posted by JoannIL on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Soul-mates Incubus Enforcer Style

This is usually not the type of book for me but I was pleasantly surprised by Zoey Rogue. The intricacies of the Succubatti and Incubatti Societies as they interacted with the human world was interested. The soul-mate bond between Zoey and Declan even more so interestin...
This is usually not the type of book for me but I was pleasantly surprised by Zoey Rogue. The intricacies of the Succubatti and Incubatti Societies as they interacted with the human world was interested. The soul-mate bond between Zoey and Declan even more so interesting.

Zoey is a typical headstrong and stupidly reckless heroine, a Halfling in the Succubatti society. While her snark and humor were refreshing, her rebellious recklessness made her a frustrating and almost unlikeable character.

Then there's Declan, Incubus and head of the Enforcers. Declan is the sexy bad boy with a sweet gentility to him that is endearing.

The combination of Declan and Zoey makes for an entertaining read.

The writing was not great nor was it super descriptive. All in all, Zoey Rogue is a quick and entertaining read.

posted by LoverOfBooks0 on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    The best book Lizzy has written to date. I have read every book

    The best book Lizzy has written to date. I have read every book that Lizzy has written, and I think this is the best story she has written. The main character, Zoey is a tough, fighting "chick". She bucks the system whenever she can. And of course, believes she is unstoppable. Yet, there is the insecurities she has in her personal life that she tries to hide from everyone. Her insecurities is what really draws you to her character.

    Then, there's Declan. Wow! Also a very strong character, yet Lizzy does show you that he too may have some insecurities..

    When the two finally meet it's like a volcano erupting. Through the whole story you're rooting for Zoey and Declan. Of course the road of trust and love does not run smooth. When Zoey is betrayed by Declan as a reader you feel her pain and sorrow. You also feel for Declan when he realizes the pain he has caused Zoey.

    Great job Lizzy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Loved it

    Can't wait for book 2. I will be buying it as soon as it is available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Soul-mates Incubus Enforcer Style

    This is usually not the type of book for me but I was pleasantly surprised by Zoey Rogue. The intricacies of the Succubatti and Incubatti Societies as they interacted with the human world was interested. The soul-mate bond between Zoey and Declan even more so interesting.

    Zoey is a typical headstrong and stupidly reckless heroine, a Halfling in the Succubatti society. While her snark and humor were refreshing, her rebellious recklessness made her a frustrating and almost unlikeable character.

    Then there's Declan, Incubus and head of the Enforcers. Declan is the sexy bad boy with a sweet gentility to him that is endearing.

    The combination of Declan and Zoey makes for an entertaining read.

    The writing was not great nor was it super descriptive. All in all, Zoey Rogue is a quick and entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    This was the first book by Lizzy Ford I have read. I have enjoye

    This was the first book by Lizzy Ford I have read. I have enjoyed many fantasy/ Sci FI romances before but some can be so in depth and complicated that the writer looses me somewhere in the fantasy characters and the detailed fantasy world that they have created. So when I read the description about Incubatti and Succubati , I was concerned that it would be too confusing,, especially with all the new terms and halfling genetics.

    I am happy to say that I was able to quickly catch on to the world that Lizzy Ford was writing about and by the second chapter I was really loving the characters. I wanted to tell Zoey to get rid of the chip on her shoulders, but I know it was just her personality as a hunter.
    This was a great book. I really understood why Zoey (who Is a Hunter and a Halfling Succubati) was very reckless and had a chip on her shoulder. At some points she was too annoying and aggressive, and at other times I could understand her struggle as a female unaccepted in her society, and constantly having to prove herself as a Hunter.

    On the other hand Declan who was a beefy hot, sexy, rogue (just like we love them) is and Incubus who is the Head of the Enforcers. Seemed hard nosed but still patient and humble when it comes to wooing high strung Zoey. I loved their interactions and the way they come to terms with being sole mates. I also enjoyed the steamy scenes as the worked their way through the three times it would take to make her his. The story was over before I wanted it to end.

    I will definitely be reading the next book in the Incubatti series, as well as other books by Lizzy Ford. She knows how to tell a great story and she is a writer for all romance lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Just finished it, loved it! Just wished book 2 was out, can't wa

    Just finished it, loved it! Just wished book 2 was out, can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Zoey Rogue by Lizzy Ford is very well written and compelling.  T

    Zoey Rogue by Lizzy Ford is very well written and compelling.  The characters are strong, and deep.  The story line is mysterious and intriguing.  Written from different viewpoints does not take away from the mystery at all.  A fascinating beginning to what promises to be another rewarding series.  The love scenes were just a bit too...graphic...for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    I'm not sure what to think about this story. I liked the overall

    I'm not sure what to think about this story. I liked the overall premise, but it seemed like this book was lacking something, but I still
    can't figure out what.

    Zoey is a Halfling (half human, half succubus), who desperately wants to live a normal life as a human, even has a human
    boyfriend (who has no idea what she is). She is a Hunter on Team R of the Succubatti, and Hunters are responsible for killing
    Cambions (the sons of an Incubus and a human mother), who sex and kill young women for the sex energy.

    So apparently she has a soulmate, but not just any soul-mate, an Incubus soulmate. And not just an Incubus soulmate, the
    head of the Incubatti Enforcers (clutch your pearls ladies!) So he's supposed to be all bad-ass I guess. 

    What I am NOT impressed with is the lack of world building and explanations about certain events: the story is supposed to take place
    in the DC area, but you'd never know it based on the lack of descriptions of the location (except for throwing out the names
    Rock Creek Park and Chevy Chase, which are only small parts of the DMV). I say this about the lack of world building because
    I grew up and moved back to the DC area.

    How does an Incubus claim his soulmate? Does he just say "I'm claiming you, now we have to go through the three strikes?"
    What happened during Zoey's early years, before becoming a Team R member? We're given a bit of background on Vikki, but
    nothing on Zoey. What the hell is Olivia up to? And the thing that really got me was that Zoey wanted Eric to forgive her, but yet she
    ran away when faced with what happened with Declan, even knowing that he was tricked?

    Still a good start to the series and I'll be reading the future installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Zoey takes it as her mission in life to rescue girls from the pa

    Zoey takes it as her mission in life to rescue girls from the paranormal sadists. She has the highest ranking hunter in the Sucubatti society. She is a halfling and the society thinks very little of them. She meets Declan one night and the battle for her heart begins. She wants nothing to do with him as he is a Incubus and her enemy. They are meant for each other and no matter that they don't want to be together it can't be helped. Secrets come out that shake everything Zoey has ever knew and now a true battle has begun.

    Zoey likes to party, takes chances and doesn't think before she acts. She is also very smart, sexy and there is more to her than even she knows. She is an excellent fighter and while she doesn't want to she can't help but want Declan. Declan is the sexy Incubus who I love. He is so yummy you can't help but want him. He doesn't like having someone meant for him any more than Zoey does but he knows he has to have her. He has a lot going on and tries his best to balance things and keep Zoey out of trouble.

    I haven't read many books about Incubus or Sucubatti and this was a nice change of pace. The plot is a good one and you learn more as you read the book. There is plenty of fight scenes as Zoey is always after some action and saving people. I like how she did try to live a normal life in a way but it just wasn't for her. There is quite a few twist and turns a few I have to say I didn't see coming at all. Even meant for each other Duncan and Zoey don't instantly fall for each other. They do try and fight it and that is a nice touch. There is plenty of steaminess as they deal a lot with sex magic. I will definitely pick up the next book to see what happens next for Zoey. The battle it seems has just begun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    3.5 Stars Being a fan of the paranormal genre,

    3.5 Stars

    Being a fan of the paranormal genre, when I saw this book, I was excited and couldn’t wait to start reading it. There were some aspects of the book that left me wanting for more. Trust me, by the last page I wanted more of the story to come. I can’t wait for the next book to come out!!
    But while I was actually reading the book, in the beginning there were quite a few repeats. There were a few paragraphs that I had felt like I read before and turned out that I was right on that point. To me, it felt like the repeats were too much at times, but after getting past them the story got better and better.
    This book has enough action in it that I was left on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen next. And, of course, you can’t have a book that has a bunch of females in it without a certain amount of drama. I think that the author had the right balance between all the aspects of the story that it was able to keep me interested in the story.
    The different characters in the story all seemed to play off of each other’s emotions. And not just because of what they are! Each of them had their roles, and they all filled them completely in my opinion.
    After finishing this book, some questions are answered that I had while reading it. But then again, the biggest questions were left unanswered which I hope that the author will answer in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    This, too, features a headstrong, fierce and independent female

    This, too, features a headstrong, fierce and independent female lead. It’s been a lot of those lately and I should probably read something different soon, but they’re sooo good!

    The reader is thrown in to a world of succubatti and incubatti and the fights and friction between them. What they are is never really explained any more than how they relate to each other, so unless you’ve heard of a succubus before you’re a little out of the loop. According to Wikipedia it’s, in folklore, a demon who seduces men, according to me it’s a seductress. So basically the same thing.

    There are two things bothers me throughout the book:

    1. Basic Latin grammar says that the plural form of a singular noun ending with -us ends with -i. Hence, it should be succubi and incubi, not succubatti and incubbatti. Okay so most people don’t know that, but I got scowled whenever I conjugated a verb wrongly during my Anatomy and Physiology course at college and after a while I got it right and it stuck, and still sticks with me. It took me a while to figure out what incubatti was referring to, and getting hung up on words disrupts my reading and focus on the rest of the book. Not something I’m really fond of.

    2. Sex Magic? I mean, come on… It sounds so incredibly corny it’s not even funny.

    Okay, so these are small things but they are recurring things.

    With that out of the way…

    I can’t put my finger on what it is about this book but it just didn’t get me hooked. It was good, but nothing more than that.  Even though I would have liked to see a little more authority in Declan, both he and Zoey are very likable characters. There’s nothing particularly wrong with them. There is nothing particularly wrong with the pace or flow or writing either. There’s nothing particularly wrong with anything really, there’s just nothing brilliantly good about it.

    I did like this book even though I’ve mostly pointed out my issues, and I’m really looking forward to the second book, Zoey Avenger! If you, like me, like a stubborn and fearless main character with a sharp tongue and a book with a lot of adrenaline and fighting, both with knives and words, I do really recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Things are changing within the ranks of the Incubatti and the Su

    Things are changing within the ranks of the Incubatti and the Sucubatti. No one knows for sure what is happening, but you can feel the
    rumblings of unrest. Zoey's job is to protect innocent women from the Cambions, the offspring of Incubus fathers and mortal mothers.
    They feed off the sex energy and kill women. Zoey is great at her job. Her team is known for being particularly lethal. When the killing is
    done for the day, all Zoey wants to do is be normal. She has succeeded in playing the part for over a year now. It is starting to take its
    toll on her physically and mentally.

    Declan has tried to avoid Zoey. She is his soul mate. He does not want a soul mate forced on him by fate. The thing about fate is, she
    does not like to be ignored. Do her bidding or prepare to be slapped down. Declan can fight it all he wants, but Zoey is meant to be his.
     He is going to have to fit the new relationship status into his hectic schedule because things get crazy fast.

    I have not enjoyed a paranormal read as much as I enjoyed this one in a while. There was intrigue, action, romance, sex, a kick butt
    heroine, and a sexy hero. I laughed a lot. The dialogue is great. I am anti cliffhanger but I will most definitely return for more Zoey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Strong and Sexy¿ An exciting new vision of the Incubi/Succubi my

    Strong and Sexy… An exciting new vision of the Incubi/Succubi mythology.
    Zoey Alexander is a Succubatti hunter by trade, powered by sex magic and charged with killing Cambions, the half incubus, half human monsters who prey on college aged girls, absorbing potent sex magic through defiling and killing them. Zoey and the rest of “Team R” are the elite Cambion Hit Squad, and boy, do they live up to their reputation!
    Team R does not play well with others. Failure to respect authority. Outbursts of violence towards other halflings. Either cannot or will not follow instructions.
    All the makings of a strong protagonist heroine, in my opinion. With an investigation pending over the death of an Incubatti, Zoey and her fellow Team R members are in the spot light, and things aren’t looking good. Especially since Declan, head of the Incubatti Enforcers has already marked Zoey as his. She can’t lie to him.
    As tensions escalate, friendships and loyalties are tested while two societies stand on the brink of war.
    I found this title to be immensely enjoyable as a quick page turner and can’t wait for the sequel. I’m always excited to see a strong female lead, and would have loved to have seen a bit more of the development between Zoey and Declan. So if you like a fast paced, spicy story, grab a copy and see what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book in the Incubatti series is a action-packed parano

    The first book in the Incubatti series is a action-packed paranormal full of suspense, romance, friendship and betrayal.
    When Zoey meets her mate Declan, she fights against the bonding as hard as she can.  They are enemies, but the chemistry between them burns white hot and the sex is smoking hot.  The attraction builds throughout the book, singeing the reader. The author puts the reader right into the room with the couple during the well written sex scenes and arguments between the couple.
    The action starts off the story and continues throughout the book as Zoey and her group fights to protect human women from the Cambion. The battles in the story are well orchestrated and keep the reader on the edge of their seat.
    The suspense builds as Zoey’s team slowly realize that they don’t know who to trust and that they are being betrayed, but are they being betrayed by their new found mates or by the Sucubatti, whom they work for.  
    The emotional angst that Zoey has to deal with is enough to make anyone have a meltdown, but she is a strong character with protective instincts and a go her own way and defy the rules attitude that compels the reader.  Declan is a sexy, arrogant hunk that is determined to have everything his own way, but the kind the reader just knows will protect what’s his.  All the secondary characters are engaging and draw the reader deeper into the story and adding even more depth to the book.
    The author has created a very intriguing and engaging paranormal world with unique twists to the genre and bewitching characters that entertain the reader throughout the book.  I was extremely pleased with this very entertaining book. I couldn’t put it down once I started it.  I was a little upset with the cliffhanger, but the author knew what she was doing, I will definitely be reading the second book in the series.
    NetGalley & the publisher provided this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    This book was a good read. Zoey is a halfling, Half-human Half-s

    This book was a good read. Zoey is a halfling, Half-human Half-succubus. Zoey and a few other girls are on a time called Team R the hit squad. They go out and kill Cambions that kill human girls to contain their sex magic. Zoey has found out that her soul mate is an Incubus and not happy about it. Someone is setting everyone  up to gain more power. Zoey completes her bond and someone is sabotaging it but she doesn't know it. Zoey and her girls are going rogue to find out what's going on. Book 2 should be pretty interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    She was fearless so he didn't see her fitting into his life...bu

    She was fearless so he didn't see her fitting into his life...but fate has other plans.

    Zoey is a  hunter, half-succubus, saving young women from death by sex.

    Declan is an Incubus and in line to become a leader.  

    When their worlds collide, they discover they can't fight the burning attraction.

    <i>Zoey Rogue</i>
    was a completely original look at a succubus and incubus power struggle.  

    This high velocity story will keep you on the edge of your seat.  Lizzy Ford creates a twisting and turning plot that will have you guessing till the end.  

    The consensual sexual encounters are scorching. (Warning: this story does contain forced sex). Although, I wasn't a huge fan of either Declan or Zoey, <i>Zoey Rogue</i>
    held me to the pages and kept me invested in the story till the end.

    A steamy, paranormal read <i>Zoey Rogue</i>
    is a wonderful start to what is sure to be a fabulous series to follow.

    I received this copy of <i>Zoey Rogue</i>
    from Indie Inked in exchanged for a honest review.

    Written By:  Lizzy Ford
    Series: Incubatti Series
    Sequence in Series: 1
    Paperback: 360 pages
    Publisher: Evatopia Press
    Publication Date:  May 8, 2013
    ISBN-10: 1623780810
    ISBN-13: 978-1623780814
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy
    Age Recommendation: 17+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I really liked the book overall, but I had a few issues with the

    I really liked the book overall, but I had a few issues with the world that was built. The story takes place in the DMV (D.C., Maryland, Virginia) area, which is vast, majorly metropolitan, and filled with college campuses. So while it is ripe for the pickings, the amount of unnoticed murders is odd. The Cambions (half Incbus) have been killing women through sex for years in this area, the book begins with our heroine rescuing two women and finding about a dozen bodies in a basement. These Cambions prey on college campuses and in clubs, so you mean to tell me hundreds of young attractive white women have gone missing and nobody noticed? Another issue I have is why are the Cambions killing? Why not just screw women, suck their energy and move on? In this world the Incubus and Succbus have been around for a long time, there is one character who is a couple of thousand years old. So the Cambions must’ve started their murderous streak recently otherwise humanity would have noticed. And most importantly it is explained in the book that Incubus have only male children and Succubus have only female children. If either has a child with a human then it is a halfing. The female halflings are called Hunters and the male are called Cambions. The only way for full blooded Incubus or Succubus to be born is for a full blooded to mate with a halfling. I understand that the Cambions are violent, but if mating with them is the only way for full blooded offspring to be created why are the Sucubatti trying to wipe them out? I know there are more books to come, but I wish their origin had at least been touched on. Where did the Sucubus and Incubus come from? Are they Demons? How is it that they have gone undetected for so long? Are there other magical beings? Why can’t Incubus and Sucubus have children together?




    Zoey is a fun heroine. She’s brash, witty, and kicks ass. Declan is sexy, by the book, and calm. They are a great yin/yang pairing. I also loved Zoey’s bestie Vikki and all of Declan’s brothers. I get that this series is going to follow Zoey but I wish we could’ve seen more of Vikki’s love story. And I was disappointed that other pairings were casually mentioned at the end of the book. I wish we could’ve seen their stories also, and for these women to find out that their soul mates are Incubus means that they will be sleeping with the enemy, there should have been way more freaking out on the Hunter’s part. Fortunately all of the kinks in the story can easily be worked out, and the extra hot sex scenes are a great distraction. There is also tons of action and plenty of mystery. The book does end in a bit of a cliffhanger but I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    how long do we have to wait for zoey avenger this book was compe

    how long do we have to wait for zoey avenger this book was compelling!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Just finished up with this book and I got to tell you the end ha

    Just finished up with this book and I got to tell you the end has me going wild on the internet trying to find a book two. Please tell me that one exist or I will be freaking out all day. Now this is a true cliff hanger. Have to know what Zoey decides to do after her full day of heart aches. Is there a book two? Please say there is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved it!!

    Some parts are confusing, but still enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    loved it. loved it. loved it. It was less than three strikes for

    loved it. loved it. loved it. It was less than three strikes for me to love this book...

    Excellent cast of characters. You had the hot guy, the dependable guy, the chick you love to hate, the best friend, the lovable professor and the rebellious main character.

    I loved the rebellious, combustible nature of Zoey. I couldn't put it down. Declan, I think, is one of my new favorite book BF's. Love Vikki.

    There was definitely some hot scenes, great foreplay, and tension in these pages.

    The not-so-fun part... waiting to devour the next book!! need to know what happens!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2