Customer Reviews for

Zom-B (Zom-B Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good zombie book...

B is a troubled high school student- disrespectful, shoplifts, gets into fights and basically writes off school. But all that is the least of B's problems. B has a horribly racist and abusive father, who physically abuses both B and his own wife. While B does not share ...
B is a troubled high school student- disrespectful, shoplifts, gets into fights and basically writes off school. But all that is the least of B's problems. B has a horribly racist and abusive father, who physically abuses both B and his own wife. While B does not share the father's racist views, it is easier to fake them than deal with the father's fist. But when does faking stop and become a true characteristic of a person? Reports of zombie attacks elsewhere have been aired on television and most believed them to be a hoax, but when the school is attacked, B and a group of students have to fight their way to safety. ----- Zom-B is a young adult book, but don't think that means Shan pulls any punches. You would expect a book about zombies to be violent, bloody and gory, and Shan absolutely delivers. Nothing is sacred, not even babies, so be warned. ----- The father is truly horrible. Both B and the mother are always on guard for fear of waking the father's wrath and subsequent fist; there is a scene when the father beats the mother. In addition, the father is a racist. This racism is a major theme of the book and turns out to have some really horrifying consequences. ----- With all that said, while it is not the best zombie book I have ever read, it is actually a very good book. The zombie attack doesn't start until about the last quarter of the book, but the buildup is interesting. And prepare yourself for a couple of complete surprises and a really good cliff hanger. In fact, one of the surprises was so good that I went back and scanned parts of the book to make sure I had read and understood it correctly, and then to try and figure out if there had been clues that I had missed. I honestly thought I was confused and read incorrectly. ----- There are a few details that promise to make this a very different and interesting 12 book series. I absolutely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys the zombie sub-genre.

posted by Suvorov on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Huh. What? I¿m having a really hard time writing this review,

Huh. What?

I’m having a really hard time writing this review, because this book left me feeling so confused.

I grabbed this book because I was looking for something that would be different from my normal genre. I was looking for a thriller with a lot of action. The ...
Huh. What?

I’m having a really hard time writing this review, because this book left me feeling so confused.

I grabbed this book because I was looking for something that would be different from my normal genre. I was looking for a thriller with a lot of action. The blurb for this book makes it seem as if the book is going to be about zombies. And I guess it was, sort of. But the underlying overriding theme of the book was actually about racism.

The book opens up with an action-packed story about a small town in London where a little boy wakes up to find his mother has become a zombie and is eating the brains of his father. But this is almost a teaser for the book. Because after this it switches over and the next 17 chapters are a story about a young girl named Becky (nicknamed “B”) who is dealing with some interesting problems at home.

Here’s where I start having problems with the book. “B” is never fully developed, we are given a rudimentary introduction to “B”. In fact I didn’t know that “B” was a girl until chapter 24! She is portrayed as a rough around the edges kid. She hangs out mostly with a group of boys and only two girls. But the girls are not part of the group that she spends the most amount of her time with. And she’s the tough one out of the boys! The only other thing we know about B is that her father is a raging racist. He is the leader of a racist movement in their city and holds periodic meetings with other individuals who believe that having a Ku Klux Klan in their town would be the best thing ever. Her father also spends a majority of his time beating his wife, where B is left to defend her mother and stand up to her father.

The rest of the characters in the book left me wanting more as well. The most we know how about each of the characters is just a small tidbit of either their personality or their looks. Each kid that B hangs out with has been given a nickname, usually by B. For example “Copper” is a little redheaded kid and “Elephant” was given his nickname after some of his friends saw him changing in the locker room after a soccer game. Other than the small tidbits of information, we never really get to know the characters themselves, or what drives them, or what motivates them.

We do get a sense throughout the book that B is a product of her environment. She was raised by a racist father who beats her mother and this life has made her the way that she is. She does not work hard at school, in fact, she spent most of her class time sleeping or doodling in her notebook. But even despite this fact, most of her teachers give her C’s, even on projects that she doesn’t turn it. I found the relationship between B and her teachers extremely unrealistic. Even in the worst schools teachers would not turn a blind eye to a student who not only does not participate but is also a disruption in class on numerous occasions. She spends the majority of her time with an internal conflict. On one hand she loves and respects her father and wants to please him; on the other hand she understands at some level that what he’s doing is wrong. Even though her internal voice is telling her that the racist things are wrong, she still outwardly portrays a belief in white supremacy. If the author was looking to elicit a strong response from the readers, he did it. I was disgusted with the things that B and her father allowed themselves to do.

Finally in chapter 17 we get back to some action. Zombies attack B’s school and the rest the book follows their fight to get out – alive. This part of the book was exciting, it made my heart pound and I was flipping the pages as fast as I could. I felt like I had finally gotten the book that I was waiting for. Not some underlying social/political slant but just a fun fictional thriller. The descriptions of the zombies and their actions were incredibly grotesque and detailed. It was as if I was standing there watching the carnage and smelling the blood.

The other really neat thing about this book was that it includes these wonderfully depicted caricature drawings of what’s happening in the book at various times. Check out this picture from chapter 9.



So all in all I picked this book up looking for an exciting thriller book about zombies. What I got was a socially charged book wrapped in a thriller package. And one last thing to note, without sharing any spoilers, the ending of this book set it up for a sequel. And yet with the way it ends I just don’t see anything from the story left to tell. I would like to say I am curious to know how the author stretches this into another book, but truth be told, I will not be picking up the sequel.

posted by RevWonderland on June 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good zombie book...

    B is a troubled high school student- disrespectful, shoplifts, gets into fights and basically writes off school. But all that is the least of B's problems. B has a horribly racist and abusive father, who physically abuses both B and his own wife. While B does not share the father's racist views, it is easier to fake them than deal with the father's fist. But when does faking stop and become a true characteristic of a person? Reports of zombie attacks elsewhere have been aired on television and most believed them to be a hoax, but when the school is attacked, B and a group of students have to fight their way to safety. ----- Zom-B is a young adult book, but don't think that means Shan pulls any punches. You would expect a book about zombies to be violent, bloody and gory, and Shan absolutely delivers. Nothing is sacred, not even babies, so be warned. ----- The father is truly horrible. Both B and the mother are always on guard for fear of waking the father's wrath and subsequent fist; there is a scene when the father beats the mother. In addition, the father is a racist. This racism is a major theme of the book and turns out to have some really horrifying consequences. ----- With all that said, while it is not the best zombie book I have ever read, it is actually a very good book. The zombie attack doesn't start until about the last quarter of the book, but the buildup is interesting. And prepare yourself for a couple of complete surprises and a really good cliff hanger. In fact, one of the surprises was so good that I went back and scanned parts of the book to make sure I had read and understood it correctly, and then to try and figure out if there had been clues that I had missed. I honestly thought I was confused and read incorrectly. ----- There are a few details that promise to make this a very different and interesting 12 book series. I absolutely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys the zombie sub-genre.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Huh. What? I¿m having a really hard time writing this review,

    Huh. What?

    I’m having a really hard time writing this review, because this book left me feeling so confused.

    I grabbed this book because I was looking for something that would be different from my normal genre. I was looking for a thriller with a lot of action. The blurb for this book makes it seem as if the book is going to be about zombies. And I guess it was, sort of. But the underlying overriding theme of the book was actually about racism.

    The book opens up with an action-packed story about a small town in London where a little boy wakes up to find his mother has become a zombie and is eating the brains of his father. But this is almost a teaser for the book. Because after this it switches over and the next 17 chapters are a story about a young girl named Becky (nicknamed “B”) who is dealing with some interesting problems at home.

    Here’s where I start having problems with the book. “B” is never fully developed, we are given a rudimentary introduction to “B”. In fact I didn’t know that “B” was a girl until chapter 24! She is portrayed as a rough around the edges kid. She hangs out mostly with a group of boys and only two girls. But the girls are not part of the group that she spends the most amount of her time with. And she’s the tough one out of the boys! The only other thing we know about B is that her father is a raging racist. He is the leader of a racist movement in their city and holds periodic meetings with other individuals who believe that having a Ku Klux Klan in their town would be the best thing ever. Her father also spends a majority of his time beating his wife, where B is left to defend her mother and stand up to her father.

    The rest of the characters in the book left me wanting more as well. The most we know how about each of the characters is just a small tidbit of either their personality or their looks. Each kid that B hangs out with has been given a nickname, usually by B. For example “Copper” is a little redheaded kid and “Elephant” was given his nickname after some of his friends saw him changing in the locker room after a soccer game. Other than the small tidbits of information, we never really get to know the characters themselves, or what drives them, or what motivates them.

    We do get a sense throughout the book that B is a product of her environment. She was raised by a racist father who beats her mother and this life has made her the way that she is. She does not work hard at school, in fact, she spent most of her class time sleeping or doodling in her notebook. But even despite this fact, most of her teachers give her C’s, even on projects that she doesn’t turn it. I found the relationship between B and her teachers extremely unrealistic. Even in the worst schools teachers would not turn a blind eye to a student who not only does not participate but is also a disruption in class on numerous occasions. She spends the majority of her time with an internal conflict. On one hand she loves and respects her father and wants to please him; on the other hand she understands at some level that what he’s doing is wrong. Even though her internal voice is telling her that the racist things are wrong, she still outwardly portrays a belief in white supremacy. If the author was looking to elicit a strong response from the readers, he did it. I was disgusted with the things that B and her father allowed themselves to do.

    Finally in chapter 17 we get back to some action. Zombies attack B’s school and the rest the book follows their fight to get out – alive. This part of the book was exciting, it made my heart pound and I was flipping the pages as fast as I could. I felt like I had finally gotten the book that I was waiting for. Not some underlying social/political slant but just a fun fictional thriller. The descriptions of the zombies and their actions were incredibly grotesque and detailed. It was as if I was standing there watching the carnage and smelling the blood.

    The other really neat thing about this book was that it includes these wonderfully depicted caricature drawings of what’s happening in the book at various times. Check out this picture from chapter 9.



    So all in all I picked this book up looking for an exciting thriller book about zombies. What I got was a socially charged book wrapped in a thriller package. And one last thing to note, without sharing any spoilers, the ending of this book set it up for a sequel. And yet with the way it ends I just don’t see anything from the story left to tell. I would like to say I am curious to know how the author stretches this into another book, but truth be told, I will not be picking up the sequel.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Awsome so far

    I have only read the free sample of the book, but I have read the Cirque Du Freak by Darren Shan series and it was amazing. I expect this book to be just as good and so far it does not disapoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Blah:(

    This book is just using all the scary zombie materal that hundreds of other authors have used. If you insist on reading it, then rent it from your local library. Its not worth buying.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holy unexpected plot twists, Batman! I read an ARC of Zom-B, and

    Holy unexpected plot twists, Batman! I read an ARC of Zom-B, and the first page of the book is a note from Darren Shan, encouraging reviewers to be very careful not to spoil any surprises when reviewing the book. So, this review probably won’t be as “complete” as others I would write, for that reason. I won’t spoil anything, because that would ruin the entire reading experience.

    The main character, B, is tough-as-nails and not afraid to pick a fight to save face. B has to be tough, growing up with an abusive racist for a dad and a mom who takes the abuse without complaint. B tries hard to shield her from the violence, but that usually ends up with them both being beaten. The whole town think it’s a huge joke when the news starts reporting zombie outbreaks in nearby towns, and nobody takes it seriously. All of the students are shocked when the threat turns out not only to be real, but actually shows up at their school.

    It took a while for the actual zombie action to start (aside from a little bit in the beginning). There was a lot of backstory about B’s family and friends. We learned how B met them all, how they got their nicknames, how they all get along… It got to be a bit too much for me. I kept thinking, “Let’s get on with the action already!” But once it did, it was fast paced and exciting. The book is short and really zipped along; I read it in only a few hours. There was a lot of chasing and hiding, gore and ickiness and bravery and cowardice.

    And now, on to the plot twists: there were 3 that I consider major. The first surprise showed up in the beginning, right when I’d gotten into the groove of the book and thought I knew what to expect. The second was a shocker and made me stop to consider everything I’d read so far in a new light. And the ending-I did not see that coming! Every time I got comfortable, Darren Shan surprised me. That’s a great thing to be able to say, especially in a genre that sometimes feels like it’s run its course.

    The cover is okay and sufficiently creepy; there’s no mistaking it for anything other than a zombie story. I actually prefer the old monotone cover, though. It’s simplicity is a perfect cover for all of the chaos inside the novel itself.

    The sum up: Campy, gory and unexpected, this is a fun new take on the zombie genre.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Eh

    Bad i love darren shan but the ending sucked plz b carful this book should b read at yr local library not worht buying

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    WOW

    24/7 thats how much i read it OMGosh


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    Darren Shan does it once again. Awesome flipping story! He puts

    Darren Shan does it once again. Awesome flipping story! He puts a whole new twist on zombies. Love the surprise with B also. Never saw that coming. This is a reading must for zombie fans of all ages. Can't wait to read book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Best book ever

    I freakin love this book . My favorite part wad the prolouge when th guy snaps the kids neck and then the zombies eat him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    I think justin beavers hot id love to kiss him

    How about you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Hi

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read th

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Something is lurking in the dark....what could it be? Who could

    Something is lurking in the dark....what could it be? Who could it be? Are we safe? Should we worry?

    NAAAAAA!!! Everything is fine. Let's just have fun, let's gang up on people and have the best time of our lives!!!

    Welcome to B's life. B is kid, who has to do what father says or else mother will get it and wants to live a
    life with the boys in town that fights B's criteria. 

    But then something happens.

    Something....awful...happens.

    Zombies!!!!!!

    Welcome to B's life. B is kid who doesn't know if father and mother are alive or ALIVE!!! B is running
    through the high school away from teachers away from friends just to keep the old brain in the head! 

    Shan has done it once again. Shan has brought us all scary thoughts before bed but this gets you
    away from bed and boarding up the house on the way to the kitchen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Who or what is B?

    Is B a girl or boy?? I got really confused cuz Bs head is shaved looks like a boy in the drawings but then bs dad calls her or he Becky my daughter. Plus B was said to habe kissdd La Lips.... SO CONFUSED

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Theoliviaandaliciashow@gmail.com add me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    To the guy that said "to much gore"

    It isnt darren shan without gore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Unoriginal, but still a good time

    Don't read if you are looking for something new or mold-breaking, because this book isn't at all. It's just another gruesome zombie book. The only twist is that the main character is a racist, troubled teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good book

    This book is almost as good as cirque du freak!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Darren Shan does it again!

    I have always been a Darren Shan fan, and I thought nothing he did would surprise me. How wrong I was! I read this in one day because I couldn't put it down! Darren Shan never fails to amaze me with his amazing plots and amazing writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    This book is AMAZiNG

    I love thid book sooooooo vmuch vey cool nothing scary but vet excitibg cant wait for the third nd fourth one

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2