Customer Reviews for

Zom-B Underground (Zom-B Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    :D

    I like cheese

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good zombie story and quick read

    B wakes up in an underground facility. There are different types of zombies and scientists are experimenting to try and discover as much about them as possible. B is a revitalized, which means she is a zombie who retains her memory and some of her human skills, such as speaking. However, she is still a zombie and has a craving for brains. B meets others like her, but then something breaks into the facility, something more horrific than the zombies themselves, and it seems to have its sight on B.
    -----
    When I got to the end of book 1, I thought I knew where this series was going. Was I ever wrong! Let's just say that zombies are not the scariest things in this book.
    -----
    If you read the first book and thought there was not enough carnage and brain eating for a zombie book, you have no reason to fret. Shan manages to pack an enormous amount of blood, gore, carnage and just plain old gross into a small book.
    -----
    However, if you are a connoisseur of the traditional, slow, simply decomposing dead body type of zombie, be prepared for something completely different. We're talking about a whole race of zombies with as many differences as you may find in the human race. In fact, the reader is still left in the dark about some of the differences; they might not actually be zombies.
    -----
    Oh yes, and if you are afraid of clowns, prepare yourself.
    -----
    I may not have mentioned this in my review of the first book, but the Zom-B series has a lot of illustrations. They are very well done, especially where the clown is concerned. When I got to the part of the book that describes the clown, I kept flipping over to the picture to actually see what was in the description. It's disturbing. Don't read it at night.
    -----
    Of course, there are no social issues in this series at all. Oh wait, yes there are. It looks like there is one specific issue, however the reader will have to wait to see if it will end up being a consistent theme in the entire series. I am talking about the racism to which we are introduced in the first book and is paralleled in Underground by the attitude toward zombies, more prominently the revitalizeds, by humans. After all, zombies are people too- they're just dead people.
    -----
    As with book 1, Underground is an interesting story as well as a quick read. It is a young adult novel with an enormous amount of violence, gore and more. To tell you the truth, I'm not sure if this should be a young adult novel. I wouldn't let my kid read it. Well maybe when they are older, possibly 16 and older. Although there is a message of salvation and redemption in the story, it may be lost in the overwhelming amount of blood and guts. When people talk about the desensitization of our youth, Underground would be a good example.
    -----
    In spite of that, I do recommend this book for adults. It is a good zombie story with a unique twist.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    I pre-ordered this book and read it in one sitting as soon as it arrived. It was full of surprises and I've already ordered the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Not quite as impressed with book 2 as I was with book 1. This on

    Not quite as impressed with book 2 as I was with book 1. This one leaned a little to closely to the military realm which I am bored with when it comes to zombie books. However, the ending started to gear toward something else so it will be interesting to see where this series ends up. On to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Red

    Name: has always been called red. Dont ask ber real name or... well youll find out if you ask. but it isnt pretty. <br>
    Gender: *facewoodchipper* <br>
    Age: 17 <br>
    Rank: assassin <br>
    Looks: wears a black cloak and a vest underneath with varius knifes, and other stuff. Black jeans. <br>
    Personality: usualy pretty stubborn and short tempered. But can be random funny caring kind and fun loving. <br>
    Weapons: varius knifes, poisons, grenades, and her favorate: a cleaver she took from her local butcher shop. And a jackknife her parents gave her she named Cleary (she calls her cleaver cleavon sometimes) They wont miss that.. right? <br>
    History: dont ask or youll go home without an eye. She only tells her friends. <br>
    Siggy: R#|) <br>
    Song: Burn it too the ground and if today was your last day by Nickleback + better dig two by the band perry and this is how we roll by florida georgia line. <br>
    Other: her innitials are T G. <br>
    Anything else just ask! <p>
    ~R#|)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Blue

    Name: Always called Blue, nothing else. <p>
    <p> age: 17 <p>
    <p> gender: female. <p>
    <p> looks: she always wears a hooded cloak and black mask. She has combat boots, and if someone where to take her mask off, well, that is for later. <p>
    <p> personality: Blue comes off as very mysterious and harsh, but in reality she is sexy and fun loving. She can be short tempered. <p>
    <p> crush/love preference: no crush but she loves just about anyone. <p>
    <p> rank: bounty hunter/ assasin. <p>
    <p> weapon: various knives, potatoes, and grenades, but her weapon of choice is a giant meat cleaver in which she named Mr Cleaver. Do not get in the way of Mr Cleaver. Blue is very very protective of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    ...

    Name ...*

    Age ...*

    Looks ...*

    Persona ...*

    *the only thing i can tell you is that the moment you figure out something in one of the upper categories about me, you will be slowly bleeding to death with a slit in your neck

    **Halt does rock and so does horace

    ***btw what book are you on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Chartreuse's bio [updated]

    Name: Just Chartreuse, hardly anyone knows her real name. Initials are H. F. &starf Age: 17 &starf Hight: 5'7'' &starf Rank: Bounty hunter &starf Personality: Friendly(ish) fun loving, smiley, and curious, but also argumentitive, calculating, sarcastic, and in the end, somewhat heartless. &starf Apperance: slim and agile build, wavy, longer-than-shoulder-length red/gold hair and laughing aquamarine eyes framed by dark lashes. A light tan and a spray of freckles across her nose. With her easy smile and delicate features, you could never guess that she was an assassin by looking at her. &starf Wears:... differant stuff every day. Big surprise.... but always soft soled leather boots and her 'utility belt'. &starf Weapons of Choice: her dirk and saxe, both weighted for throwing. All sorts of poison, there are enough toxins in her belt to poison a city block. &starf Family: War torn (sister) Alec (brother-in-law) and Alec's family. &starf Status: Just give up now boys... &starf Other: yes! I &hearts Ranger's Apprentice!! Halt is awesome o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Carman

    Ne carman owner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Luna (slave)

    She was brought in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Andy

    Name~Andy<p>

    Age~18<p>

    Looks~Short red ear length hair green eyes usally wearing a dule blue tank top and riped jean shorts<p>

    Persenalty~Kind loyal and rebeluse. She needs a lot of displen before she backs down<p>

    Ex-boyfriend~Alex<p>

    Story of getting here~She was captured by War torn and brought here<p>

    Rank~slave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Ariel

    I don't like stalkers. Giving out basics:<br>
    Name: *Sigh*<br>
    Gender: *Facepalm*<br>
    Age: 17 1/2<br>
    Looks: Exactly like the little mermaid except less animated and more realistic. Different outfits and jewlery a day.<br>
    Likes: Her phone<br>
    Dislikes: Half of everyone here<br>
    Rank: TBD, currently Nurse and Auctioneer.<br>
    Personality: Like the little mermaid. Look it up.<br>
    *Other: Ask....<br>
    *For more info, please tap the little 'x' button on the upper right corner. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Andrew bio (1.1.2.5)

    Name: look up <p>
    Age:22 <p>
    Looks: tall sandy blonde hair slightly musclular white wears what ever carman tells him to wear blue eyes. <p>
    Rank: s<_>ex sla<_>ve <p>
    Owner: Carman <p>
    Likes: guys and girls pizza alec <p>
    Dislikes: hypo<_>crites and bisex<_>ual haters <p>
    Sex<_>ual orenaitaion: bi <p>
    Family: alec is brother in rp and rl and war torn and her family are my in-law family cause alec and war are married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    War torn

    A tall hooded figure who is very protective of trish and very much dislikes scotty and kati and andrew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    B dies

    Sad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ARRRGGGHHHH!!!!!! Snashing of the teeth! Bones creeping out of

    ARRRGGGHHHH!!!!!!

    Snashing of the teeth!

    Bones creeping out of fingernails clawing at anything it can reach. Hungry......hungry.......hung......
    BBBRRRAAIINNSS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Welcome to the new and improved B. 

    B is different.

    B smells.

    B doesn't care.

    Because she's hungry.

    B is a Zombie.

    After that ungrateful day at her high school B wakes up to find her self different...she doesn't remember how,
    she doesn't remember ever coming to a dark place with guards all around her and she doesn't understand
    how she can understand the &quot;human guards&quot; and not want to eat them like all the other Zombies. How is she
    different? And why does the military want with her? She hasn't done anything wrong....well...if you count those
    bodies and brains rolling around in her stomach, but come on!! Forgive and forget people, forgive and forget!

    Darren Shan has done it again with the story of B...now with the insight world of being a Zombie comparing
    to a Human Shan has offically scared the pants right off of me. (Haven't found them yet!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Odessa

    This book us one if the best Darren had mad do far! Its creepy and i could pull away until the paged ran out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    1010103875745677542124734737373443749282828228283832828577473829347473186####$$$$%%%%&&&&****;;;;::::''''""""!"!$$'*-(()),,/;&**-;;:&*:'%::;;//:'##"':;**;::%%&::;&&:

    Really!!! Never read it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Ja

    Awesome:):):):D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2