Customer Reviews for

The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

Average Rating 4.5
( 951 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(633)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A must for Survival!

I would like to personally thank Max Brooks for this magnificent guide. It helps provide you with weapons flaws and benefits. Ranging from close combat, all the way up to explosives. It helps you prepare your home incase an attack were to form in your location. It educa...
I would like to personally thank Max Brooks for this magnificent guide. It helps provide you with weapons flaws and benefits. Ranging from close combat, all the way up to explosives. It helps you prepare your home incase an attack were to form in your location. It educates the reader for defensive, offensive, and fleeing strategic measures. Advice is given for the location of where to rebuild a society if the case would permit to that extent and steps to take for that process. As well as containing information about zombie survival, it contains recorded attacks. With well research, I myself was able to learn about some of these attacks, second hand, not through this book but other resources.

posted by MissAthena on February 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Even for a zombie book, it's lame

The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silen...
The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silencers make guns silent; pewpew, car gas tanks explode when shot, etc.)

If these zombies shamble along, why do I need to run? Wouldn't a brisk walk serve me better? If they have no intelligence, why would I worry about then being able to find a door, or unbuckle a seat belt?

As ridiculous as this all sounds, it's all just to inconsistent for even this absurd material.

posted by 5227603 on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must for Survival!

    I would like to personally thank Max Brooks for this magnificent guide. It helps provide you with weapons flaws and benefits. Ranging from close combat, all the way up to explosives. It helps you prepare your home incase an attack were to form in your location. It educates the reader for defensive, offensive, and fleeing strategic measures. Advice is given for the location of where to rebuild a society if the case would permit to that extent and steps to take for that process. As well as containing information about zombie survival, it contains recorded attacks. With well research, I myself was able to learn about some of these attacks, second hand, not through this book but other resources.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    An inviting and thought provoking read

    Max Brooks begins his Zombie Guide by answering the most important question: What are zombies? Brooks breaks down the 'fact' from fiction and thoroughly provides the reader with an in-depth explanation of Zombies their characteristics, emotions, (if any), and worldwide appearances are all described in detail. In a witty and humorous manner, Brooks examines how zombies are created, how they infect humans, and most importantly, how to kill them. He studies and explains the disease Solanum, which is only transferable via contact with a zombie. He cites research instances in which scientists attempted to provide analysis of the disease but have come up short. Brooks provides a life-saving guide, which is a necessity in any zombie related mayhem. He lists several rules to follow in the event of a zombie infestation, ranging from assembling survival groups to creating defense strongholds as well as determining the best type of protection, whether it is a vehicle, weapon or remote location. Brooks even analyzes all different types of protection available, from simple household tools to guns and the most famous zombie-killing weapon, the chainsaw. He also considers the effect zombies have on the human psyche. He determines that the fear they invoke and the constant, low-pitch drone they create is enough to drive people insane. Thus, Brooks provides solutions to keep sanity as well as various activities to alleviate boredom and pass time. Brooks also cites various instances in human history from 2000 BC Egypt onwards to modern day occurrences in Central America where documents, (formulated by Brooks, of course), prove and record zombie attacks and sightings. At the end of his guide Brooks even provides the reader with daily logs in order to keep records and prepare for impending doom. Brooks expects the reader to slowly prepare for the worst. He makes it seem as if zombies were real and completely immerses the reader into the situations provided. Brooks eventually poses the ultimate question: What if the world was plagued with a top tier zombie attack? Can humanity withstand such a crisis? In The Zombie Survival Guide Max Brooks creates an alternate reality in which zombies are real and pose an immense threat. The Zombie Survival Guide is a must-read and is quite the page-turner.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    If you are interested...

    Pretty good. Information is very logical, and can entertain you the entire time you are reading. Front to back, a very interesting and logical collection of information not only about zombies but also about survival techniques and weaponry. OVERALL 5 STARS!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    I'm ready for the Zombies thanks to Brooks!

    It is not a question if the zombie apocalypse will happen, it's when. As a firm believer in the event, author Max Brooks proves the seriousness of the threat through research and experience. From locations one should avoid to recorded attacks of actual breakouts, The Zombie Survival Guide is an excellent source for surviving the zombie apocalypse. The front cover grabs attention easily; the biggest word is "zombie" in black bold letters. The back has the top ten lessons for surviving a zombie attack, listed in red. The book begins with an introduction, stating the purpose of his guide: survival. He proves his credibility and lets the reader know the exact reasoning behind the book, which is great for those skeptical people out there. The book is separated into seven distinct chapters, which is perfect for quick reference points if you ever forget exactly what you need to do. The first chapter breaks down the myths and realities of zombies. He answers all those questions one might have thoroughly and purposefully. The second chapter covers weapons and combat techniques. He breaks every weapon into its own section in which he explains the efficiency or inefficiency of said weapon. The third chapter contains how to be on the defense: what places to hide if you do not properly prepare your home before the invasion occurs. The fourth chapter: on the run. What should you do if you end up in the desert? What type of transportation should you use? The fifth chapter teaches you what to do if you would EVER have to attack, which should be avoided at all costs. The sixth chapter shows how to live in an undead world, which is useful for everyone whether you believe in the apocalypse or not. The last chapter is what really proves his point: recorded attacks. Over 50 recorded so far! He makes all doubts disappear in 70 or so pages. All of this information helped me to prepare and will help me survive the zombie apocalypse. Obviously life is one's most important asset and protecting it should be your number one priority in everything you do. Max Brooks definitely helps you achieve this goal. If you do not believe in the apocalypse, this book may not be for you. However, if you are on the fence about whether it will happen or not happen, you may want to go to your nearest Barnes and Noble, grab it from the shelf, and rush to the counter to buy and study this terrific reference.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read

    After reading this book, i find myself ready for the oncoming zombie apocalypse. It IS 2012 right?

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Be Prepared!

    This book is exactly what the title says it is, it's a Survival Guide. Reading this book is NOT like reading a novel, it doesn't tell a story, it tells you how to survive a zombie outbreak. The Zombie Survival Guide explains how to chose weapons, what tools you'll need, and what actions you need to take. Max Brooks does such a good job, that after reading the survival guide, I find myself being more prepared for the coming zombie outbreak than I am for any other possible "natural" disaster. Max explains everything (that's known) about the virus that turns people into zombies. The last part of the survival guide gives accounts and "proof" of previous outbreaks that have occurred thorough out human history. The "proof" is laid out chronologically and offers artifacts, stories, and eyewitness accounts (several with the disclaimer that government officials deny that any zombies were involved). The brilliance behind Max Brooks book The Zombie Survival Guide is that he did it the way all survival guides are done and he did it convincingly. The knowledge it contains is what will keep you alive and without it your chances of survival plummets. BE PREPARED!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best zombie guide.

    If you are into zombies and books then this book is completely for you. This was the first zombie book I read and now it has me gettin' all of the other ones. The whole book has all kinds of useful information... if the zombie apocalypse happens that is. It tells you how to survive in different environments, how to get prepared if you have time and if you don't, what equipment you need and many other things you could ever want to know. A must read for zombie fans.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Riotous!

    A must read for all you zombie devotees. If there is a thin line between satire and realism, you will find it here. It is not a question of if the zombies will attack but when. Riotous!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I'm 15 and don't really like to read, but I really had a fun time reading this one. The way it was written makes me feel that I was really preparing for a zombie invasion! Great book, especially for people who don't like to read for pleasure.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Even for a zombie book, it's lame

    The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silencers make guns silent; pewpew, car gas tanks explode when shot, etc.)

    If these zombies shamble along, why do I need to run? Wouldn't a brisk walk serve me better? If they have no intelligence, why would I worry about then being able to find a door, or unbuckle a seat belt?

    As ridiculous as this all sounds, it's all just to inconsistent for even this absurd material.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is what you will need to know to defend yourself against zombies.

    The Zombie Survival Guide is what the title says. It is a guide to help defend yourself against and survive a zombie apocalypse. It goes over what you need, how to survive in certain terrains, and how to use basic survival techniques. It goes over how the zombie virus started and how it spreads. The first half of the book is what you need to do to defend yourself against a zombie attack. The second half is how to perform a successful attack on the zombies, and the recorded zombie attacks throughout the world.
    The book is mostly made of common sense and "how to" situations. The main message is don't be a hero and be smart. It says how must people that try to go guns blazin' like in the movies more likely than not end up as zombie food.
    I liked it more than almost any other book that I have read. I like that it is more realistic than the movies make zombies out to be, and how much more detailed it explains the zombies. The thing that made it stand out than other books was that it is so straight forward and blunt about what needs to be done. The things I didn't like about it were how it dragged on about certain situations, and what needed to be done. I know that it is important to let people know what to do but there were some parts where there was too much detail.
    People should definitely read this because it is a good read and very entertaining. Also, it will help you if, or when a zombie apocalypse happens.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Thorough

    This guide is legit. I would really look to it if/when the zombie apocalypse happens.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Not good

    It was a entertaining book but it is not helpful. I looked up all the things he said and most were NOT true. There is no solanum and the Lawson Film was Hollywood produced. And I do my research on zombies and NONE of this is true. Just to let people know THIS ISNT GOING TO HAPPEN so dont freak out. If you are looking for a realistic zombie book, keep looking. If you want a fiction story, look no further.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Come on!!!!!!

    I want to read the book so bad bur it costs so much. By the way The star rating i have no idea cause I habnt read it. Sorry to waste your time

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Awesome

    Even though this is a survival guide and doesnt have a plot, characters, etc. When i read this i felt like I was in the middle of a zombie infection I recommend this to any fan of zombie books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Wow

    this book is so bull there wont be a apocalypse of zombies

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book

    My older sister gave me this book for my birthday. At first, I didn't know what to think of it and thought of returning it. But I decided to read it then return it if I didn't like it. I've come to the conclusion that I won't be returning it. This book is a definite page turner, keeping you thoroughly entertained. The main message is be smart and don't be the hero. It may seem like another survival book, but this one could help should the impossible suddenly become, well, possible. Not only will you be surprised by this book if this isn't your genre, but you'll find it hard to put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    ORGANIZE BEFORE THEY RISE!!!

    2012....we all know its coming. but the question is, "what is coming?"....i'll tell you. ZOMBIES. there is no better way to become prepared for this upcoming apocolypse than to read 'the zombie survival guide' by max brooks. it includes methods for total defense from the living dead, including practical uses of 'old' techniques, and makes for an interesting read as well. arm yourselves with this knowledge....and a machette....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I PWN ZOMBIE NOOBS REALLY HARD ALL NIGHT LONG AND STUFF

    The Zombie Survival Guide is an informative book that explains how to survive a zombie apocalypse. It covers numerous issues such as what to do, what to use, and where yo go. It provides a whole lesson on the deadly virus Solanum. The author, Max Brooks, makes everything seem so real, if you close your eyes, you actually are afraid that there is a zombie invasion going on around you. People look at this book as a joke, but I think its great. It's not just another book with an illogical plot, or a bunch of main characters thrown in at random. It's a legitimate guide on how to escape the grasps of zombies that want to eat your internal organs. I highly recommend the purchase of this book. Especially if you don't want to eaten by flesh dwelling undead cheech and chong looking face zombies.
    P.S- Find your way to Cramers attic!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I AM AN EXPERT ON ZOMBIE SURVIVAL.

    Max Brooks, the son of Mel Brooks, lives up to his family name with this interesting, intelligent, and humorous book.

    This is book is simply a tongue-in-cheek survival manual dealing with the potentiality of a zombie attack. The book is divided into six separate chapters, a fictional list of attacks throughout history and an appendix. The guide attributes the zombie outbreaks to the fictional virus "Solanum", which sounds very stupid when you first read it, but it'll grow on you.

    Reading this book does not make you the expert on zombie survival and if you read it around stupid people, they will think it's a serious book. Also, your nerdy friend will try to take it from you even though he already owns a copy of the book (but don't try to stop him or he'll whine, moan, and make unnatural sounds.) Besides all of that, this is a great book that you should only read in private, not in public.

    The book is better than its follow-up, World War Z.

    Max Brooks is a talented writer and hopefully he can write about something other than zombies one day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48