Customer Reviews for

The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

Average Rating 4.5
( 954 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(635)

4 Star

(181)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A must for Survival!

I would like to personally thank Max Brooks for this magnificent guide. It helps provide you with weapons flaws and benefits. Ranging from close combat, all the way up to explosives. It helps you prepare your home incase an attack were to form in your location. It educa...
I would like to personally thank Max Brooks for this magnificent guide. It helps provide you with weapons flaws and benefits. Ranging from close combat, all the way up to explosives. It helps you prepare your home incase an attack were to form in your location. It educates the reader for defensive, offensive, and fleeing strategic measures. Advice is given for the location of where to rebuild a society if the case would permit to that extent and steps to take for that process. As well as containing information about zombie survival, it contains recorded attacks. With well research, I myself was able to learn about some of these attacks, second hand, not through this book but other resources.

posted by MissAthena on February 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Even for a zombie book, it's lame

The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silen...
The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silencers make guns silent; pewpew, car gas tanks explode when shot, etc.)

If these zombies shamble along, why do I need to run? Wouldn't a brisk walk serve me better? If they have no intelligence, why would I worry about then being able to find a door, or unbuckle a seat belt?

As ridiculous as this all sounds, it's all just to inconsistent for even this absurd material.

posted by 5227603 on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Even for a zombie book, it's lame

    The first part of the book is spent mixing the zombie genres (virus/undead) together, to create a quasi-super-zombie and quashing the usual zombie movie tropes (zombies are afraid of fire, etc.) It then goes on to perpetuate the usual movie tropes about firearms (silencers make guns silent; pewpew, car gas tanks explode when shot, etc.)

    If these zombies shamble along, why do I need to run? Wouldn't a brisk walk serve me better? If they have no intelligence, why would I worry about then being able to find a door, or unbuckle a seat belt?

    As ridiculous as this all sounds, it's all just to inconsistent for even this absurd material.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Thorough

    This guide is legit. I would really look to it if/when the zombie apocalypse happens.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Come on!!!!!!

    I want to read the book so bad bur it costs so much. By the way The star rating i have no idea cause I habnt read it. Sorry to waste your time

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Wow

    this book is so bull there wont be a apocalypse of zombies

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    To all the girrls

    You are so sexy

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    I didn't get it

    The humor of this book didn't work for me. I like sarcasm and the author seems strangely serious. He did spend a good amount of time researching and thinking about the subject and perhaps this would work as a good reference book in case the unthinkable does happen. As I'm writing this my wife put it this way as to why I didn't like the book. It's for "Zombie Geeks". It's like if you were into Star Wars and an author wrote a book on Klingons, in detail, then perhaps for ghoul movie fans this novel is for you. For me, it just didn't appeal.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Tap me!!!

    I do like this book but it haa too many swears and costs too much mula

    It a good reference guide

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Too much $$

    I didn't buy it cause its too much money for something that is just for zombie fans and isn't 100% correct

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    The Zombie Survival Guide

    I was disappointed. I had thought it would be humorously written, not seriously written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Crap

    U dont jneed this cuz GOD will protect us.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Author is a wierdo zombies r fake

    D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Scared

    It frightens me how many ppl actually belive that zombies (i like walkers better) do or could one day exist. Those ppl need signs so i can run from them. First, it is medically impossible to return a given number of cells to the ability to move, think on some level (eat, walk, moan, repeat) or have an extent of life. Second, zombies were invented for humor/entertainment. So which is first a zombie apoc, vampire apoc, cat apoc of idiot apoc. Money on the idiots first. So many scary ppl, more scared of them than a zombie. Entertaining book an informative on surviving in an type of danger.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Pages

    Can anyone tell me how many pages this book is? I wish all the nook books told you that. Thanks

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Plz click here important

    Is there any languge in this book? Please answerwhen you do please lable it answers

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    I was expecting something more on the HA HA funny side.

    I guess I might have hoped that this book had some type of comedic value, but it is pretty dry. I didn't even want to finish it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Get Real!

    everything in this book is basic. how could you not watch a movie like Dawn of the Dead, and find out all of this information out for yourself? very big waste of my time, and yours.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2