Customer Reviews for

The Zombie Wilson Diaries

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It made me laugh so hard, I cried! The must read parody about castaway!

    I am a huge zombie fan. But that is not why I loved this book so much. You see, I went to the first page and started to laugh. Yet barely anything had happened yet. This author had the will to start out his book so random. I think that is something to admire. Next, he started with this guy writing a diary about his vacation. I guess he mabye wanted to reflect this book on himself because the guy he is writing about is always saying how horny he is. He even gets horny to a zombie. I mean who does that? And at the end of the book I went on the internet and looked up the authors other books. Read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Great satire

    This is a very funny zombie book. It is also a great slice of relationship satire. The book rarely slowed down and had a very consistent voice. A hot zombie in a hula skirt. Who would ever think of someting so goofy?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Humor to the zombie fan

    Great zombie humor and has its grose momments that made me want to throw up .. not what i was expecting but i couldnt put it down. The ending was a bit unexpected but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OMG! What a fun book to read!!! This story has got to be the mos

    OMG! What a fun book to read!!! This story has got to be the most entertaining zombie story I have ever read! It was funny and serious at the same time. I can’t imagine being stranded on a desert island at all but to be stranded and have a zombie on it too??? What would I do…probably bash its head in immediately but the hero of our story had other plans for it and for him…it worked. I simply loved this story and was totally entertained for hours reading all of the descriptive writing that went into this story by the author and there was definitely a lot of descriptions of the island…the zombie…the coconuts…the yummy food…and everything else that our islander had to endure! Yes….this was an enjoyable… imaginative and entertaining read! One that I recommend to all who love zombie stories…who would love to be stranded on a deserted island…who love a good story that makes you laugh out loud and to those who just are looking for a story that will take your mind off of the ho-hum every day boring things in life! Thank you Mr. Long for a great story and I look forward to reading more of your books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great reading

    I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend this for all zombie readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Yes u Yes yes yes!!

    All the way...YES!! THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL ZOMBIE FANS! WOW WOW WOWZA!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    My Girlfriend is a Zombie

    The Zombie Wilson Diaries plays on the castaway scenario replacing the volleyball named Wilson from the Tom Hanks film with a zombie girl who is quite a bit more animated and a whole lot more bitey than a ball with a bloody hand print for a face. Our nameless narrator begins his diary while on a business trip to the islands, which turns into a plane crash which lands him on a deserted island in the middle of the ocean with one of the other passengers, who apparently floated up to the island alive, just like him, but made the unfortunate decision to eat some exotic berries that have turned her from a hottie model type into a rottie gooey type. But fear not, our narrator decides to take her under his wing instead of bashing her skull in with a big rock because she keeps him company on a island lacking in others to socially interact with. Oh, we do get the occasional interloper, like our fair lady's dead rotting hubby and a few natives who have canoed over from another island, but for the most part, this tale of a fateful trip is all about a man and his zombie.

    A nice touch with this book is the appearance of handwritten text and the hand scrawled stick drawings that the narrator puts at the front of each chapter, which added to the personal diary feel of this story.

    It is an intriguing relationship that this deluded and desperate man has with a creature that I found hard to define as far as what her role was. Each chapter starts with "My girlfriend..." but it becomes clear that the zombie in this story plays multiple parts, and girlfriend, it seems, is probably the least of them. Desperate for companionship, it is almost as if she is his pet or willful child, as he takes care of her and keeps her from getting into trouble, while at the same time she snaps at him and generally acts like a brat, but there are moments when it seems that his girl, undead Friday, seems to recognize and even relies on him, especially when there are thunderstorms and undead sharks trying to snap her in half.

    The comedy here is dark and should be appreciated by a fan of the zombie genre for certain, as well as those who like a bit of a twisted tale in general. The self-induced torture that this castaway goes through as he debates, on a daily basis, whether it would just be better to kill this creature even though she provides him with a shred of human contact, is a wickedly humorous conflict. I'm not really sure whether I liked this guy or I just wanted to smack some sense into him, but I know one thing for sure, this book was an entertaining journey into the surreal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Beats a Volleyball Any Old Day

    Alone, on a deserted island, with nothing but a zombie for company? What is a lonely young man to do?
    Bash in her brains or keep her alive? Have company for dinner or become dinner? The choice is a hard one, a ridiculous one, and as it would turn out a hilarious one.

    Mr. Long's book takes the tired concept of the classic 'Robinson Crusoe' wreckage and breaths new live into it. Or rather new death. With his addition of a zombie as the main character's only companion he gives us a complex set of moral questions that, although he doesn't answer all of them, are way funnier than you would expect them to be.

    Written in 'journal' format, the book can be a bit annoying at times with it's deliberate misspellings and grammar issues. Yet these purposeful mistakes lend an air of believability to the diary style, and as you settle into reading it they all but disappear in the face of the protagonist's struggle against zombie husbands and zombie sharks.

    Yes you read that right. Zombie sharks.

    The main character is both obnoxious and charming. One moment you hope he is rescued, the next you find yourself rooting for Zombie Wilson to just take a chunk out of his head so he will shut the heck up and quit his whining! The sexual tension is laugh out loud funny, with the lead character reminding himself more than once that the while the zombie is female, she is indeed dead. Mr. Long employs the stereo type that a man will bed anything that moves not just for a laugh, but to reiterate that his lead male is all too human.

    If I had any complaint it would be the font. I understand it was an attempt to make it look handwritten, but in the long run it is a bit harsh on the eyes. While I can normally read for long periods of time, I had to give this one a break every now and again just to let my eyes rest.

    I had to give Mr. Long five stars just for the idea alone. After I received this book in the mail, I spent the entire night toting it around my work place, showing it off while explaining the concept to very confused coworkers. After reading it cover to cover I fell in love with the story, so the five stars were well earned. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for something a little bit different to add to their zombie repertoire.

    The Zombie-Wilson Diaries is as funny as a story about tying a dead girl to a tree and talking to her can get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1