Customer Reviews for

Zone One

Average Rating 3
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Average Zombie Read

While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with ...
While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with stories such as Zone One.

posted by EHendu on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fiction or text book?

I found this book to be very long winded and uninspired. I understand the need for background material but it seems to me the author got lost in detailing everything he saw as a remembrance of things past. I read fiction to escape and have experiences for the thrill of...
I found this book to be very long winded and uninspired. I understand the need for background material but it seems to me the author got lost in detailing everything he saw as a remembrance of things past. I read fiction to escape and have experiences for the thrill of it, there was little escapism. The cerebral prose presented here seems to be more about the author being verbose and intellectual pursuits. I couldn't wait to get to the end of this book so I could read something else.

posted by jrlabwalker on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Fiction or text book?

    I found this book to be very long winded and uninspired. I understand the need for background material but it seems to me the author got lost in detailing everything he saw as a remembrance of things past. I read fiction to escape and have experiences for the thrill of it, there was little escapism. The cerebral prose presented here seems to be more about the author being verbose and intellectual pursuits. I couldn't wait to get to the end of this book so I could read something else.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Big letdown

    I like zombies and I like literatire, so why didnt I like this book?? Too slow, no real plot, flat characters and a somewhat pretentious writing style. Colson can write absolutely beautiful passages but the beauty gets bogged down and overdone. Reminds me a little bit of Tim Gunn telling Project Runway contestants to "edit, edit, edit" their work. Sadly even editing his excess wording wouldnt have been able to save this novel.. I'm giving up after reading the first third.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Should have been better

    You can tell the author is a good writer, but the story kind of meanders nowhere There are awesome passages that lead to nothing I'd buy it on nook for four bucks but NOT 12. Disappointing, it could have been awesome.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Had to quit

    I am only on page 34, but just cannot find the energy to go any further. The author drones on and on in this wandering stream of conscience prose that doesn't seem to ever end or even push you forward. Then it is like he snaps out of it and writes a couple of paragraphs of plot, but quickly falls back into poinless ramblings. I sure wish I had read these other warning reviews before spending money. Lesson learned!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Disappointed

    I purchased Zone One after an interview with the author on NPR and was sadly disappointed. It was incredibly descriptive creating a grim image appropriate for the story but I felt like the author jumped around too much in the story without providing transitions. I was glad when it was over. However, the last 30 pages were nail-biting.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    The writing style is an easy read, unfortunately the story isn't

    The writing style is an easy read, unfortunately the story isn't. I normally finish every book I start and I have trudged through some bad books, but the plot is so far completely fuzzy. There is no real fade in and out of flashbacks, the story is somewhat uninspired and painstakingly slow. If you are just interested in a study of of humanities thoughts during an epidemic then this is the book for you. If you are looking for an engrossing edge of your seat page turner then look somewhere else.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    A Hard Read

    I think I turned into a zombie after reading several pages. It did not take long to realize this book is slow and boring.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Average Zombie Read

    While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with stories such as Zone One.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Not What I Expected

    And I just couldn't get through it. Only read about a third of it and quit.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I am usually open to nearly any work of fiction. However, I coul

    I am usually open to nearly any work of fiction. However, I could not get past the forced over-complication of this book. The author obviously made every attempt to prove that he not only owns a thesaurus, but also knows how to use it. Good luck trying to read this self-righteous drivel.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    awful

    this was an extremely difficult book to read. the author constantly leaves the plotline to discuss tangential issues and character traits abouut the lead. About 100 pages in or so I finally had to stop reading it because it was just going nowhere. Nearly zero zombie action - so if you are fan of this genre - this book will disappoint you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No zombie fun here

    One of the rare times I did not finish a book, quitting after one quarter. I think I will keep it unarchived in case I have trouble sleeping.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All about what we can lose

    Is Zone One Colson Whitehead's highly literate, stylistic take on the zombie genre? Well, yes. But Zone One is also a study on the memories, experiences, things, and culture that hold us together, and a frightening evaluation of what happens when it all falls apart. Whitehead's everyman protagonist tries to survive in a world threatened by "the dead" and to go forward with hope in the new society's Reconstruction. Yet he's constantly losing himself in the past, to what once was, to the world everyone lost on "Last Night."
    Whitehead's first novel The Intuitionist is one of my favorites because of its writing style. Happy to say I was not disappointed with Zone One!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    don't waste your time

    Slogging through this book was almost painful. Like others commented before, the writer comes off as snobbish and boring. By the end of the book I was so over the fact that the main character was "exceptionally average"... mostly because I didn't care about any single character to begin with. Terrible read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    So dull

    I kind of feel bad for the author. The book feels like he was attempting to write a serious piece. Unfortunately, when your subject matter is zombies, any true literary attempt comes across as ironic. I think the author is quite capable of writing a great work--he just forgot that zombies are supposed to be fun fluff.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I didn't think I'd like it as much as I did to be perfectly honest but this is an excellent investment in the time spent reading it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I believe I understand what whitehead was trying to do. He was u

    I believe I understand what whitehead was trying to do. He was using a method much like Faulkner did to try to illustrate the inability of his characters to escape their past. Their past in fact continues to happen in much like a present voice. It's not that the present moves forward with occasional flashbacks, but that the characters inhabit both their present and their inescapable past.

    I can completely understand people not enjoying it, as a matter of taste.

    I very much enjoyed it.

    TL:DR: If you like Faulkner and literary apocalyptic tales, you might like this one.

    If you don't like Faulkner but like literary apocalyptic tales, I would skip this one and read McCarthy's "The Road" instead.

    If you like non-literary (but well-written) apocalyptic fiction go with Brook's "World War Z."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Excellent...kinda like The Walking Dead.

    I enjoyed this book. Looking forward to more tit,es by this author...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Shockingly good-made me think, very well written.l couldn't put

    Shockingly good-made me think, very well written.l couldn't put it down. Extremely smart read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    This was hands down the best Zombie book I have ever read. I've

    This was hands down the best Zombie book I have ever read. I've been reading a bunch of zombie books lately and I forgot how much decent character development can add to a story. If you want more than 200 pages of people hitting zombies on the head, then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6