Customer Reviews for

Zone One

Average Rating 3
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Average Zombie Read

While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with ...
While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with stories such as Zone One.

posted by EHendu on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fiction or text book?

I found this book to be very long winded and uninspired. I understand the need for background material but it seems to me the author got lost in detailing everything he saw as a remembrance of things past. I read fiction to escape and have experiences for the thrill of...
I found this book to be very long winded and uninspired. I understand the need for background material but it seems to me the author got lost in detailing everything he saw as a remembrance of things past. I read fiction to escape and have experiences for the thrill of it, there was little escapism. The cerebral prose presented here seems to be more about the author being verbose and intellectual pursuits. I couldn't wait to get to the end of this book so I could read something else.

posted by jrlabwalker on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Average Zombie Read

    While the pacing of the book is a bit drawn out at times it serves to make the actual zombie encounters that much more jarring and intense. Anyone looking for a "hack and slash", constant gore fest should look elsewhere. Otherwise, the genre can only be improved with stories such as Zone One.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I didn't think I'd like it as much as I did to be perfectly honest but this is an excellent investment in the time spent reading it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I believe I understand what whitehead was trying to do. He was u

    I believe I understand what whitehead was trying to do. He was using a method much like Faulkner did to try to illustrate the inability of his characters to escape their past. Their past in fact continues to happen in much like a present voice. It's not that the present moves forward with occasional flashbacks, but that the characters inhabit both their present and their inescapable past.

    I can completely understand people not enjoying it, as a matter of taste.

    I very much enjoyed it.

    TL:DR: If you like Faulkner and literary apocalyptic tales, you might like this one.

    If you don't like Faulkner but like literary apocalyptic tales, I would skip this one and read McCarthy's "The Road" instead.

    If you like non-literary (but well-written) apocalyptic fiction go with Brook's "World War Z."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    An ode to New York City: The city that never dies.

    The book was not a page turner. It was slow, pompous, and at times difficult to read. A fan of Brian Keene might not get this book and at times i did not either but i feel there was a lovelyness to this book. It was an intimate poem to NYC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Well Written Zombie Story

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it because I heard an interview on NPR with the author, because i love zombie/supernatural books, because i love to read.

    the take on zombies was very interesting in this novel...i've read a lot of zombie books, seen a lot of zombie movies...and this still brought a new spin to the way zombies "function".

    there is no doubt that colson whitehead knows how to write. at times, i found some of the jumps (flashbacks/stories) unnecessary and rambling (which is why i left off the final 5th star in my rating)...but overall the action, the story, the characters are amazingly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Haunting visit to dystopian future

    I read this book right after finishing "World War Z". This story offers a different take of our world (specifically, the eastern coast of US) after a zombie apocalypse. Told from one man's perspective, it's a good read, but not uplifting in any way. Probably more accurate than I would care to believe, which was what made it dark in tone. If you liked world war z, you'll like this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    I miss it now that it's over

    There was very little plot unfolding in real time, and I wish there was more. BUT now that I've finished the book I miss reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I found this book interesting but uneven. There were times when the narrative moved along swiftly and was interesting, and other times when it seemed a bit ponderous. As the book takes place over a weekend, there was a lot of flashback and fill in and interweaving of the story to explain how the characters got to where they are. Overall I enjoyed the book but it's long on character development and vocabulary (thank you Nook for the built in dictionary), a bit short on action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2