Customer Reviews for

Zoo

Average Rating 3.5
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

This is one of the best books I've read by James Patterson! Couldn't put it down. It was very well written, thrilling, scary and a very fast read. A book worthy of the late Michael Chrichton. I highly recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

129 out of 180 people found this review helpful.

I am a frequent reader. I am a huge fan of James Patterson. I ha

I am a frequent reader. I am a huge fan of James Patterson. I have read literally all of his books.

This is easily his worst book, it may be one of the worst books I have had the misfortune to read.

The premise of the book is unrealistic, and the entire book follows t...
I am a frequent reader. I am a huge fan of James Patterson. I have read literally all of his books.

This is easily his worst book, it may be one of the worst books I have had the misfortune to read.

The premise of the book is unrealistic, and the entire book follows that unbelievable premise.

Honestly, the book is just awful. Too bad that you can't rate using a zero. If one is poor, then zero would be awful.

A "Poor" rating for this book is just too high.

This is my fist book review. I felt compelled to write this to let others know how bad this book really is.

Save your time and read something else.

posted by 10102491 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    My mother who is 63 and I are what you would call huge fans of P

    My mother who is 63 and I are what you would call huge fans of Patterson's books, we have a collection of all of his novels, I'll be the first to admit some of them are "hit and miss", we both were excited to read "Zoo" however we did not at all enjoyed reading it, I would not call it his "best". Readers such as myself are better to check out a copy from a library. Readers should stick with his Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Can put it down!

    Cardinal sin beyond being unbelievable? Not caring about main characters. Read a lot of patterson. This one was a yawner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Easy Read

    I finished reading it and although I have been reading
    James Patterson's books for years this one was a little
    hard to picture animals taking over the earth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Fairly pedestrian read

    Zoo doesn't make it as science fiction (the science is hard to believe), and certainly not as fiction (the style is childish). I would like to like this, but must suggest that Patterson stick with murder mysteries. It's a harmless enough read, but nothing worth the time it takes to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I expected a better story line from a book with James Patterson'

    I expected a better story line from a book with James Patterson's name on it. Although I found the premise interesting, it was not well developed. Many places raised questions that were never answered; so much so it distracted from the overall story. The ending almost indicates a sequal to come. I certainly hope not. Leave well enough alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    50 percent flop

    1st half of the book keeps you turning pages. Then you find out where he is taking the story and its so disappointing. Terrible ending and makes way too many assumptions that the reader agrees with his political views. The ending literally goes nowhere! Skip this one; its a great concept but not played out well enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Didn't like

    This is probably the ONLY book by JP that I didn't like. Hard to get into and not real interesting and I'm a loyal fan. I always buy his books without looking at plots or reviews because he has never written a bad book!! I usually cannot put one of his books down but this one took me a couple of weeks to read. Wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Not one of his best.

    I love James Patterson, but this was not one of his best efforts. It was captivating, and a quick read but not a book I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Could be great...

    The ideas are great but overall it feels like reading a summary...the book needs more detail. It feels like it was written in a hurry and lacks depth. As much as I like theconcept, the book doesn't give the reader much of an opportunity to connect with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Kberry01529

    I so wanted to like this book. When I started reading it I thought it would be like a Michael Crighton novel. Boy was I wrong. In an effort to seemingly put out as many books and make as much money as possible the quality of the story development is SUFFERING. I gave this two stars because it did keep me interested but the abrupt non-ending was really lame! Glad I got it out of the library and did not waste any money on it. If you want to read it I suggest you do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Not worth your time.

    I think I could have written a better story than this. My dog eats me because I used a cell phone, really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    A Real Dissappointment

    The reviews I read said this was Patterson's best ever. I would have to say this is Patterson's most disappointing. It was predictable and preachy. No imagination in the telling of what could have been a very interesting story. If this was my first Patterson it would be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I read all of James Patterson's books and this one was definitel

    I read all of James Patterson's books and this one was definitely not up to par with the rest. I would not recommend it and definitely would not PAY for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Okay.

    Yep,just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Zoo is the 29th stand-alone novel by American author, James Patt

    Zoo is the 29th stand-alone novel by American author, James Patterson and is co-written by Michael Ledwidge. Something has changed the behaviour of the earth’s animals: zoo animals are breaking out and attacking; the number of attacks on humans by wild animals is increasing exponentially; and domestic pets are turning on their owners. And it seems the only person who has noticed is college drop-out, Jackson Oz. A trip to Botswana, where Oz catches the strange wild animal behaviour on film, finally attracts some notice. A good novelist will ask his reader to suspend their disbelief on some critical points, but will back up his story with a consistent, believable background of facts. This novel is set partly in the present and partly some years into the future. The basic premise of the story is a good one, but some of the incidents are rather too far-fetched (the escape from lions and crocs in Botswana, the time taken to figure out the cause of the behaviour and the virtually instant reversal of behaviour once Oz’s solution is implemented) to avoid the reader scoffing. While the behaviour of the military and politicians is all too believable, the understanding of the machinations of the scientific community seems rather naïve. Patterson introduces a few novel concepts (mutual dreaming, use of smoke to disperse pheromones) and then fails to develop them at all. This novel will appeal to someone who is looking for something where the first few chapters are brand-name soup, something that is part apocalyptic, part anti-pollution lecture, part slapstick, part doomsday prediction, part very poor imitation of Stephen King. Could have been good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Interesting...

    Interesting plot and perspective of the future but a little too far fetched for my taste. As someone who works with animals it was difficult to try to take seriously or get immersed in. Reminiscent of M. Night Shamalan's "The Happening." Would not reommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    not great OK but not grear NOT Not the best Jp book

    This was disappointing-not the best James Patterson book and the ending was pretty lame, wait for this book to hit the bargain bin,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Nothing Great

    This was not one of James Patterson's best reads. It was just fair. It was an easy book to put done. I love James Patterson and have read most of his books. I kept reading hoping it would improve, but it never happened. Sorry James. However I am looking forward to his new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Zoo is just okay. I enjoyed the first half of the book, but i th

    Zoo is just okay. I enjoyed the first half of the book, but i think it fell short a bit.
    I just gotta say, how often he comments on Chloe's beauty and slenderness is a little irritating. He is constantly telling us how slender, tiny and even "child-like" Chloe is. Even goes so far as to call her bird-like. What's up with that? I found it a little odd personally. Couldn't she be a normal size woman and be gorgeous?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I usually love James Patterson,but Zoo was a disappointment. Sta

    I usually love James Patterson,but Zoo was a disappointment. Started good but that's it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4