Customer Reviews for

Zoo City

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Urban Fantasy at its best

Zoo City manages to capture the wonder of Charles De Lint with the density and intensity of William Gibson, and adds its own heaping dose of rocket fuel. The pace moves quickly, the world is fluidly built up with not just story but snippets of articles, IMDB entries, an...
Zoo City manages to capture the wonder of Charles De Lint with the density and intensity of William Gibson, and adds its own heaping dose of rocket fuel. The pace moves quickly, the world is fluidly built up with not just story but snippets of articles, IMDB entries, and other third party points of view that add a vividness to it. The premise is that anyone with guilt connected to a murder gains a spirit animal and a single magic ability. . . both a blessing and curse. The main character gets caught in way over her head and cleverly manipulates her world to survive.

posted by GordonF on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Uniquely Interesting

This alternate reality tale kept me intrigued and Lauren Beukes descriptiveness made me feel like I was in the heart of Johannesburg in a terrifying version of today (I really wanted to come home!). It's a story about people that have been "labeled" their crime, not wi...
This alternate reality tale kept me intrigued and Lauren Beukes descriptiveness made me feel like I was in the heart of Johannesburg in a terrifying version of today (I really wanted to come home!). It's a story about people that have been "labeled" their crime, not with a scarlet letter but with an animal. An animal they can't escape, can't leave without pain and literally can't live without. The "Animalled" are the lepers of their world, shunned, feared, ridiculed. Zinzi, a recovering addict and murderess tries hard to escape her past but she and her animal, Sloth keep getting dragged unwilling back into darkness.

posted by jsboriqua on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Urban Fantasy at its best

    Zoo City manages to capture the wonder of Charles De Lint with the density and intensity of William Gibson, and adds its own heaping dose of rocket fuel. The pace moves quickly, the world is fluidly built up with not just story but snippets of articles, IMDB entries, and other third party points of view that add a vividness to it. The premise is that anyone with guilt connected to a murder gains a spirit animal and a single magic ability. . . both a blessing and curse. The main character gets caught in way over her head and cleverly manipulates her world to survive.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Uniquely Interesting

    This alternate reality tale kept me intrigued and Lauren Beukes descriptiveness made me feel like I was in the heart of Johannesburg in a terrifying version of today (I really wanted to come home!). It's a story about people that have been "labeled" their crime, not with a scarlet letter but with an animal. An animal they can't escape, can't leave without pain and literally can't live without. The "Animalled" are the lepers of their world, shunned, feared, ridiculed. Zinzi, a recovering addict and murderess tries hard to escape her past but she and her animal, Sloth keep getting dragged unwilling back into darkness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    On of the best books I've read in a long time. Completely origin

    On of the best books I've read in a long time. Completely original. Fast paced. With a few breaks builds and builds to a very satisfying
    ending. Also it's a pretty easy read. Good descriptive narrative but not too much that it gets bogged down. Hope we see a lot more from
    the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    This was a fascinating, unique story, from the setting to the m

    This was a fascinating, unique story, from the setting to the magic animals. I loved the setting in the slums of Johannesburg with a refugee problem that mimics reality in many ways. The Zoos were also an unexpected addition to the story since they gave the person a random new magical ability, but where a constant reminder that they had done something evil and so anyone who had an animal was looked down upon by those who didn't have one. There were interstitial chapters that gave hints as to how the process works and got started. The music exec was particularly heinous and did a nasty bit of magic to transfer his animal away. I'm glad he got his comeuppance. Overall, I highly enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Familliar hacking


    Had the feel of early gibson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    OKreader72

    Exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    FIGHT GOING ON WITH THE HORSES!!!!

    Help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Laugher

    Runs back to weapons

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Faye

    Res 18

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    To the vets

    I advise you go to Tge secret zoo right now please!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Nora

    "Not in her condition," she says, looking at Winter, concerned. "Any idea how she got hurt?" She glances at Faye, flashing her a relieved grin. "Thanks. Here, take these," she hands her the rubbing alchohol, cotton balls, and scissors. "Cut the fur around her wounds, then rub them with the rubbing alchohol. I gotta find a numbing solution," she mutters the last part, searching.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Rasper

    "I closed this habitat. Visitors will come. We need to send her to a hospital."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Winter

    Mmmkayy there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2