Customer Reviews for

Zoo Station (John Russell Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic reading experience

In 1939 Berlin, Englishman John Russell earns a meager living as a reporter in Germany where he has lived for a decade and half. Although he fears what is going on inside his adopted country, John does not want to leave because he loves his young son Paul and the lad¿s...
In 1939 Berlin, Englishman John Russell earns a meager living as a reporter in Germany where he has lived for a decade and half. Although he fears what is going on inside his adopted country, John does not want to leave because he loves his young son Paul and the lad¿s mother his girlfriend Effi Koenen and wants to remain with them.----------------- A Soviet operative hires Russell to write several articles to be published in Pravda lauding the Nazi accomplishments, but ignoring their atrocities in order to sell the nonaggression pact to the people. Although he detests extolling the virtues of this criminal regime, John accepts the assignment that will pay a lot. He agrees not because of the money, but he thinks he can help his home country with information. However, the British no longer trust John and the Nazis watch his every move threatening his two loves ones.------------------ As in Russell¿s previous appearance (see SILESIAN STATION), he is an everyday guy caught up in world events thus once again even with plenty of suspense and intrigue, ZOO STATION is more a historical tale than a Nazi Era espionage thriller. David Downing writes how everyman finds the inner vigor and intensity to become a superhero when the motive, opportunity and means enable the person to step up to the plate. In harrowing times, John swings the bat.------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Dull Diary

Eighty percent of this story consisted of descriptions of walking or traveling from one place to another with eating in between. Other than Russell, the characters could have been better developed. It was difficult to empathize with the main character and a potentia...
Eighty percent of this story consisted of descriptions of walking or traveling from one place to another with eating in between. Other than Russell, the characters could have been better developed. It was difficult to empathize with the main character and a potentially suspenceful situation just plodded along. Disappointing read.

posted by 9381057 on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic reading experience

    In 1939 Berlin, Englishman John Russell earns a meager living as a reporter in Germany where he has lived for a decade and half. Although he fears what is going on inside his adopted country, John does not want to leave because he loves his young son Paul and the lad¿s mother his girlfriend Effi Koenen and wants to remain with them.----------------- A Soviet operative hires Russell to write several articles to be published in Pravda lauding the Nazi accomplishments, but ignoring their atrocities in order to sell the nonaggression pact to the people. Although he detests extolling the virtues of this criminal regime, John accepts the assignment that will pay a lot. He agrees not because of the money, but he thinks he can help his home country with information. However, the British no longer trust John and the Nazis watch his every move threatening his two loves ones.------------------ As in Russell¿s previous appearance (see SILESIAN STATION), he is an everyday guy caught up in world events thus once again even with plenty of suspense and intrigue, ZOO STATION is more a historical tale than a Nazi Era espionage thriller. David Downing writes how everyman finds the inner vigor and intensity to become a superhero when the motive, opportunity and means enable the person to step up to the plate. In harrowing times, John swings the bat.------------- Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    gripping all the way through

    Iam totally hooked on this whole series, this is the first one and I found it fascinating, how a civilised people can be can be caught up and some taken in by an evil regime.the book is utterly gripping

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    If you like Alan Furst, you'll love David Downing.

    If you like Alan Furst, you'll love David Downing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Lish

    B n N I am so tired of these children playing games and texting on these reviews!!!!! Please take this nonsense off!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Well written. Plausible plot. Page turner. Has you reaching for next in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    CAMP MOVED TO...

    'Chaos' res 1. Thanks. And someone asked me to help because they were locked out. Thanks! A helper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    LOCKED OUT

    KNEECAPS IS LOCKED OUT?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Lila

    Sighee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Zay

    ((Oruchimaru is dumb!!! I cant wait until naruto fights sasuke!! Battle of the death!!! X3))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Charmy

    Looks for some honey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Wolf

    A all grey wolf runs in she loom around for something eat, he see a red person walking and bite him on the arm and runs away into the forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Klaws

    ((Dang. Tails, I gotta say. I like the way you write.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    FLEETWAY to tails.

    No prob. Im actually considering wrting a story too but im worried about how it might turn out. Any advice?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Moonshadow

    Dont play stupid with me you knew that darkshadow was my mom and you took her so why wont u shut up and lets go mom these people are freaks and this one over here has anger issues like chill.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Wildfire

    Do you realize what you've done?! *rips out Clover's and Rose's inte<_>stines* THAT'S WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU HURT MY LITTLE BROTHER BY TEARING HIM OR SOMETHING!!! *walks off*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    DarkSonic

    Ok. We meet back at 5:00

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Cream

    "Well I don't care"she says and storms off to result two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Knuckles

    Take k.c out to play outside

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Darkshados

    ENOUGH ZAY!!!*graps him and hold him down*STOP IT!!
    Tails- I'm sorry about my friend over there. Sometimes he puts action first and thinks later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Evocative, well-written novel

    This novel held my attention as if it were a biography of John Russell. The conversations were believable, the descriptions of locations made me feel as if I could see them, and the emotions ascribed especially to John Russell made me empathetic to his character. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in stories about WWII and/or Germany as Hitler took power. I didn't know it was part of a series; I will look for other books that follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2