Customer Reviews for

The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reaching the goodness within

I wholly endorse the five star reviews already printed here. I find the most memorable aspects of the book are the instances in which Antonina was able to reach the goodness within apparently evil people through her calm communications. Although the descriptions at th...
I wholly endorse the five star reviews already printed here. I find the most memorable aspects of the book are the instances in which Antonina was able to reach the goodness within apparently evil people through her calm communications. Although the descriptions at the beginning seemed lengthy, the book was hard to put down as it drew to the climax of the Polish uprising.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Vague

It's a shame that this book misses the mark. The story of Jan and Antonnia deserves to be told by someone who can do it justice. The author can't even decide the narrative point of view, she never commits to it as either a novel or a documentary account, switching view ...
It's a shame that this book misses the mark. The story of Jan and Antonnia deserves to be told by someone who can do it justice. The author can't even decide the narrative point of view, she never commits to it as either a novel or a documentary account, switching view points and adding obscure parenthetical references that are odd distractions. The run-on sentences are very hard to follow. Time and location shifts are vague and confusing too. I heard about this book through an interview with the author on Public Radio, but the interview was 10,000 times more entertaining than the book itself.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Reaching the goodness within

    I wholly endorse the five star reviews already printed here. I find the most memorable aspects of the book are the instances in which Antonina was able to reach the goodness within apparently evil people through her calm communications. Although the descriptions at the beginning seemed lengthy, the book was hard to put down as it drew to the climax of the Polish uprising.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Being Jewish, I have often heard stories about how my ancestors hid during the war. What I find truly commendable is the non-Jews who risked their lives and the lives of the family members in order to harbor these Jews. They are like an extended family in my eyes. This book was extremely well-written and once you pick it up, you do not want to put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Wonderful

    I think every high school student should read this book,gives a great explanation of what nazisism was all about

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Wonderful

    Although I was disappointed in the way the book ended -- or actually seemed to "fade out" -- I loved this book. One of the few books I've read about Warsaw and Poland during WWII that strangely, wasn't really depressing. It was disturbing and parts were heartbreaking, but over-all it was a great testament to human goodness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    One of the best books ever on World War II

    The description, the research, the deeply developed characters all woven together made me love this book. It covered an arena of WWII, occupied Poland, more specifically its capital, Warsaw, that I had not read or studied about outside my World History class in college. Once inside the drama, people, and intrigue, I was hooked--I had discovered a new favorite author: Diane Ackerman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    Such an insightful book that really led us into the mind of someone experiencing WWII firsthand. It's so important to remember what happened 60+ years ago so that it never happens again and to realize the horrible tragedy while also remembering the amazing people that helped the persecuted and helpless regardless of what religion or background. In addition it was so well written and delved into the thoughts and feelings surrounding the tragedy that was WWII while also exploring the individual repurcussions that go along with being so selfless. The characters were relatable and interesting and had depth so that you could envision them as real people dealing with a horrible time in history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Very Highly Recommended

    A very well done, true story of righteous humanitarians - Jan and Antonina Zabinski.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Excellent

    I like the ease of reading, interest grabber, a version of the Nazi war against Poland that I had not heard or thought of. The atrocity of this war went way beyond mere human torment in this reading the vast destruction and despair encountered every aspect of life. I highly recommend this reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I found this book to be fascinating! I am Polish and have a dau

    I found this book to be fascinating! I am Polish and have a daughter who lived in Poland for a semester in college. You will certainly feel very proud of your heritage after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very good book

    Very interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Fantastic Read

    This book was incredible. The story is extremely interesting. Our history books rarely contain more than a few lines about the Polish people during the Nazi invasion. From tales about the Warsaw Zoo animals to the personal risks this family experienced, this story paints a painfully realistic, yet at times, magical picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Beautifully written, and very moving.

    A beautiful story, well written, about an ugly time in our world's history. I was moved by the prose, and by the story itself. I would recommend this book to anyone. Unforgettable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great book

    These people that owned the zoo did the right thing even though it was extremely diffucult to do so. Wonderful. I think stories like can be a life lesson. Choose to do the right thing even when its not convenient or your too busy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A lioness

    May i join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Thorn TO ALL

    The beautiful mateless she-wolf came in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Kailia

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Thorn the Wild Tiger

    Came in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Flamingo

    Walked in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Very interesting Book

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I am glad I took the time to read it. Being of a Polish decent, it was educational in many different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4