Customer Reviews for

Zorro

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

     The book ¿Zorro¿ written by Isabel Allende is a heart pounding,

     The book “Zorro” written by Isabel Allende is a heart pounding, eye catching book filled with love, hope
     and inspiration. I had the 2005 edition by HarperCollins Publishers Inc. in New York. I would recommend
     this edition for people who have eye sight trouble for it was written in large print.
                “Zorro” is written in a third person point of view but like no other book I have read. The author wrote
     as if she was in a plane watching as the action, crimes and gloomy moments of the life of Diego de la
    Vega, the main character took place. Diego was born in southern California and although his father was
     very rich and very well know he did not have an easy life. Having Indian blood and having an Indian milk
     brother made things worse, but he took pride in his heritage and loved his brother. He was a very
    mischievous child and went against his fathers wishes quit a bit and with his brother at his side
     committed many pranks. He was known for setting bullies straight. He grew slower than his brother and
    stayed uninterested in women longer than most, but he was brilliant in school so his father sent him and
     his brother Bernardo to Spain to get a better schooling. They stayed with the Romeu family and that is
    when the adventure truly starts!
                In Spain he met Juliana who he instantly fell head-over-heels for, Isabel her sister, Amalia and her
    gypsy friends and many more. Bernardo missing his one true love never felt quit right in Spain but Diego
     felt more free and alive there. Here he learned to fight, read and speak Catalan and much more which
     he put to use in his later years. Diego always had a heart of fury but never let it show. His mind was set
    for fairness and fairness he accepted only. Therefore when his brother announced that he had to go back
     home to his true love and to where he belongs. He could not argue. Although Diego would miss him
    more than the sun if it went down for good, he knew he had to let him go and live with writing letters to him.
                In Spain Diego’s fairness truly came out. Getting lost in reality and fantasy Diego created a second
     identity. This second identity could fight and does acrobatics with the grace of a gazelle. This second
     identity was known as Zorro. Zorro came alive at night when he was rescuing his friends form places they
     did not belong. He saved as many lives as possible but when he could not save the life of Mr. Romeu he
     took the liberty of looking after his beloved children Juliana and Isabel. He made their safety his main
    priority.  To keep the girls safe he decides the best thing is to move back to California but the only way to
    do this is to walk the whole way. While this fiasco is going on Diego’s identity is at risk and so is his safety
    and the girls. If anything happened to the girls he would never be able to live with himself because he
     promised their father. Also if anything happens to the girls he would loose his true love from either
    depression or the separation between worlds. 
                Will they all make it to Spain alive or will there be funerals on the way? Will Diego’s identity be
    hidden forever as he wishes or will the girls find out, or worse the police? 
                This book will leave you speechless and dazzled by this astounding, awe-inspiring, jaw dropping
    story. With every flick of the page comes a new adventure you will be taken on with Diego. I promise you
     will not want to put this book down once you have picked it up. You will have to be pulled back into reality
     but still day-dreaming about what will happen next in the remarkable life of Diego de la Vega. Enjoy this
     book and read it many times over because each time you find a new exhilarating point you did not catch
    the last time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Engaging read

    While the first 100 or so pages of the book are slow, the rest of the book is faster paced and a fun read. Swashbuckling characters with romance added make for an entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Good book, recommended

    Diego de la Vega, born and raised in California, travels to Spain at age 16 with his silent milk brother, Bernardo. There, Diego falls in love with his hosts daughter, the impossibly beautiful Juliana. But Juliana does not love Diego back. Diego has always liked adventure, and learns how to fight with swords and other weapons. He assumes the name of Zorro, which is fox in spanish, after a fox that helped him survive when he went into the forest to prove that he was a man amongst the indian tribe that lived nearby him. This masks him from the many foes and enemies he gains in Spain.
    Diego is a fighter, but learns to be disciplined, and is clever and brave, if not a little foolish at times. He becomes friends with many in his stay in Spain, and also gains enemies, although they don¿t know who he is, besides the masked vigilante. He fights in duels and wins, and succeeds in getting Juliana¿s attention after he gains a bullet wound.
    Bernardo has gone mute after he witnessed people coming into his village and the killing of his family. His mother fed him and Diego, which symbolizes that they are milk brothers. He goes to Spain with Diego and is quiet and mainly goes unnoticed throughout his journey there, just acting as Diego¿s shadow. He returns to California though after he hears word through a sailor about the girl he fell in love with. He promises to keep in touch with Diego, because Diego stays behind to pursue Juliana. There is also another young girl in the house, Juliana¿s younger sister, Isabel. She isn¿t nearly as pretty as Juliana, but she seems smarter and knows what the two boys had been up to. She was sad to see Bernardo go, and he the same for her, he had come to see her as a younger sister.
    I enjoyed this book and I think that it was a fun and exciting book, although some parts were slow moving, there was usually good action. For people that like books with fighting and adventure, this book should be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Zorro is awsome!

    I read the Novel Zorro, by Isabel Allende for a book report in school, and at first I was expecting a simple boreing book that I had to do for a school project, but as i began to read more, I found what an exciting and creative story it really was. The book is a prequile to the 1919 novel, The Curse of Capistrano by Johnston Mcmulley, and its about Dieago de la Vega (aka Zorro) and his journy into becomeing the masked hero Zorro. his father, Captain Alejandro de la Vega, marries a young indian girl named Toypurnia (who changes her name later to Regina). they meet through a missionary, because Alejandro was a millitary man stationed there, because the tribe Regina belonged to was frequently attacking the spanish mission. However, in the end the victors were the spanish and Regina and Alejandro got happily married. They moved to the country and Alejandro becomes a hacienda owner, along with them is Ana, a close friend of Regina and a religous convert to the missionary. Then they have a son, Diego De La Viga, coincedentally and the same week Ana has her child, Bernardo, both grow up together as the closest of friends (considered milk brothers because they both were breast fed by the same women) and as they grew older they picked up many traits and talents that defined their type of character throughout the book. Diego recieved fence training and spent much time with the indians of his area (which is how he got the name "Zorro" because on a vision quest a fox was spiritually part of him)Overall, the book began to get very exciting, "when Diego regained conciousness, the ruffians were still running around the house looking for loot, and smoke from the fire was drifting into the room" this is the seen from the book where Pirates had come onto the property of Regina and Diego, they were rampageing and all Diego and his mother could do was fight back. Diego had to count on his skills with a sword to defend his property and his mother. but durning the fight Diego brakes two ribs and is knocked unconcious (hence the quote) but if he thought that was bad, he couldn't even imagine what happened to his dear friend Bernardo, which you can only find out if you take the time to read the book, because it just would'nt be right for me to spoil it for you. I can honestly say this book was worth reading, and that Isabel Allende disserves holding the title of having a New York Times best seller. i really recomend this book to anyone who loves history and action, the sword fights were very exciting and the story itself fits in perfectly to the 1919 book The Curse of Capistrano. This book really reflects Hispanic culture, and history, I recomend anyone who has an interest in this book should take the oprotunity to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A very well done book, but not for everyone.

    I received this book as a gift from my husband, who knows that I love the movie -and so does he- "Zorro" with Antonio Bandaras and Anthony Hopkins. (We collect both books and movies.) I enjoy nothing more than a well-written book, which this is. Yes, the movie is escapism and fantastical, so what? We all need a good hero now and then. In this book, the author provides the childhood background of Zorro and explains where he got those "fantastical" abilities like sword-fighting and those gymnastics that Bandaras does in the movie. Her writing takes you in and provides a background and a "reasonable" explanation for our hero's abilities. Written from the viewpoint of another character, one who you don't find out who it is until the end, unless you can figure out who it is (which you probably can). No, this isn't a "classic", just engaging and well-written. The characters have depth and have human faults; some you'll like and some not. It's a good "escapism" read for a long weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Really liked it

    A thoroughly entertaining read. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Book Review: Zorro By: Isabel Allende HarperCollins Publishers, 2005. New York, NY.

    Zorro is an incredible entertaining and enlightening novel. The author, Isabel Allende, creates an environment of pure enjoyment as you learn about the history of Diego de la Vega, Zorro. However Allende masterfully places in rich and insightful details about the history and life of the Hispanic people also. The way they live, act, and why they did it, all while reading about the life of Zorro. "To their eyes, the ancient Catalan port resembled a forest of mast and sails. There were ships of every origin, shape, and size. If the youths had been impressed by the little town of Panama, imagine the effect Barcelona had on them." Pg. 110. Allende drops in a historic backdrop of Barcelona, in brilliant imagery and in all its grandeur without straying away from the story. A gift Allende presented to readers throughout the novel.
    Diego de la Vega was born in Alta California, he is the son of a famous Spanish general and a great female Indian warrior. He learns multiple virtues from both the Spanish and Indian world forming his immensely successful childhood. His constant activities, hard work, and studies lead to his unmatchable agility and mind. While enduring an Indian right of passage he is influenced by a fox "Zorro" and thus Zorro was born.
    Throughout his travel a maturity is born and a greater knowledge envelopes him. He crosses the Atlantic to study in Spain and becomes obsessed with the art of fencing. His master, Emanuel Escalante, teaches him all about the art, and the hobby is adopted instantly. "For Diego, fencing was the most important activity of the day." Pg. 132. This love might of only come second to love he has for a women. But the beauty of his love, Juliana, a fierce rivalry is developed with Moncada, one who also craves Juliana's heart. With these two loves fondly in his mind and Spain under a harsh Napoleon rule Diego joins a group to help the poor and needy. He soon becomes a master of stealth and justice. He soon returns home in hope to save his "Hacienda" and perform similar tasks to that in Spain.
    Zorro is most defiantly a necessary read. A fantastic adventure, coming of age, and historical masterpiece all mingled into one. With and array of back stories that keep readers interested and wanting more. With a man fighting for what's right, Zorro is an influential and prodigiously well written novel. "For Justice! - Diego and Isabel exclaimed in unison." Pg. 384.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The old movie swashbucklers would be pleased

    You should know two things before you start reading this book. First, Isabel Allende's memories of Zorro are of the Disney version. There is a Bernardo in her book, but Tyrone Power did not have a Bernardo backing him up in the movie - but then again, neither Power nor Guy Williams (the TV Zorro) had an Isabel or a Lolita as a love interest. <BR/><BR/>Second, while this is an extremely good novel, don't read it with the expectation that it's similar in any way to any of Allende's other books. "Zorro" is completely unlike anything else she has ever written. The other Allende novels I've read have been more similar to, say, Gabriel Garcia Marquez in tone and plot, although Allende's other novels never had the mysticism of Garcia Marquez's wonderful tales. <BR/><BR/>For this book, Allende has gone off in a completely different and enchanting direction. Where she borrows from the known Zorro legend, she borrows accurately - the characters of, for example, Moncada and Garcia were completely accurate, and I could picture them in my head as they were in the TV series. Where she goes off on her own, her story is totally believable and logical. <BR/><BR/>I find myself hoping that Allende will write a sequel, but I know that it will never happen. I do hope, though, that this book will bring about a resurgence of interest in Zorro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    did this for a book report

    this was over all a good book. the only problem i had with it was that i would read a paragraph, and then reread it five times because i couldn't understand it the first time. however, it was over all a good book and i DO recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Exciting and Fun

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a great depiction of one of the most dashing, and amazing characters in history. A great book for the collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    The Original Caped Crusader

    Isabel Allende has written a wonderful story in her rendition of Zorro's life. The more recent Zorro movies only tell audiences of Zorro's adult life. Allende has taken the other road (a road that is very similar to that of the storyline of Batman Begins) by telling the story of how young Diego de la Vega became the legendary fox, Zorro. Her inclusion of some semi-political content with the marriage of Diego's father, Alejandro to an Indian woman, is an interesting angle. It was a very integral part in Diego's transformation into Zorro, although most of the story takes place in Spain. Allende's writing style is one that is simple enough for anyone to read. This is definitely one of the best aspects of Zorro. She does not write in big flowery terms. It is a book that anyone of any age could read, and would love to read, because as the book notes, 'We all pledge allegiance to Zorro.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Well written and enticing

    Allende did an excellent job bringing to life this legend of Zorro, I enjoyed every bit of his adventures and growth. Did think, however, that she rushed at the end. This book could have easily commanded a sequel to two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    An Interesting Read

    Isabel Allende tackles the legend of Zorro in this latest novel. I enjoyed the explanations and histories of all the characters. I was disappointed that there were not more escapades of Zorro, the novel seems to end abruptly. I wanted more explanation of Diego's life masquerading as Zorro and as a husband. There was no mention of him having children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Good

    It may be boring at first, but, I think that as the plot evolves, it becomes a great book, full of adventure, romance, and little touches of comedy. I absolutely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    Interesting and fun, great writing!

    A very different book for Ms. Allende. Based on the fictitious, though widely known, legend of Zorro, Ms. Allende creates a character that we get to know so well, his unusual childhood, his doubts, ambitions and thirst for justice that one has to stop to realize that this is not a biography!! Diego de la Vega¿s father is a Spanish officer and his mother a Shoshone Indian. He eventually is sent to Spain for a European upbringing and education. Characters are described in depth and are an incredible mix of Indians with their legends and beliefs, his ¿milk brother¿ Bernardo whom he is fiercely bonded to, radicals fighting for justice for the poor in Spain, a fencing master who teaches Diego everything he knows and a woman whose love he cannot have. I think the weakest part of this book is the first third, unfortunately, as the reader must have the desire to ¿stick through¿ the first 100 pages or so but once they do will be nicely rewarded. A great book for anyone who loves an adventure particularly those who grew up in the 50¿s and watched the TV series and/or has a fascination for this character. I don¿t know how well this will be received by book clubs because of the length and the interest in this legendary figure. A good effort by Ms. Allende though not quite up to such exquisite stories as Daughter of Fortune.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Must Read for Any Fan of the 'Z'

    Isable Allende has captured the essence of 'old' California and Spain in this informative narrative of the early years of Don Diego. This book does not only tell the birth of Zorro, but how Alejandro de la Vega and Diego's Mother, Toypurnia met. The Story tells of Bernardo, how he became mute, and the relationship between Diego and Bernardo. Besides Alejandro, Toypurnia, there is White Owl, the maternal grandmother to Diego, Juliana, her sister Isabel, Nuria, Padre Mendoza, Amilia, Jean Lafktte, Rafael Moncada, and Manuel Escalante. And before I forget that lovable Sergeant Garcia. The reader learns how Don Diego became quite the swordsman, along with the taking up of the Zorro persona. The pages just seem to turn themselves. The reader does find out who is telling the story at the end of the novel, which should not be difficult for the reader to identify.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    A Bestseller for Sure

    As a Barnes & Noble employee in one of their Midwest stores, we get quite a few Advanced Reader's Editions. So far, none have been that outstanding. That is until I read this book. We all know what Zorro did and who the hero was, but this book delves into who the child, young man, and grown man really were and we get to meet the people who were responsible for creating our hero. This book takes you, the reader, to Alta California, Spain, Cuba, and Panama and into prisons and homes of the wealthy. Told as a first person narrative, ¿Zorro¿ has excitement, love, swordplay, and interesting characters. Sure to be a bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1