×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Christmas Memory / One Christmas / The Thanksgiving Visitor
     

A Christmas Memory / One Christmas / The Thanksgiving Visitor

4.6 20
by Truman Capote
 

See All Formats & Editions

Taking its place next to Breakfast at Tiffany's and In Cold Blood on the Modern Library bookshelf is this new and original edition of Capote's most famous short stories: "A Christmas Memory, " "One Christmas, " and "A Thanksgiving Memory." All three stories are distinguished by Capote's delicate interplay of childhood sensibility

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Christmas Memory / One Christmas / The Thanksgiving Visitor 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
ellegeentea More than 1 year ago
The stories of holidays with the author and his elderly, distant cousin really touched my heart. They stayed with me for days. So delightful and well-written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Each Christmas for the last 5 or 6, I am taken back to a two hundred year old home in CT, where I first heard Sister Cassidy read aloud to us A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote. To say read aloud is not quite right, for when you are surrounded by sepia toned pictures, large floral throws, sipping hot cocoa with goodies to munch, and the reader, who could be Sook herself and all ready has a lilt to her words, you know you are in for a delightful experience. Of course we all know that the best Christmas gifts are not in satin tied cellophane, for they are as Capote remembers, time spent with loved ones, memories of kite flying, and cousins like Sook, who may give you a 'dime wrapped in toilet paper.' Capote's story is a wonderful remembrance. Kristin Andersen
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this, quick read.
honeybunchspk More than 1 year ago
Very readable. Makes a good gift, or a nice addition to your own library.
liederlover More than 1 year ago
I own this book in another edition, and purchased this one as a gift. I like this particular edition because it includes the less-available 'One Christmas.' VERY evocative of the time period, the South, and childhood. Wonderful, timeless stories to be read over and over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had seen the video with Geraldine Page narriated by Truman Capote himself and to read this story is just as if the book comes to life. In my lifetime I like 'Buddy' have been so fortunate to meet and become aquainted with the 'relatives that people don't speak of at the family reunion.' This book though sad in nature is a very good look at a childs life in the rural south, when passed from relative to relative.
AnnieStopper More than 1 year ago
This book has become one of my favourites to read during the holiday season. Truman Capote is a captivating story teller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book was very fun and crazy espesially buddy(his best friend wicth is 60) I recommend this book for people that want a fun heart warming story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RSista More than 1 year ago
Good stories are good forever and these stories will be read and re-read--to children and grandchildren and even to each other while we make the dressing and stuff the bird.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books. I loved this and all of Capote's work! This is truly a heart-warming book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Years ago i saw the tv special 'a christmas memory' and never forgot it, such a wonderful and heartwarming remembrance. Each Christmas thereafter i looked for it in vain on tv. Now i have the video and this book and every Christmas i look forward to reaquainting myself with this bittersweet tale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for the online class about Christmas Literature. I was pleasantly surprised by the warmth and depth of Capote¿s touching story. Normally, I would have never thought of reading a Truman Capote book, memories of his appearance as a somewhat awkward and strange man on such 60¿s TV shows as ¿Laugh-In¿ clouded my judgment. This is worth a read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Quite a loving story!