×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Course Called Ireland: A Long Walk in Search of a Country, a Pint, and the Next Tee
     

A Course Called Ireland: A Long Walk in Search of a Country, a Pint, and the Next Tee

4.0 61
by Tom Coyne
 

See All Formats & Editions

The hysterical story bestseller about one man's epic Celtic sojourn in search of ancestors, nostalgia, and the world's greatest round of golf

By turns hilarious and poetic, A Course Called Ireland is a magnificent tour of a vibrant land and paean to the world's greatest game in the tradition of Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods. In his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Course Called Ireland: A Long Walk in Search of a Country, a Pint, and the Next Tee 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Holiday More than 1 year ago
This is simply one of the best books I have ever read. I am of Irish ancestry on both sides of my family. My parents, before they died, urged me to travel to Ireland, as they had, to soak in the culture and connect with distant relatives. Coyne's book has provided the impetus for me to begin to make plans. "A Course Called Ireland" is far more than a mere diary of playing the links courses while traveling on foot, visiting pubs, and frequenting the many bed and breakfast landmarks of the Emerald Isle. Coyne's work is really about the spirit of a people who appreciate what the land has given. Being a writer myself, I never have time to read a book twice. But, I guarantee this one will be read again. That's the highest praise I can give. By the way, my sports editor says it's the best book I've ever loaned him. Perhaps there's a raise in my future. Thanks, Tom Coyne. Paul Daley, Lowell Sun Newspaper
DMDcrimereader More than 1 year ago
This book is for anyone who has dreamed of dropping everything and playing some of the most beautiful golf courses in the world. Tom Coyne did just that and in this part travel, part golf journal he takes the reader from Shannon airport to the north, east, south, and west coast of Ireland all the while playing every true links course along the way. The most amazing thing about this journey is that Coyne's only form of transportation was his own two feet. The writing style is relaxed and very humorous but the book shines when Coyne allows the reader to see Ireland through the changing emotions he experiences on this once in a lifetime journey. Highly recommended for not only golfers but for readers who enjoy interesting travel stories.
grazd More than 1 year ago
Pretty much the same thing, over and over. I walked 20 miles, I played golf, I drank in a pub, I slept, I got up and did it again.
SunnyFlaLaw More than 1 year ago
Let me just start by saying that yes, I'm a golfer (or wannabe, if you look at my stats, ha). But it's not my "life" and I am truly NOT interested in "golf" things (other than wacking that ball around for 18 holes). So don't feel like it's not for you if you're not a golfer. After reading many regrettable biographies (etc.), I almost gave up on new books for the Classics....until I stumbled onto this little gem. Turns out, this was (by far) my favorite book of 2010--hands down! The author (I guess a pro golfer but I'm not that big on the pro golf scene) spent months WALKING his crazy self around Ireland to golf as many links as he could, and kept a diary (I suppose) along the way. While the idea had me interested, the story itself paid tenfold, and I couldn't keep away from the book. And yes, he does describe the links he plays along the way, but it certainly is only a fraction of the story (really). He may have gone there to golf, but the new world he experienced is really what this tale is about--the beautiful countryside, a different way of life, friendly and inviting people, Irish food, the crazy weather that kept him humble...and even the "bad" that went with it (bleeding feet, rabid dogs, deuce-dropping visitors...). I wish there were more books like this, because I would buy every one of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a simple ready and entertaining throughout. The author did a great job of describing his experiences as he traveled by foot across Ireland. While this is considered a book about golf, it is much more about the people of Ireland. I loved it and would recommend this book to anyone who has been to or wants to travel to Ireland, especially if you love the game of golf.
focusforward More than 1 year ago
I found this book by accident. I realized, after, there was no accident. The timing of finding this book was impeccable...just what I needed to get the laughter started again. There was a daily desire to pick up the book to get another glimpse of Tom Coyne's real experience--which was never without a sense of humor. Who doesn't want to laugh? Coyne also shows how much stamina the human body has contained within itself. Pure enjoyment! This read is in my top five.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking to read a book for abosolutely pure enjoyment which includes an insight into the character of a people and a country, I heartly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very high on my very short list of "Most Entertaining" books. Just imagine if I knew more about golf and Ireland. I've given it as a gift to family and recommended it to my golfing friends.
terjer More than 1 year ago
Great read! The stories and adventures in Ireland were priceless. I almost wish that I were a golfer to experience the beauty of the golf courses in Ireland. This is a wonderful book to give to your favorite golfer.
guinnessluvr More than 1 year ago
An avid, but struggling, golfer (isn't every golfer?) of Irish descent, I found this book to be one that I couldn't put down. I DO think you need to have some love of golf to really enjoy this book to the fullest, but I don't think the Irish heritage is a requirement. Coyne is, simply put, a born storyteller with the ability to make his adventures during his journey vivid and entertaining. I have given at least six copies of A COURSE to friends, all golfers, and they've all been in total agreement. Brilliant writing...you'll want to visit Ireland the next day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an unforgettable mix of humor, history, Irish culture and travel adventure, with golf courses being the connecting threads. Completely enjoyable for any armchair travelers with some appreciation for golf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James Howard More than 1 year ago
Wish I could repeat the walk - but since I won't I'm glad Tom did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago