×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Grand Day To Get Lost
     

A Grand Day To Get Lost

4.4 14
by Kris Radish
 

See All Formats & Editions

A wrong turn down a remote Florida backwoods highway turns into the ride of a lifetime for Emily Weaver, a university librarian, when she mysteriously discovers a manuscript written by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, dated years after the beloved author's death. Emily unwittingly begins a treasure hunt in a world that is as beautiful as it is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Grand Day to Get Lost 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Phyfer More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan since I picked up  "Elegant Gathering of White Snows" years ago.  I have read anything and everything that Kris Radish has written.  I stop people in book stores and put her books in their hands.  Same at used book sales at the Library.  I loan them to everyone with a threat of death if they are not returned.  This book is by far (so far, as I am not finished with " A Grand Day To Get Lost" yet), one of my favorites.You can tell Ms Radish fell in love with Florida herself and now writes about it through those eyes.  I love that all of the characters are alive in my head and as the book lays on my bed I am afraid something will happen before I get back to it and read on.READ THIS BOOK! Your life will be richer because of it.  Trust me.I just finished last night and still loved this book.  One of the review's mentioned that people either love or hate Kris's books.  And I think this may be true. But I for one am on the LOVE side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome,touching, draws you in and keeps you there until the final word
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a thoroughly enjoyable book. It has a unique take on the theme of finding yourself when you don't know you are lost. If I could change anything about the book, I would finish the story. The ending just feels a bit chopped off and leaves you wondering. I think the author probably felt it should be over and squished an artificial and rushed ending in there. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blackiron More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book especially living here in Florida. The author kept me at her side throughout the entire journey of this quest.
anniemichelle More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book One day some years ago I stumbled upon the movie on tv "Cross Creek" seeing that Mary Steenburgen & Peter Coyote were in it, I decide to watch, not really paying attention to who the movie was about until almost the end when I got that it was about the author Marjorie Rawlings. The movie had been in the back of my mind since then until I saw Kris's book and decided I really needed to read it! I like the idea for the book...what if? What if someone just disapeared, dropped off the map for awhile or even forever? Why do it, how to do it, who would help? I love the idea of solitude, unlike most people I get energised by being alone, I tend to recharge. This is just my kind of book to escape and to get lost in. The story is about Emily Weaver who takes a wrong turn one hot summer day down a dusty country road in a Florida bayou and her life is forever changed. She comes upon an old house where there seems to be a sale of some kind going on, she has an encounter with some old boxes that are calling her name, they have a dated manuscript in them from Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings who could not possibly have written it as she was long dead at the time it was written…or was she? Emily meets some colorful, fun and very private people in this small Florida town where it seems the famous and beloved author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings who won the Pulitzer prize for her book "The Yearling" back in 1938 came to live and find some solitude until she died years later in 1953...or did she? Next thing you know Emily is being stalked by an angry man in a red truck, she meets up with a Loud, flambouyant gal named Silver who will become a lifelong friend and this is just the beginning of a wonderful story full of possibilities and what if’s. I had never heard of Kris Radish before (how much do I love her name?) I am very glad that I found her, I will be reading more of her books in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DanaG768 More than 1 year ago
I am totally caught up in this book. The writing style is very easy to read and keeps you in the moment. She will make you feel as if you are there in Florida with all the writers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Historical Fiction Novel
PEGSTONE48 More than 1 year ago
I have yet to read this book or any others by Kris Radish, but the review by Phyfer has compelled me to get Elegant Gathering of White Snows and A Grand Day To Get Lost....I love a book that makes you feel like you are right there in the book so familiar with the characters as if they were real people you actually know. Phyfer's review makes me feel like this author accomplishes just that. I only gave the item a 3 star because I haven't read it yet. Once I read it, I will be back to give it a personal review and rating.