×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins Series #1)
     

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins Series #1)

3.7 64
by Julia Keller
 

See All Formats & Editions

In A Killing in the Hills, a powerful, intricate debut from Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Julia Keller, a mother and a daughter try to do right by a town and each other before it's too late.

What's happening in Acker's Gap, West Virginia? Three elderly men are gunned down over their coffee at a local diner, and seemingly half the town is there to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Killing in the Hills 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had everything.....a great plot, likeable characters, etc. It was a book that kept me interested from beginning to end. Loved it!
chafinwood More than 1 year ago
As a native of the southern coalfields of West Virginia, I was drawn to the title and I was not disappointed. I could not stop reading. The descriptions of the mountains, culture, economics and the people were on target. The coal trucks, road conditions and coal dust added to the reality of the situation. I hope to read more in this series.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
Keller writes a beautiful novel complete with dimensional characters and riveting scenes. I could fell the gentle strength of Belfa and the tenacious hold on Link Fogelsong. Why do people turn to crime is a question with many layers, and Keller addresses several of the reasons in her novel. The people of Acker's Gap are pitiful and wonderful in different degrees. A small community knows all the personal secrets, but individuals lack the gumption for involvement. The only concern rests with the electrician that comes to review his work. I see no relevance in this character other than a love interest in a later novel. I also feel that the emotions between Bell and Carla, and between Bell and her sister are too mellow. Where are the heat and the frustration?
amia More than 1 year ago
Good mystery, lots of plot lines going on, but not so many as to be distracting.  Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down.  Hope to see more of the folks from Ackers Gap!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book! I couldnt put it dowm!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please bn. Cant something be done to plot spoilers like dollycas who give away every detail of the book? Why bother buying the book why rude posters like her reveal every detail? Please ban these hateful posters.
readergirllp More than 1 year ago
I really, really loved this book. I'm glad I chose to read the first one in the series before reading the newest one. This is a great look into amodern day way of dealing with a lot of small town issues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This would have been a much better read had there not been so much foul language. I think a good novel can be written without swearing and cursing.
lindyLW More than 1 year ago
This book was great, kept you reading and not wanting to put the book down. I REALLY enjoyed it and glad she is making a series of it. This author is going to go real far, as she writes a book that keeps your interest and keeps you in suspense
mabsie More than 1 year ago
A really good book!! a page turner in the hills of West Virginia that has everything. The characters are unique and likable - the cultural climate is riviting - the cases are not typical whodunnits - the drug traffic theme seems realistic. I hope. Julia Keller will write more mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This could have been a very good book. The writing was good, the story was good, but the author, a WV native really gave her native state a slap in the face. I'm a native West Virginian, too, and I see beauty in our state; and, healthy, intelligent people. This book depicts the state so stereotypically poor, ignorant, dirty, run down and hopeless with no redeeming qualities. That is lazy writing. I don't recommend this book.
aqua-girl More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend. A good mystery. Hard to put down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For readers who enjoy small towns and mountains. It was interesting and I will read more by this author, if her characters continue to grow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good was not disapointed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good read. Only four stars for langiage. The f word is so not needed to tell a story. Kathy Weekly
1dachsmom More than 1 year ago
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Non-stop suspense, right up until the end. Adding her to my favorite author list.
bayareagirl More than 1 year ago
Boring, over-written, full of trauma drama repetition. Really don't get all the glowing reviews ! Characters are one dimensional and in case you are confused let me tell you again how stubborn and gritty and angry Bell is. Coal trucks and trailers and Chess Rader were the best pages -- but over all not very well honed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Impressive debut. The descriptions sometimes overshadow the action, and if you are paying attention you will figure out the identity of the drug kingpin early on, but this is a solid mystery that keeps your interest. I look forward to reading more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely recommend reading this book. I found it hard to put it down. Was shocked by the "bad guy". Will read more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago