×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Taste for a Mate
     

A Taste for a Mate

4.2 121
by Carrie Ann Ryan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jasper Jamenson's only responsibility to being the Beta of the Redwood Pack, second son of the Alpha, is to protect the Pack from themselves and the human world. After a century of selfless service, his brother's new found mating forced him into taking a good look into his life. He isn't sure he wants a mate, but fate may have other ideas.

Willow Delton is a skinny,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Taste for a Mate 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 121 reviews.
KrystalShannan More than 1 year ago
Carrie Ann Ryan steps up the anti with A Taste for a Mate. With the appearance of a conjured demon, the Redwood pack could be in some serious trouble. Experience Ryan's new and exciting twists in werewolf lore. She takes a darker than usual approach by adding magic and demons to the mix. I wasn't sure how it was all going to come together at first, but I was very pleased with the result. A delightful world of magic and intrigue hidden within our own. The two main characters of the book are Jasper and Willow. I love the fact that Jasper waited seven weeks before asking Willow out on a date. It's so "human" that he was insecure. Both characters grow and change as their story progresses and as a reader I love to see those changes. Ryan brings her story to life with beautifully vivid imagery, witty humor, and lots of sexual tension. Sink your teeth into this exciting and sexy love story. You won't be disappointed.
NiinaCs_Blog More than 1 year ago
Tall, dark and handsome keeps showing up at Mel’s bakery every morning, until one day he finally asks her out. Delighted she expects a wonderful night, instead she gets kidnapped, tortured and near killed and at the very last moment saved by Jasper. And let’s not forget she discovers there are such creatures as werewolves, and they aren’t all nice. Jasper is the Beta of the Redwood Pack, he’s been dying to make a move on Melanie, he knows she’s his mate, but Mel’s human and knows nothing about werewolves or about his Pack, but risking it he finally asks her out. Before he gets to pick her up she’s kidnapped by a rival Pack, The Centrals. Jasper and his brothers do everything they can to save her – with the consequences of having to take Mel to Pack lands to keep her safe, to keep her his. The Central Pack and its sadistic alpha won’t go down easy, they have a plan of their own to get rid of Redwood Pack and their way to do it just happens to lay in Melanie and Jasper and destroying everything they hold dear. No amount of blood, family or morals will stop these wolves from making pack with the devil. Literally. A Taste For A Mate was a great continuation for the Redwood Pack Series! Dark, entertaining and passionate! Carrie Ann Ryan writes like a pro, the text is engaging the reader to react, to feel and to hope. The characters are realistic and the depth of their emotions made this a genuinely interesting read – hoped throughout the book that Melanie and Jasper could get a break and just settle down, and be happy for ever after, but this doesn’t seem to be that sort of series. There is a delicious amount of darkness and truly wicked enemies that made the hairs at the back of my neck rise. I loved the darkness of the events unfolding in contrast to the love blossoming between Mel and Jasper. Jasper had all the characteristics of an alpha, even though he was the Pack’s Beta, powerful, smart and when it came to Melanie, possessive. I can’t help but love the traits of a werewolf hero, all the possessive don’t cross on my turf kind of attitude, the desperation for their mate and their protectiveness and hot bedroom manners! But then there has to be something about the hero that makes him relatable, bit weak and in Jasper’s case that was inability to express himself to Melanie which caused some major drift and trouble, and after that he was even more compelled to show her that he truly loved her. Melanie took to the Pack life like a moth to the flame, she finally had a family and she was so genuine and happy and caring that you could not help but adore her. She had a strong side too but being only human among friendly and not so friendly werewolves, it wasn’t physical. One of the most adorable heroines I’ve read in ages! What I loved about this novel was the time, everything happened snap quick in the beginning and then there were weeks and months between actions – which tribute so well to getting to know the Pack and letting Melanie adjust and bringing everyone to connect deeply. Sometimes the insta-connection is good, but I so enjoyed everyone getting to know each other over months! I loved all the twists in this book! Just when you thought things were settling down and people were happy, wham, the rugs off from underneath your feet and you’re on your ass with a snarling beast before you. Loved it! There wasn’t one boring moment in this book! And the cliffhangers, oh boy I loved those!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think i liked this one even more than the first book. Looking forward to next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased the second book from this author after reading the first (free) novella. Though the first lacked the substance of true character development, there was an interesting basis for plot. Unfortunately, i wish i had saved my money for a fully developed and edited work by a different author. I happen to enjoy self published works and discover wonderful new talent this way. However, the obvious grammatical errors are simply too distracting.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
This is the second in the Redwood Pack series. Carrie Ann Ryan is really coming into her own with this series. I finished the first book which was only about 50 pages and while really good it missed a lot of background (but it was still 4 stars). But this book is longer (about 130) and delves into the background of the family, werewolves and has a storyline beyond meeting a mate. I could explain what happens but really the synopsis does pretty good already. However what it doesn’t say is that in this book we meet The Centrals, another wolf pack, who want to kill the Redwood pack and seem to want to use Willow to lure the family in. Willow is a strong woman who wants to be loved and have a family and she is willing to do anything to make that happen with Jasper. The interesting thing about Jasper is he is not the “perfect” guy... he messes up - boy can that boy mess things up! But the reader never doubt his love for Willow. I enjoyed reading this book more than the first (see my review on “An Alpha’s Path”) not because the first wasn’t good - it really is good - but it is a short story and this one was so much more intense and had a paranormal suspense feel about it. There was no suspense in the first one. Now after reading this book I wish Ryan would go back and add more to her first book because I think it could be so much more. And I can not wait to read the third one “Trinity Bound” because “A Taste For A Mate” leaves you with a cliffhanger!
nursejackie32 More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next in this series :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next book.
MollyzReviewz More than 1 year ago
After reading, and falling in love with, book 1, An Alpha's Mate, I knew I MUST read book 2.And I am SO happy that I did! This series, this author, these characters ALL pull me instantly to the heart of the wolf's den and make me a part of their lives, if just for the length of the novels. This story picks up where An Alpha's Mate leaves off. Though this one if full length where as An Alpha's Mate was not, this story is still incredibly written like book 1. This is Willow and Jasper's story. Both characters are deep and complex, yet vibrant and refreshing. I loved their story and the connection that they instantly had for each was awesome. Jasper Jamenson is the second son of the Redwood Pack's Alpha leader and has been going into Willow's bakery for more than a month, and each day, just by seeing her and being near her, he falls for her a little more. He knows she's his mate, but he's nervous about telling her that. Getting up the nerve to finally ask her out, he's completely unaware of the danger that is surrounding his Willow. Willow Denton is an orphan, who has finally gotten her dream of owning her own bakery. She loves her customers, especially the sexy, gorgeous mystery man who comes to her shop every day to order the same thing. She fantasizes about him when he's not there, so she's super excited when he asks her on a date. But, when he leaves, she, too is unaware of the danger that's around her.....that is, until she's kidnapped by the enemy pack. The hunt for Willow ensues, and Jasper is forced to make her his mate. But, Willow is unsure if he really wanted to make her his mate or if it was because he wanted to protect her and the enemy pack forced him. Determined to prove herself worthy of Jasper and win his love, she's in for a treat when she learns the real reason behind Jasper's mating. This story is full of fun, desperation, hot,passionate, steamy love scenes and one whopper of an ending! Once again, the lives of werewolves have stolen my heart, as Carrie Ann Ryan created another beyond 5 Book worthy novel. She combines all the passion, all the bonds, and the meaning of friendship and family into one incredible book. Bringing back all the characters from book 1, and adding in a few new ones, Ms. Ryan keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with the twists and turns, and keeps them ohhing and ahhing with the amazing, instant chemistry between Jasper and Willow. This is by far, my absolute FAVORITE series, and I can't wait until April when book 3, Trinity Bound, Reed's story releases. This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.
BoxerAlice More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this second book in the series just as much as #1. I was pleased to see a longer book although it is still a nice quick read. Ryan expanded on the characters of the book while allowing you to learn more about the characters she introduced you to in the first one. She also introduced villians in this book and although I feel she leaves you hanging a little with them, I do like where she is going. I hope she expands on this in book #3 as you are left with some confusion regarding their actions. The sex scenes can be a little graphic but this is some what expected with this type of book. She does introduce you to her own version of theories on shape shifters which is nice as you are not left reading a typical shape shifter book with differents names. The shape shifter rules and origins are a different twist. Overall I look forward to reading #3 and watching this new author continue to grow in her writing style. I look forward to continuing to learn about the Redwood Pack's lives and family members and seeing where Ryan's imagination takes us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a Jasper of my own! This book was even better than the first! You got to meet the whole family and now I want to know more about that dark and stormy Maddox! It was hot, dark, suspenseful, romantic, deep and just all around amazing. I'm totally happy I took a chance on this author! Loved it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG this is great. Can't wait to start the next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series!!!!! Jasper and Willow touch your heart!
KahlanMercy More than 1 year ago
Redwood Pack Book Two When Willow is asked out by the guy from her shop, she is thrilled! However, before Jasper can take her to dinner, Willow is kidnapped by a rival pack. Being told that werewolves are real is stressful under normal circumstances. Imagine watching the man who has taken you turning into a wolf right in front of you! After Jasper rescues his mate, she must come to terms with their mating and decide how to continue their relationship. But nefarious forces are at play and the Redwoods will face a new enemy. If you're looking for a werepack to keep you warm at night, this will be it!
Charity1007 More than 1 year ago
WOW!!!! I thought the taste I got from the prequel/book 1 was what made me love the Redwood pack....well after reading book 2 IM IN LOVE!!! I want a redwood alpha for myself please. I literally forgoed all my Mom and wife duties for 2 days cause of this series and I'm not ashamed to say that I didn't care lol What I LOVED about Jasper and Willow was that all thou they had this magnetic attraction to each other from the 1st time they saw each other, Jasper wanted to take his time and let Willow get to know him as a man before he dumped her into his world. Well his good intentions were thrown to the wind when Willow was snatched up and taken away into the evilest part of the Redwood World. Poor willow but fear not Jasper is already hot on her trail and willing to take the "lets take it slow" path right out of it all just to make sure she will no longer be harmed. The one thing that I loved and hated at the same time was how Carrie Ann wrote Willow's pain and confusion thru out this book. I loved that it was written so well that I felt her pain but I hated it cause I wanted to reach into the book and rip out Corbin's (the bad guy) throat with my bare hands. That's how you know a book is well written, when you feel everything that the characters are feeling. I love Willow and Jasper together. I think that they complement each other very well. You get to meet and get to know the other brothers a little bit more in this book which helps you get attached to them and count the days till their books are released. I give A Taste for a Mate 5 stars, I couldn't help but feel everything from this book and that's how you know your reading a 5 star novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed this series, it has a fresh take on a popular theme and she brings the writer into her story from the first page. I have read the first book (this is the second) and will read the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story but difficult to follow at times due to the poor grammar. Incorrect word order, missing words, and poor punctuation caused frequent rereading. Looking for higher level writing skills in future books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BeckeyWhite More than 1 year ago
Another book in the Redwood series, enjoyable an interesting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago