×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Abundance of Katherines
     

An Abundance of Katherines

4.2 432
by John Green
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars 

Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist


Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

An Abundance of Katherines 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 432 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you had the opportunity to devise a theorem that could correctly predict the outcome of a romantic relationship, would you do it? If it worked, would you use it? Can it even be done? This is the problem plaguing Colin Singleton, recent high school graduate, nearly-former child prodigy, hopeful genius. Colin, you see, has a significant problem. He falls in love quite easily, which in and of itself isn't such a bad thing. The fact that all of his loves, nineteen of them to be exact, have been named Katherine can even be explained away by some form of twisted scientific method. What can't be explained, though, is why Colin has been dumped by all nineteen of those Katherines. When he's dumped by the love of his life, Katherine XIX, he finds himself in a bad place. He can no longer call himself a child prodigy, since he's graduated from high school. He's not a genius, because he's never come up with anything that will change the world. There's an empty place inside of him where his latest Katherine's love used to live, and he doesn't know what to do with himself. Until Hassan Harbish (Muslim, but not a terrorist) devises a way to get Colin out of his funk--a road trip. With no destination in mind, the two set off in The Hearse, Colin's car, and go where the road leads them. Where it leads them is a small town called Gutshot, Tennessee, where Colin gets the urge to see the supposed grave of Archduke Franz Ferdinand. It's also where the two meet Lindsey Lee Wells and her mother, Hollis. Not to mention where they get to live in a giant Pepto Bismol-pink house on a hill, interview employees of a factory that makes tampon strings, and eat Monster Thickburgers at the local Hardees. It's also the place where Colin decides to finish the Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability. Assign numerical value to different variables, plot it on a graph, and you'll be able to predict how long a relationship will last--and who will be the dumper, and who will be the dumpee. Except Colin forgot some pertinent information, like chance, and distorted memories, and the fact that love is never predictable. As Colin and Hassan learn a few things about life in the small town of Gutshot, we get to follow their journey of learning to grow up, to make a name for yourself, and how to matter as a person. I loved AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES, even more than Mr. Green's previous book, LOOKING FOR ALASKA. That book won the prestigious Michael L. Printz award, and I won't be surprised if this book is nominated, as well. This story is funny, poignant, and informative. For example, if I hadn't read AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES I would never have known that: 1) Fetor hepaticus is a symptom of late-stage liver failure where your breath literally smells like a rotting corpse. 2) The junior senator from New Hampshire in 1873 was Bainbridge Wadleigh. 3) There is absolutely no scientific proof that drinking eight glasses of water a day will improve your health. 4) Dingleberries can be anagrammed into see inbred girl lie breeds grin leering debris greed be nil, sir be idle re. rings ringside rebel and residing rebel. 5) Nikola Tesla did a lot for electricity before Thomas Edison came along and stole some of his ideas, and he also loved pigeons. 6) I still suck at math. Order this book today. It's great, you'll love it, and you'll actually learn stuff. Three for the price of one!
Millie13 More than 1 year ago
Witty, empathetic, and charming don't even begin to cover the beginning pages of this most enjoyable book. An Abundance of Katherines is the story of a young man named Colin who believes he is no more than a washed-up child prodigy who has been dumped by his girlfriend Katherine - for the nineteenth time. So, in order to recover from his broken heart, he and his Muslim friend, Hassan, decide to take a little roadtrip and wind up in Gutshot, TN where the coming of age story begins. I couldn't put this book down if I tried, and I often reread it just for fun. I can't get enough!
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Green has written a fantastically humorous book. The characters are very real and I found it easy to relate to them. Full of fun, infused with a few questions about mattering, and a whole lot of smart-aleck remarks, I made my friends read this or told them it was very worthwhile. For those with a great sense of humor, I especially recommend it!
Awesomeness1 More than 1 year ago
Heehee, this books was so funny. However predictable it might have been, I loved it. It was refreshing and filled with interesting trivia. The characters were great and memorable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did anyone else think it's funny how Hanks wife's name is katherine and this book is called an abundance of katherines and the main character is a very smart guy just like hank?
KatrinaO More than 1 year ago
A novel on understanding how the brilliant mind works. Though the novel "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time" is way much better, this is still a good read. But Among John Green's works, The Fault in our Stars and Looking for Alaska tops the list.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
If you had the opportunity to devise a theorem that could correctly predict the outcome of a romantic relationship, would you do it? If it worked, would you use it? Can it even be done? This is the problem plaguing Colin Singleton, recent high school graduate, nearly-former child prodigy, hopeful genius. Colin, you see, has a significant problem. He falls in love quite easily, which in and of itself isn't such a bad thing. The fact that all of his loves, nineteen of them to be exact, have been named Katherine can even be explained away by some form of twisted scientific method. What can't be explained, though, is why Colin has been dumped by all nineteen of those Katherines.

When he's dumped by the love of his life, Katherine XIX, he finds himself in a bad place. He can no longer call himself a child prodigy, since he's graduated from high school. He's not a genius, because he's never come up with anything that will change the world. There's an empty place inside of him where his latest Katherine's love used to live, and he doesn't know what to do with himself. Until Hassan Harbish (Muslim, but not a terrorist) devises a way to get Colin out of his funk--a road trip. With no destination in mind, the two set off in The Hearse, Colin's car, and go where the road leads them.

Where it leads them is a small town called Gutshot, Tennessee, where Colin gets the urge to see the supposed grave of Archduke Franz Ferdinand. It's also where the two meet Lindsey Lee Wells and her mother, Hollis. Not to mention where they get to live in a giant Pepto Bismol-pink house on a hill, interview employees of a factory that makes tampon strings, and eat Monster Thickburgers at the local Hardees.

It's also the place where Colin decides to finish the Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability. Assign numerical value to different variables, plot it on a graph, and you'll be able to predict how long a relationship will last--and who will be the dumper, and who will be the dumpee. Except Colin forgot some pertinent information, like chance, and distorted memories, and the fact that love is never predictable. As Colin and Hassan learn a few things about life in the small town of Gutshot, we get to follow their journey of learning to grow up, to make a name for yourself, and how to matter as a person.

I loved AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES, even more than Mr. Green's previous book, LOOKING FOR ALASKA. That book won the prestigious Michael L. Printz award, and I won't be surprised if this book is nominated, as well. This story is funny, poignant, and informative. For example, if I hadn't read AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES I would never have known that:

1) Fetor hepaticus is a symptom of late-stage liver failure where your breath literally smells like a rotting corpse.
2) The junior senator from New Hampshire in 1873 was Bainbridge Wadleigh.
3) There is absolutely no scientific proof that drinking eight glasses of water a day will improve your health.
4) Dingleberries can be anagrammed into see inbred girl; lie breeds grin; leering debris; greed be nil, sir; be idle re. rings; ringside rebel; and residing rebel.
5) Nikola Tesla did a lot for electricity before Thomas Edison came along and stole some of his ideas, and he also loved pigeons.
6) I still suck at math.

Order this book today. It's great, you'll love it, and you'll actually learn stuff. Three for the price of one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
French the llama, i love being a nerd and the amazing literature that comes with being involved with this amazing society. (:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptionally nerdy. DFTBA
Sazielle More than 1 year ago
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, which was published in 2006 had a lot of amazing stuff. The main characters: Colin Singleton, Hassan (Colin's best friend), Lindsey, and TOC (the other Colin) are all a bunch of unique and nearly spunky characters. It starts out with the current situation of Colin Singleton's life. He had almost everything he needed and wanted n life, except for 2 things: being a genius and his 19th ex-girlfriend, Katherine. Hassan, his best friend decides for him a road trip to go on in order for Colin to forget K-19 (Katherine the 19th). However, as they go on their road trip to the east they catch a billboard saying that the Archduke Franz Ferdinand lied resting in peace in "Gutshot", Tennessee. There they meet others, like Lindsey and TOC resulting in love problems and development, cheating, fighting, smart remarks/footnotes, and Eureka moments. The problem Colin faces is with his insight on trying to be a successful genius, being comfortable being dumped for the 19th time, and sticking (or at least trying to) stick up for the girl who he thinks he fell for. One can learn that if one figuratively has a missing piece broken off from inside of them and later received it back it can never fit the whole it left again. However, one can learn to grow a new piece and forgive why the old piece was missing, but never forget it. They can heal over time. John Green uses a lot of jokes through Hassan, using conflicting details and also using remarkable, smart notes and remarks through Colin Dingleton. This book has 228 pages up to the end of the appendix. I recommend it to all people who like to read something of a journey along with romance, comedy and eureka moments. I give this book a 5 star rating!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom and I read this to each other on the seven-hour long ride on the way home from Iowa a few weeks ago, and we were both in stitches laughing so hard! I love John Greene's writing style and subtle (or not) sense of humor. Colin and Hassan, the two main characters, are two teenagers you won't forget.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book about adolescent trials and tribulations is sure to have you in stitches throughout all of the pages. It is simple and heart-warming, and the humor is unmistakingly 18-19 year old boy-esque, but also sophisticated. I read this for a book club, and three of us ladies have taken to using a certain word from this book (you will know it when you read it). Great read- you won't be sorry you picked it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is hard to understand but interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant read anything but the sample! I bought the book twice and i still cant read anything except the sample? MAYBE IM DOING SOMETHING WRONG. But no, I just bought 20$ worth of Katherine! REDICULOUS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I, in all honesty, was disappointed. I read this book for a book report assignment and found myself wishing I had chosen a book with a better plot. I couldn't enjoy the book that much because it has little direction and I felt like the ending tied up no loose ends whatsoever. Aside from all of that, the book wasn't that bad. After all, it is a John Green book. This is just not my favorite. There were parts I laughed out loud at, and parts where I just really appreciated the writing. Although, I couldn't help but notice the similarities between this book, Paper Towns, and Looking For Alaska...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love John Green books and the first (and only other) book of his that i read wasTFiOS. I understand that it sets the bar high, but this book doesnt even seem like his! I am a little less than half way and still have no motivation to read it.This book feels slow paced and just boring. If you still want to read this, it is good for high school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I honestly don't find this book at all interesting. I read TFIOS and Looking for Alaska, and I love John Green. The lanuage was so crazy and the characters were played out too much.  It was totally predictable when Colin and Lindsey get together. I just didn't like it, nor did I understand it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanted to keep going and find out what became of the characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun read, socialogically speaking....if you think about it. Best read in a chapter-a-day fashion to savor the brainy timbits.
Christy Grenier More than 1 year ago
:) you would understand if u are a nerdfighter
MarkieLee More than 1 year ago
I was referred to this book by a friend who said I ablsolutely HAD to read it, so I went to the store and bought it. For me, reading is difficult and it can take me up to months to finish one book, especially if im not interested in it, but Looking For Alaska took me one week exactly to read. I could'nt put it down! I loved this book and it was the first of John Green's i have read, but I plan to read his two others as soon as possible! I recommend this book for any teen who likes a good story in general, it keeps you on the edge of your seat and it really makes you feel like you yourself come to know the characters in the book. I absolutely loved it :)
h2ojustaddwaterrox More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of my favorite books. I thought it was funny, refreshing. don't read it if you are 12 or under. John Green is one of my favorite authors!
Owil More than 1 year ago
While not as powerful as his first novel, "Looking for Alaska", John Green still holds his own in "An Abundance of Katherines" with witty characters and "fugging" interesting footnotes that are sure to make you giggle. This is definitely a book to read when you need a little pick-me-up after a hard day.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I enjoyed this book because it's really about Colin learning to grow as a person and that not everything has an equation for it because sometimes life just happens and there isn't always an exact outcome every time. “All I ever wanted was for her to love me and to do something meaningful with my life…” Hassan is constantly there for Colin throughout the road trip and sort of helps him realize he needs to move on even though it's hard for him. “Kafir, you have a very complicated problem with a very simple solution.” Throughout the book Colin meets someone who ultimately brings him happiness again… and it's not a Katherine. “She stepped out from behind the counter. Short. Skinny. Her face not pretty so much as interesting-looking.” I would recommend this book because like us Colin is growing and learning how to handle life, and heartbreak, and the beautiful things about friendship and enjoying every bit of it. Luckily he has a friend and family he can count on no matter what.