×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Acceptable Risk
     

Acceptable Risk

3.9 31
by Robin Cook
 

See All Formats & Editions

Robin Cook has always been on the cutting edge of the latest medical controversies. In Acceptable Risk, he confronts one of the most provocative issues of our time: personality-altering drugs and the complex moral questions they raise. Neuroscientist Edward Armstrong has managed to isolate a psychotropic drug with a strange and dark history--one that may

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Acceptable Risk 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
The_hibernators More than 1 year ago
Acceptable Risk is part historical mystery and part medical thriller. It is about Kim, a woman who explores her own identity by researching the mystery of her ancestor Elizabeth¿s alleged execution as a witch. Meanwhile, her boyfriend Edward succumbs to the financial allure of high-profile drug development. His research proceeds with supernatural velocity, propelling him and his research team into unethical, and tragic, methods. As a fellow medical scientist, I found the description of drug development a little unsettling and unreal. His eerie successes and failures parallel the dark supernaturalness of the Salem witchcraft trials. In this book, Cook questions the ethics behind development of million-dollar drugs and the safety of casual use of psychoactive drugs. Although the plot was not as fast-paced or eerily believable as some of Cook¿s other books, the historical mystery was a refreshing change from main-stream medical thrillers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting look at Salem Witch histeria. (I still think witch trials were just a way to get rid of uppity women) but this book has a great explaination of what could be the reason and ties it in with developing new drugs and the question of pills foreverything. Love the So a referance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stayed up all night reading this! Well worth it!
MotheroffourMS More than 1 year ago
Robin never disappoints, he always tells a compelling story. Acceptable Risk was a very exciting book that grabbed you from the beginning and held you until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
k62 More than 1 year ago
I found this book a good read but starting losing intrest in it, but still an ok read. not much else to say
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like this book you guys should read it and its hey good book for all ages 15 to 100.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I had seen the made-for-TV movie loosely based on this novel before reading it (though I did not realize that until I actually got into the book) so I sort of knew how it was going to end, but I was not completely disappointed. While somewhat predictable (what, did you think the bad guys were going to get away with it?), Cook still manages to find a new villain and ties the present with the past in a believable fashion. A doctor, he knows what he's talking about but explains it understandably so those with no medical knowledge can follow along. Realistic but exciting, definitely a good read.