×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Accident Man: A Novel
     

The Accident Man: A Novel

3.8 15
by Tom Cain
 

See All Formats & Editions

Breathlessly paced, international in scope, and featuring one of the most intriguing heroes in recent fiction, Tom Cain's smashing debut surprises the reader at every turn. A thriller that explores the secret of Princess Diana's death, The Accident Man imagines the man who may have killed her. For a certain sum of money, Samuel Carver can arrange a death. A

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Accident Man 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you loved The DaVinci Code, you will love this one. The story is so true-to-life, that you almost start thinking it is true! Even the reason someone would want the People's Princess eliminated rang true. This was an excellent read, great story, good characters and of course, exciting European locales. I see this being made into a movie. Let's just hope they don't pick Tom Hanks again to play the lead. You will love this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very intriging. Reminded me of Lee Child's character, Jack Reacher. Please continue this character Samuel Carver, I think your on to something. And don't forget Alix!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love-a-good-thriller More than 1 year ago
Tom Cain's new serial character, Sam Carver, creates 'accidents' to assassinate people--for a price. He pays attention to details, notices everything, and always succeeds. Unless his handler turns on him. This is the story of Sam becoming the hunted, how he uses his unique skill set to avoid his own death, track down his would-be murderers and survive to live another day. Along the line, he finds love and redemption. Overall, a satisfying read with all those little intelligent twists that I love in a story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An interesting concept using the death of Princess Diana. However, Cain seems to have taken much of his background from Barry Eisler, who can really write an astounding assassin novel complete with great character development, exciting tradecraft, and fascinating locale. Let's see if Cain's next book can accomplish those objectives.
jkdsadh More than 1 year ago
this book was awesome and i couldn't stop reading it.. Definitely buy it
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Accident Man, Tom Cain's first novel, provides an interesting plot premise in that on August 31, 1997 a professional assassin is hired to arrange an 'accident' to a man and woman driving below a bridge in Paris. Unknown to the Accident Man the woman is Princess Diana. However, Cain fails miserably in his ability to create credible characters and dialogue. I can't remember the last book I read when the characters were so stick-like and cartoonish and the dialogue was so unrealistic. As a thriller lover, I usually can overlook most writing flaws as long as the plot execution is satisfying. This, for me, was not the case as the plot was very predictable with almost no surprises. Sad to say, the biggest thrill for me was when I finally finished this highly disappointing book. Do yourself a big favor and skip The Accident Man.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1997 free lance assassin Samuel Carver receives money and instructions to perform a hit on a dangerous terrorist that must look like an accident. On the night of 31 August he sets up his operation to occur in a Paris tunnel. A speeding black Mercedes enters the tunnel only to have the driver seemingly lose control and crash into a supporting pillar. A passenger dies in the wreckage. Tom feels good not because of mission accomplished but a nasty killer is dead. However, his euphoria ends immediately when a Russian assassin tries to kill him. He escapes barely even as he knows those who hired him wanted him dead, but cannot fathom why until he learns the identity of the deadly terrorist he killed. Samuel murdered Princess Diana. Stunned by the set up and feeling remorse, he also knows they will keep coming after him to silence him because an accident not a homicide must be the official finding in the death of the Princess. Carver realizes how difficult it will prove to find out who wanted Diana dead and him out of the way as he works for several espionage agencies, but though they will cover their aholes, he vows to find and kill the mastermind. --- This is a fascinating concept that works due to the lead protagonist who in spite of his occupation as a hit man feels remorse once he realizes who he killed he only goes after killers. The story line is at its best when Samuel struggles with his efforts to investigate the top espionage agencies who hire him. A romantic subplot between the hit man and a Russian operative seems out of place, as the hero has enough to contend with. Still thriller readers will appreciate the exhilarating THE ACCIDENT MAN. --- Harriet Klausner