×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Accidental Goddess
     

An Accidental Goddess

4.2 28
by Linnea Sinclair
 

See All Formats & Editions

Raheiran Special Forces captain Gillaine Davré has just woken up in some unknown space way station, wondering where the last three hundred years have gone. The last thing she remembers is her ship being attacked. Now it seems that while she was time-traveling, she was ordained a goddess…. Gillaine’s only hope of survival rests with dangerously

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Accidental Goddess 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
grisaille More than 1 year ago
there are also quite a few plot elements which are never fully addressed (why doesn't Gillaine call home? what happens to the characters who disappear before the end of thebook? and so on). The characters were a lot of fun, but Sinclair drops the reader a little *too* abruptly in media res. A prologue would have helped tremendously. The religious elements were great, as they are so rare in science fiction, and added a lot to this fictional universe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not a fantasy reader, as it just doesn't do much for me. However, An Accidental Goddess put just the right combination of science an magic together, leaving behind the middle ages clones of culture. This was a very likable read with very likable characters. The parrots were great. I'm off to try some more of this author's books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Captain Gillaine Davré regained consciousness in a strange sick bay. The last thing she could recall was having combat with the Fav'lhir in Riftspace. She soon learned that she and her sentient crystal-ship named Simon had been catapulted forward in time 342 years. After absorbing that shocking blow more quickly follow. History believed Gillie had died, sacrificing herself, in that battle to save the Khalaran race. She had been immortalized as the Goddess Kiasidira! ................... Admiral Rynan 'Mack' Makarian commanded the space station Cirrus One and was dead of the critical Rim Gate Project. He soon realized Gillie was his destiny, his soulmate. He knew Gillie kept many secrets, by omissions, from everyone and that miracles often happened whenever she was around, but he was positive she would reveal all sooner or later. .................... Gillie kept her true identity and Raheiran abilities a close secret. To reveal the truth would destroy the Khalaran society that had already raised generations on her little aphorisms. But when the Fav'lhir attack, after being silent over 300 years, Gillie must find a way to save the Khalaran race all over again! There was simply not enough bottles of Devil's Breath in the station's bars to help her get through it all! ................ ***** Simon is short for 'Sentient Integrated MObile Nanoessence'. Via telepathy, one of several abilities she has, Gillie and Simon communicate. As you can see, most of this novel is Sci-Fi. However, the author makes the story more intriguing by adding several touches of Fantasy elements such as a mageline sorceress and a touch of spacestation romance. It all blends together to make an awesome drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat and holding your breath! BRAVA! *****
MiddleagedSFfan More than 1 year ago
I love Linnea Sinclair and I liked this book. Just reread it for the 2nd or 3rd time and found it just as entertaining as the first.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a quick and fun read that was, forgive the pun, magic.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When Raheiran Captain Gillaine Davré regains consciousness in a sick bay she knows that is not a new occurrence. However, her Sentient Integrated Mobile Nanoessence space ship, Simon, informs her that three hundred forty-two years and sixteen hours have passed since her last conscious memory of fighting the Fav'lhir. Another shocker surfaces when she learns everyone believes she sacrificed herself to save the Khalarans from certain defeat at the hands of the Fav'lhir and honored for her sacrifice by naming her the Goddess Kiasidira. Drinking Devil's Breath does not make anything easier for her as she realizes she must hide who she is because society has constructed key elements focused on the Goddess Kiasidira. --- Cirrus One Space Station Commander Admiral Rynan ¿Mack¿ Makarian knows that his ¿guest¿ Gillaine hides secrets from him. He also realizes that Gillaine, who is at best a smuggler and at worst working for the enemy, is his soulmate that he has waited to love for over four decades. Mack assumes she feels the same way and expects her to reveal the truth eventually, hopefully sooner than later. Everything comes to a head between them when the Fav'lhir attacks for the first time in three hundred plus years. --- Outer space fans will treasure this fast-paced science fiction thriller that starts with a bewildered heroine struggling with the exaggeration of her death. From that opening mental chat with Simon, fans are hooked to accompany Gillie on her efforts to initially buy time for repairs to Simon but ultimately lead the fight. Mack adds a fine supporting romantic subplot that provides additional tension to the star who feels so much stress that drinking Devil¿s Breath only gives her headaches. Readers will agree that this is a FINDERS KEEPERS tale. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author pulls you in and keeps you in the world created. I cared about the characters and would happily revisit them again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silly season of sci fi seems widespread in the under 2.99 lately as the less weighty tomes bob to the top to be skimmed off
TheEngineer More than 1 year ago
Although Lin is knows for Romantic Writing in SciFi, I find her stories to be extreamely creative. The romatinic part is not hugely different from many "typical" SciFi or other fiction books, so that should not be a turn-off for those not inclined to read romantic-toned books. I greatly enjoy her writing style that pretty snappy (i.e., it doesn't droll on with endless details). I read several other of her books as well and they were all good enough for me to want to go back and buy some more. I'm looking forward to new releases. I'm an avid ScFi reader for about 40 years and I consider her books comparable to the best of what I have read during my many decades or reading. Nice job Lin!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago