×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Act of War (Jason Richter Series #1)
     

Act of War (Jason Richter Series #1)

3.4 29
by Dale Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

Near Houston, Texas, an oil refinery belonging to one of the world's largest energy companies is obliterated by a "backpack" nuclear device—the first of many planned global attacks against corporations and government organizations accused of plundering the world's natural resources. A horrific act of war has been perpetrated against the U.S. and her interests

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Act of War (Jason Richter Series #1) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Jessica Creed More than 1 year ago
Action is good. Love the cids! Definitely not mclanahan but very enjoyable. Would like more on the miltary tactics and firefights. My biggest complaint, how many languages do i need to know to keep from skipping pages? Russian? Spanish? I am addicted to tech stuff and blowing stuff up and all that so how about a little more of that. Richter is cool, kinda. Last request, tone down the sex scenes, save them for the movie, reading about the south american gamma agent boning his pygmy indian wife while she breastfed their baby was a little ummm, eww.
LLSCA More than 1 year ago
Wish Barnes Noble would clearly ID the books sequence as published for all series, please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dale Brown make you feel like you are included in the story. He does a lot of work before he sit down a writes a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite a bit of action. Not bad but slipping from original series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heri Larios More than 1 year ago
The book manages to combine all the things I like in a story: action, comedy, life-like situations, terror (terrorist terror), and romance. THIS BOOK HAS BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an entertaining read but it is not Dale Brown's best book. I would like to see a connection to the Dreamland group he so often writes about so that the two special units are more integrated in saving the world.....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Terrorists strike an America oil refinery with a small nuclear bomb. In steps Major Jason Richter, Army nerd extraordinaire, with his super CID exoskeleton. The hero of the hour saves a busload of kids, along with a beautiful reporter, and promptly gets placed on the newest war-on-terror team. The team starts to tackle the terrorist group responsible, but the team seems to be set up for failure with conflicting personalities and egos. The battles rage on around the globe, as Major Richter tries to pull the team together, find the mastermind behind the plots, and save his country from another disastrous attack. Techno, yes thriller, no. This book started out with promise and I really wanted to like it. But after the introduction of the major characters and gadgets, it quickly becomes cliched and predictable. The nifty new weapons systems would play much better with believable characters and a realistic plot. The pacing is fast, but the many twists and turns feel forced. Dale Brown is perfectly capable of writing exciting techno-thriller books with good characters ¿ but this is not one of them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found 'Act of War' by Dale Brown to be a very disappointing read. Generally, when I begin a book I will stick it out and finish it. This was the first book, in some time, that I almost gave up on before I finished one quarter of the novel. What was most glaring to me was the improbable traits of the leading character Jason Richter. Here we have an adolescent major (24 years old if my memory serves me correctly) in the army whose behavior would get anybody in the 'real life' service court martialed quickly. In addition, the plot was highly dubious as well. In short, it was very, very difficult to develop any degree of comfort with the premise of this novel. I am an avid reader and enjoy the works of many different authors particularly with respect to mysteries and thrillers. This has been the worst novel I have encountered in the past two years.