×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Addie on the Inside
     

Addie on the Inside

4.0 20
by James Howe
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this “artfully crafted” (Publishers Weekly) companion to the bestselling The Misfits and Totally Joe, Addie Carle confronts labels, loss, and what it means to grow up.

The Gang of Five is back in this third story from Paintbrush Falls. Addie Carle, the only girl in the group of friends is outspoken, opinionated, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Addie on the Inside 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
skstiles612 More than 1 year ago
I loved the way this was written in chunks in verse. This is one of those books every teacher needs to have on their shelves. The book is a great look at middle school life and how students bully each other without thinking they are bullying. It is a great look at how words hurt and how one student, Addie, copes with it. I loved Addie's character. She starts off sounding as if she has a shell built around her and doesn't care what others think about her. Slowly the layers are peeled away so that we can see her true heart. This should be mandatory reading for all students.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is written in verse, which if students haven't been introduced to may seem odd to them. However this is a great read for 7th grade and up. It is about the life of a 7th grade girl and the struggles young girls go through with boys, friends, bullies, ect.... I would certainly use this at the beginning of the year to discuss bullies and other life changing events for kids this age. What sometimes seems so dramatic in their world is usually not all that bad if they talk it out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book. Addie (the main charactor) is a brilliant young lady who is on the un-popular side. She's hiding in her own little corner for most of the book but in the end, opens up to the world, one step at a time. This book has a great way of showing how you can use poetry in an amazing way. A great book for teens and preteens but not for children. This book does have some bad words and boyfriend/girlfriend related content that younger kids don't need to read about. Overall, this book should be on everyone's bookshelves. A great book full of every type of emption/feeling.
l_manning More than 1 year ago
Told through poetry, Addie on the Inside is all about Addie Carle, a young woman on a mission to make the world a better place. She's having to deal with a lot of stuff- lack of development physically, overabundant development mentally, first boyfriend, fitting in socially, and so many other things. By the end of the book, some things have drastically changed for Addie. However, nothing will ever change her sense of justice and desire to do some good for the world. I love that authors are experimenting for young adults and writing in verse. It's a great way to show that self expression can be done in many different ways. That being said, I'm not sure this book was entirely successful. It was a bit difficult to get into the story. Of course, I have not read any of the other books with these characters that preceeded this one, so that may have been part of the problem. Sometimes I felt like Addie didn't read like a girl to me, and to be honest there were times I didnt' really like her at all. I understand her need to champion the causes she believed it, but at times she came across as rather pretentious. Addie did seem to soften up some as the book went on, so I began to like her much better towards the end. I guess there were just too many hard edges on her at the beginning of the book. I think is a good book for teens who are activists looking for a kindred spirit. They will certainly find much to admire and possibly emulate. I appreciate the author's experimentation using verse to help get to know Addie better, and as things changed for Addie she because a character I had much more sympathy for her. There are probably a lot of people who will feel really moved by Addie's story, I just wasn't one of them. Galley provided by publisher for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
&lion
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample was basically nothing but the prologue which was only a dumb poem, not dumb but said nothing about the main idea of Addie on the inside.How will I know if I'd even like this book it should've given at least the first chapter............:-( :-( :-( :-( BRUH really
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started the series as a book for my school's book club. Now that I've finished, I don't know what to do! I highly recommend this book for anybody looking for one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a really good book because, it was entertaining and, even though it was a poem, made sense. I liked it because it was sometimes funny, plus you can really feel the character when you read. It is really good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whenever i tap on a book it never lets me read? Does anybody know how to make it stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book the last poem in the book was the best it was called i am who i say i am. my second fav is the omg chours
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi my name is Addie! My birthday was yesterday!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about Addie, the last one was about Joe and the first book was about Bobby. When does Skeezie come in? He's my favorite character!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love you one direction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom got this for me at the library. It looked really good! But then i found out that it wasap arranged in poems! I really dont like poetry, so i gave it to my mom to return. I-luv-taylor-lautner-and-am-going-to-marry-him-so-back-off Mrs.-Lautner-wannabes-he's-mine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it, mostly cause it has my nick name in it. I toats know this review isn't any help.