×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps
     

Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps

3.9 17
by Kelly Williams Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

If you graduated from college but still feel like a student . . . if you wear a business suit to job interviews but pajamas to the grocery store . . . if you have your own apartment but no idea how to cook or clean . . . it's OK. But it doesn't have to be this way.
Just because you don't feel like an adult doesn't mean

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
BethanyL More than 1 year ago
I really wish this book had been around when I graduated from college and that someone had bought it for me and said, “Here. This will help.” Because, seriously, Adulting would have been a god-send to 22-year-old me. Hell, it was helpful for 26-year-old me. Though it shouldn’t necessarily be treated as a survival guide or a Bible or a the one-and-only book you consult when you need advice, Adulting is a great reference to have for everything from simple recipes to networking to being taken seriously at work to maintaining meaningful adult relationships. Hint: a lot of it comes down to being thoughtful and conscientious and writing thank you cards. Even though this book isn’t revolutionary and the advice inside isn’t anything new, it’s a really great starting place for young women (and men! Men could like this!) who have questions on how to operate as “adults.” The voice is young, fresh, understanding, and—I can’t stress this enough—funny. For real, Kelly Williams Brown is hilarious. If nothing else, read it because it will make you laugh. And! There are amusing illustrations! Now I’m going to buy lots of copies of this so I can hand them out to people when they come to my apartment. Parting gifts = advanced adulting, right?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really a wonderful book for every lady from 18-30. Its keeps you reading. She is so witty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your time with this one. Most of it is extremely basic stuff and the writing isn't that great and coming from someone who reads basically everything it is definitely not good in any way. It barely even deserves one star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Helped me figure out what I need/want and don't need/want. Would recommend to any twenty something for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I was really disappointed by this novel (err…self-help book?) for people who are “stuck in my college days”, as I just graduated feeling a little overwhelmed.  I picked it up at my nearest B&N and noticed it was recommend by the staff. I flipped through it, read something about mean people being jellyfish and thought sounds funny I'll give it a shot. I quickly realized it's literally 486 steps on how to “adult” or translation…how to take care of yourself without mommy, daddy and the university.  Sure it's witty writing but if you already know to pay your bills on time, clean and buy TP in bulk then you should save your money and call your mother for more advice. Definitely want my money back. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KDH_Reviews More than 1 year ago
A couple of months ago, I was flipping through Cosmo and spotted this book. I immediately wanted to read it. Yes, by all accounts of the word, I am an adult. I’m in my mid-twenties, I am married, I pay bills, and do mundane things like grocery shopping and making appointments with doctors. But yet… I rarely feel like an adult. I’ve read articles before on the internet that many people of my generation feel the exact same way. And it makes sense. Folks are living with their parents longer (college, sucky economy), it’s hard to find a job, people are waiting longer to be in a committed relationship/get married, etc. Still, no matter how many other people feel the same way, it’s hard to *be* an adult and yet not *feel* like one. While the advice in this book isn’t new or revolutionary by any means, it was still worth reading. Thrown into the stuff I already know (which is probably around 95% of the book), there were a few things that I didn’t know and probably should. The advice was mixed with some humor and it definitely made for a fun and readable book. Normally, I avoid any and all self-help type books, but this one was too good to pass up. I’m really glad I read it. Be sure to check out all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Next time, we should have it at the clubhouse! I would say Rainbow Dash's house but it's in the clouds... we would never get up there...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a funny, helpful book. You probably already know some of it. It's a great present for adult milestones, especially college graduation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a stupid and insipid book. It points out the common sense AND the obvious. Save your money. I want mine back.