×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

After the Rain
     

After the Rain

4.4 45
by Karen White
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author of the Tradd Street novels comes the sequel to Falling Home, a novel set in the picaresque town of Walton, Georgia, where one woman is about to discover that the best journey is the one that brings you home.…

Freelance photographer Suzanne Paris has been on her own since she was

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

After the Rain 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
chica12345 More than 1 year ago
Please.....just review the book....not tell the whole story....also...don''t use this area as an e-mail site. Not classy at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Suzanne Paris is on the run, her ex fiancé Anthony deSalvo making her life miserable, when she makes a snap decision to get off her Atlanta bound bus in Walton, Georgia. Trying to find a ride into town, she encounters mayor Joe Warner, his 6 kids along with Aunt Lucinda, who insist she accompany them. Walton is a small town, not even boasting a hotel, so Joe finds a place for Suzanne to stay, and unknowingly ensconces her into his, and his family¿s life. Suzanne is unfamiliar with children, but Joe¿s kids seem to grow on her as she does them. Joe, being the mayor, teacher and single dad, doesn¿t have much time left for relationships, and really hasn¿t considered once since his wife passed away. But as the story progresses, he and Suzanne have something going on between them that can¿t be ignored, and with the help of the kids and huge cast of secondary characters, manage to snag time for themselves. Suzanne knows the day will come when her past will catch up with her and she will have to move on, but this is made more difficult as Joe and half the population of Walton entwine themselves around her heart. As Joe and Suzanne chip away at the armor surrounding their souls, and the local bully running against Joe for mayor try to make things more difficult for them, the reader can only hope that they get what they deserve in life, that being each other. This is an exceptional book!
cparker06 More than 1 year ago
I read this as well as the prequel falling home...both books are wonderful!! They make you feel like you are part of the story. You really get to know and love all the characters!
ZachsMomma More than 1 year ago
Very well written and an excellent summer read. White keeps the characters from Falling Home just as vivid in the follow-up as the first one. The type-o's are a little unnerving, but as long as you can see past that, you are in for a treat.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
As soon as I finished Karen White's novel, Falling Home, I picked up After The Rain. I could not wait to continue the story. Unfortunately, I was somewhat disappointed. Don't get me wrong, this is still a good book but not as good as Falling Home. Part of me really wanted Sam and Cassie's story to continue, and in a way it did, it just was not the focus of this novel. After The Rain picks up three years after Harriet's death. Joe is trying to pick up the pieces for not only him but also for his six children. This story can be heartbreaking at times but also hopeful. Life does go on for the living. Ms. Lena cracks me up with her romance novels and her comments on sex, as only any 80 something woman could do. Hilarious at times, you just laugh out loud. I found that this book was sometimes repetitive and lost a bit of its luster for me but all in all I did like the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love following the story after it "ends" and this was no exception. I'm hooked on Karen White's manner of writing. I'm always thrilled when the writer matures her characters, empowers her protagonist and shares the growing pains, especially of families and siblings over the years.
baePA More than 1 year ago
Karen White is one of my favorite authors and this, in my opinion is one of her best books. She is best at her love stories and she shines in this one.
wiscnd More than 1 year ago
Wish the book was longer. It was such a wonderful family to get to know
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Favorite author ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual Karen never disappoints! After reading Falling Home, set in Walton, GA with some special characters, could not wait to return to catch up with the small town cast (Cassie and more). After the rain is also set in Walton, GA with the main character of Suzanne, a photographer from Chicago is passing thru Georgia and lands in Walton on the bus. Suzanne is running away from her past and secrets. She thinks she will be able to hideout her; however, anything but as this town embraces her. Needing a mother of her own, she meets all sorts of mother figures and some she can be a mother to as well. Of course, she meets Joe, a mayor and a school teacher whose wife died 3 yrs ago and raising six children with an eccentric aunt (loved this character). As Suzanne only anticipates staying for a short visit, falls in love and finally learns the meaning of home. She befriends Maddie, Joe’s teenage daughter; however, in the process some secrets come out which can cause all sorts of issues for everyone. The book was well-written, funny, loveable, and true to life….makes you want to go back to small town living! Looking forward to reading Karen’s next book – “The Time Between” June 2013.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, that's amazing! Continue!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing! Write more! So good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goood make more +(Lyra)+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CHAPTER ONE: Autumnkit leaped at the snow dancing in the sky. It was her first leaf-fall, and therefore, she and her littermates had never seen snow before. A tiny, glittering snowflake landed on Autumnkit's nose. She crossed her eyes, trying to see it better. "Look! It likes me!" she called happily. Stormpaw, an apprentice parcticing his battle moves on the other side of camp, scoffed. "Snow doesn't have feelings, mouse-brain," he meowed. Autumnkit looked at him, aner flaring quickly in her green eyes. Usually, she was kind, but she also had a fiery temper that was quick to catch aflame. "And neither do you," she retorted. Stormpaw rolled his eyes. "Oh, that's cold. I bet you couldn't think of anything better." Autumnkit was about to leap at him, claws unsheathed, when her mother cuffed her over the ear. "Be nice," Sunflight warned. Autumnkit huffed. "Fine," she grumbled, watching Stormpaw out if the corner of her eyes. He was talking to his sister, Softpaw, now. Fortunately, Softpaw seemed to have inherited all the nice traits, while Stormpaw had the mean ones. Stormpaw caught her staring at him and rolled his eyes again, leaning over to whisper in Softpaw's ear. Softpaw cuffed him on the head. Autumnkit snorted and turned away, padding toward her littermates, Moosekit and Risingkit. "Stormpaw's such a mouse-bran," she huffed to her brothers. They both nodded. "Yeah, I hatd him. He made fun of Fernkit yesterday," Risingkit added. Everyone knew that Risingkit had a huge crush on Fernkit. Moosekit opened his mouth to say something just as a warrior named Redfang bursed into camp, breathless, yowling, "Badger attack!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago