×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away
     

After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away

4.6 18
by Joyce Carol Oates
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the raw was how the world felt now. My feelings were raw, my thoughts were raw and hurtful like knife blades. . . . In the blue had been my place to hide, now In the raw there was nowhere to hide.

Jenna Abbott separates her life into two categories: before the wreck and after the wreck. Before the wreck, she was leading a normal life with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
casey_rice_2ndEnglish More than 1 year ago
This book is about a young girl that goes through a lot of things that many teenagers go through today. I can relate to this book a lot because the things that happened in the book happen every day in real life. At the beginning of the book I was a little confused about some of the phrases the author used. But later on I started to understand a lot better. It made more since when I really got into the book. I deffinitely enjoyed this book. It's one of those books that you just don't want to put down. It is full of drama and action. There was alwaus something different and exciting happening. I felt bad for the girl because the power of guilt got the best of her and turned her life upside down. She didn't deserve to lose her mother. Things like that just happen sometimes and nobody knows why. You can't blame yourself and Jenna didn't understand that it wasn't her fault. I was hoping the whole time that she would stop blaming herself for something that she had no control over. I was very glad when she found a friend that could help her get through her problems and to help her let go or her guilt. I would have changed the ending of this book because I thought that if Jenna was with the person that she loved that it would help her. But it turned out she didn't need to be in love or have a man to rely on to get her to move on with her life. Sometimes going it alone and going the long way is better in the end. Guilt is a terrible thing to have in your life. It can weigh you down and make you a miserable person. I think that if someone that had a lot of guilt in their heart, read this book that it would help them tremendously. Nobody deserves to die and nobody deserves to lose someone that is so close to them but it isn't in our hands. You just have to make the best out of it or it will get the best of you. Becuase, as I saw in the book, the guilt can push you to do many things that you wouldn't have normally done if you didn't have the guilt in your life. Drugs and aocohol are never the answer to solving anything.
autumnh_2nd_English More than 1 year ago
This book is like other books you read, very boring till you turn the page. This book is also very realistic and it had a great impact on my life. It made me realize that the same thing could happen to me any moment. My mom means everything to me and it would kill me if I lost her. Anyways, once you get past the first couple chapters you get a good feel of it then you will enjoy it. The ending didn't turn out the way I had planned but it made me realize that not every ones life has a perfect ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
destinyh_4thenglish More than 1 year ago
this is a book about a teen girl that has to make tough choices in her life.It also explains how her life is so perfect until one day its all taken away from her.she and her mom were in a wreck, and she lost her mom.she didnt have much to do with her dad and after the wreck her dad wanted everything in the world to do with her. she started hanging with people that were a bad infulence on her. at the end she realized thatshe was lied to by her friend.I recommend this book to young teenagers. It will really change the way you thing about things.
S_Peterson4thEnglish More than 1 year ago
This book was so realistic! Everything about the book was great, but I do wish it had more detailed writing in it. Although, in the writing you could feel her emotions, I could tell when she was happy, mad, upset, etc. I would definately recommend this to the older teens; any older teen can relate to the peer pressure, the emotions, etc. I wouldn't recommend it to the younger teens, it has a lot of reference to drugs, alcohol, and sex. Other than that, this was a very good book. This book will also make you think about driving a little slower and pay more attention to the road. Your life can be taken away in a blink of an eye. It expresses the life of a teenager, Jenna, of whom loses her mother in a car accident. Jenna sufferes minor injuries including a concussion. From which she suffers some memory loss. After her mother died, she went to live with her aunt and uncle. She starts a brand new school, and has to make new friends. She likes to run, run, run. While she is running one day, she meets Crow. He helps her to overcome her fear of going over bridges. She seems to fall for Crow, but towards the end of the story we find out a huge secret about him. Jenna and Trina becomes friends and gets her hooked on drugs and alcohol. Jenna ends up overdosing and having to get her stomach pumped. They went to party and Trina ends up getting raped and everyone wants Jenna to testify against the guys that did it... She was also walking home from school one day and the guys that did that to Trina tried to beat her up, but Crow came to the rescue. Jenna's life has been turned around, can she revive it?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I really like the realism that the book showes. One moment Jenna is with her mom driving, the other she is in a hospital bed and later to her aunt and uncles house, finding herself being drawn toward the wrong crowd and her new school.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Joyce Carol Oates's new book for teens has a long title and it really does sort of give away the ending. Although, the ending is probably not the most important, rather the journey and its twists and turns.

Jenna is in a tragic accident with her mother on the Tappan Zee Bridge. Her mother and the driver of the other car are killed, leaving Jenna a survivor, but at what cost? The circumstances of the accident are unclear. What Jenna does remember leads her to believe she might have been responsible.

As Jenna struggles to recover from her injuries, she lives in a drug-induced haze. Her father, who remarried years ago, has a new family. Jenna certainly doesn't feel welcome in his home, so she's told she will be living with an aunt and uncle. Her mother's house is sold and her new home comes complete with two cousins, a new school, and the sometimes nosey concern of a small town.

Attempting to cope with new surroundings and the death of her mother sends Jenna into a tailspin of emotions. She meets new friends, but gravitates to those who help her forget with pills and alcohol. An accidental overdose lands Jenna in the emergency room and under the care of a therapist. Despite the care and concern of her caregivers, her life continues to spin out of control.

Finally there is the arrival of Crow with his dark and mysterious side. Jenna finds she can talk to Crow about things she can't say to anyone else. Does he care about her? Does he have the answers to get her back on track?

AFTER THE WRECK, I PICKED MYSELF UP, SPREAD MY WINGS, AND FLEW AWAY captured me right from the start. Jenna's struggle felt authentic and true. I was touched by her pain and sensitive to her attempts to move on, only to drift back into confusion. Oates definitely outdoes herself with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I do not recommend it for kids, but it was awesome. I do not read this type of book often, but I loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i must say..this is one of my favorite books of all time! Oates flawlessly captures the true essence of the teenage voice, i recommend this book all the wayy
Guest More than 1 year ago
Joyce Carol Oates¿s new book for teens has a long title and it really does sort of give away the ending. Although, the ending is probably not the most important, rather the journey and its twists and turns. Jenna is in a tragic accident with her mother on the Tappan Zee Bridge. Her mother and the driver of the other car are killed, leaving Jenna a survivor, but at what cost? The circumstances of the accident are unclear. What Jenna does remember leads her to believe she might have been responsible. As Jenna struggles to recover from her injuries, she lives in a drug-induced haze. Her father, who remarried years ago, has a new family. Jenna certainly doesn¿t feel welcome in his home, so she¿s told she will be living with an aunt and uncle. Her mother¿s house is sold and her new home comes complete with two cousins, a new school, and the sometimes nosey concern of a small town. Attempting to cope with new surroundings and the death of her mother sends Jenna into a tailspin of emotions. She meets new friends, but gravitates to those who help her forget with pills and alcohol. An accidental overdose lands Jenna in the emergency room and under the care of a therapist. Despite the care and concern of her caregivers, her life continues to spin out of control. Finally there is the arrival of Crow with his dark and mysterious side. Jenna finds she can talk to Crow about things she can¿t say to anyone else. Does he care about her? Does he have the answers to get her back on track? AFTER THE WRECK, I PICKED MYSELF UP, SPREAD MY WINGS, AND FLEW AWAY captured me right from the start. Jenna¿s struggle felt authentic and true. I was touched by her pain and sensitive to her attempts to move on, only to drift back into confusion. Oates definitely outdoes herself with this one. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was truly touching. The author did an amazing job at reaching The characters inner feelings. This book was by far my most favorite of all times. The book is especially for anyone who is really coping with loss or just in a rough time in their life at the moment. I'd recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!:]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rrtn
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a girl whos struggling to forget the memories of the wreck.a boy named crow will help her confront those fears and help her to fly away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How was it on a scale of 1-10 ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book from srart to finish. All of the roadblocks in her way made the story captivating and motivating! I would definetely reccomend!