×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Afternoon of the Elves
     

Afternoon of the Elves

4.1 16
by Janet Taylor Lisle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Will Hillary uncover the secret of the elf village in Sara-Kate’s backyard?

No fourth grader trusts Sara-Kate Connolly. Her boots are dirty, her clothes are weird, and she’s so maladjusted that the school had to hold her back a grade. But Hillary is her next-door neighbor, and can’t say no when the unusual loner invites her over

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Afternoon of the Elves 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! My school had me read it for reading and I really enjoyed it. PLEASE READ!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Afternoon of the Elves was a great book. This book taught me that you should always like others for who they are not how they look. This book, I would recomend to other people so they can see what this book is all about. I hope many people will read Afternoon of the Elves.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It taught me a lesson about friendship. I love intrigue, and Ms. Lisle Taylor knows exactly how put it in a creative novel like this. I know books, and I know it deserves your read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very imaginative and charming. I loved it. I own it. Read it a long time ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lulu4me More than 1 year ago
This book was a bit odd at times but I enjoyed it very much when I read it in the 4th grade. Not the best but worth a read if you're maybe 5th grade and lower.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book aloud every night to my 11 year old daughter. It took us three evenings, and I really enjoyed it. I am a bit suprised that it is rated by the AR program for 5th grade reading level...it seemed a bit advanced. The story was interesting and it was basically one of those books you hate to put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved it,a true classic. Janet Taylor Lisle has never let us down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's quite a good book. It's lesson in learning. Even though, it doesn't really talk about elves. It's about a bond of two girls' friendship. It's a good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for a book report. It was a very imagitive. I suggest this book to evryone that will listen. It is a excellent book. Read it if you have the time
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very interesting, I am a 10 year old girl and very much so enjoyed it. It only took me about 2 hrs. to read. It couldnt put it down, I kept on trying to predict the outcome of the book, but it is impossible the ending was quite unexpected. I think anyone of any age would love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Afternoon of the elves is an imaginative book about two girls and an unbelievable elf village. It tells how Hillary tries to make a friendship with Sara-Kate. Although Sara-Kate is a little short tempered. She invites Hillary to her tattered house. When Sara-Kate shows Hillary her backyard she is utterly surprised. Elves? She could see tiny houses scattered throughout her yard. Since Sara-Kate has a bad reputation more rumors start spreading. Try reading this outstanding book and find out what happens to Hillary and Sara-Kate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will have to say that this book has Harry Potter tied. It's about a fourth grader, Hillary, and a leftback fith grader, sara-kate joinging friendship. At first sara-kate seemed rude, strange, and a bad kid, but Hillary finds the best friend inside of that tuff sara-kate. Hillary also finds out about if the elves are real, why doese sara-kate act like one, why doesn't she see sara-kate's mother, and where is sara-kate's dad? Hillary also does a big mistake which could lead sara-kate other then her run down home.