×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Age of Reason
     

The Age of Reason

4.0 50
by Thomas Paine
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Of all the tyrannies that affect mankind, tyranny in religion is the worst," declared Thomas Paine, adding, "every other species of tyranny is limited to the world we live in; but this attempts to stride beyond the grave, and seeks to pursue us into eternity." Paine's years of study and reflection on the role of religion in society culminated with his final work, The

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Age of Reason 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, like all of Thomas Paine's work, is wonderful. However, the quality of this e book is just disappointing. It is full of gibberish, the gibberish being horribly translated words and sentences. A few words are easy to make out, but I found much of what I read very difficult to understand, since it was random letters and sometimes even numbers forming "words". Again, great book, bad translation. Still worth it since it is free!
JFJ99 More than 1 year ago
This piece of crap has every appearance of having been optically scanned with a bad text recognition program. It is so badly compiled that it cannot be read. Not compatible with Nook.
Donya Anthony More than 1 year ago
He speaks the truth. Love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anti-Christian is not the same as anti-God, as Thomas Paine clearly defines. The first is Institutional and supremely demanding, the other (Deism) is one's belief in a personal God based on reason, not tyranny. Although I rated this book five stars, I believe the author ignores perhaps the most important aspect of the Bible, its symbolism. One needs to read Isaiah, Book II to tune into the meaning of those symbols and to more honestly interpret the miracles suppossedly performed. But except for this, the book is a primer for any honest student of Christianity, or other religious belief, all of which are blueprints for values and norms the purpose of which is to make any community functional. Kosovo and the Serbian attempt at ethnic cleansing is but one of several current examples of what religion can do. History is rife with other extreme examples.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
APWHSOV More than 1 year ago
My chosen book is Age of Reason, written by Thomas Paine. The Age of Reason was written as a revolutionary movement by Thomas Paine and challenged longstanding religions and the validity of the Bible (the central text of Christianity). The time period and the historical events that this book references is known as the European Enlightenment (also called the Age of Reason). Enlightenment thinkers all over Europe examined outdated power players (such as the Papal Seat) and incorporated individualism, humanism, and scientific ways of examining the world. Paine’s credentials and biographical information were important in deciding the point of view at ca. 1700s. Paine openly condemned the Bible and addressed misunderstandings of the Bible. He has these views at this time ca. 1700s as the Catholic Church’s hypocritical behavior is truly farcical and does not help much that almost all of Europeans follow the Papal Seat. This book gave me a deeper insight into this era of world history as helped me understand the ideas of normal common folk challenging traditional authority. This book is from the time period; therefore it tells us the people during ca. 1700s were tired of the traditional social structures, the outdated political structure, the agricultural productivity that increased and so with back pains of the peasant class, cultural conflicts and border disputes, and the unequal socio-economic classes. Paine’s writing style and general pace of the book was affected as it mainly was a bunch of rants that were extended and involving a lot of details that are contrary to traditional ways of thinking about the Creator.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
divinetruth More than 1 year ago
The first time I ever heard of the book "The Age of Reason" was when I was doing research on the Georgia Guidestones. On it's explanatory tablet was the reference to Thomas Paines's book "The Age of Reason" and it's anti-Christian views, his hostility against religion. Mr. Paine wrote during the French revolution, a revolution to de-Christianize France and throw off the shackles of the Catholic Church. It's an attack on pagan, Babylonian Christianity of Revelation 17 passed off as truth. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to know how things were in France and what angered Napoleon and fired up the revolution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago