×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal
     

Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal

4.0 80
by Ben Macintyre
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF A SPY AMONG FRIENDS

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year
A Washington Post Best Book of 2007
One of the Top 10 Best Books of 2007 (Entertainment Weekly)
New York Times Best of the Year Round-Up
New York Times Editors’ Choice

Eddie

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
wurdnurd More than 1 year ago
Engagingly written to capture the charismatic, roguish charm of WWII British double-agent Eddie Chapman, Macintyre's sweeping history exposes many over looked parts of the WWII saga. For those who are not WWII buffs, the various characters, dynamic relationships and outlandish escapades that emerged in wartime Britain and Germany seem to be straight from the pages of Ian Fleming or an action-adventure magazine. While Chapman remains the central figure, the supporting cast is treated respectfully and is given closure in the Epilogue. At times the plot seems to drag a bit, but otherwise a fast-moving, enjoyable read.
sbca2919 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book from cover to cover. Very well written and researched. Recommend to anyone who loves to read about war and espionage.
molokaiboy More than 1 year ago
This book was an excellent read for me after having read John Masterman's book about the double cross system over 30 years ago. I am glad that Ben Macintyre was able to get accesss to the archives of MI-5 to write about Zigzag. It is a shame that we have to wait for Governments to release classified information that happened in WWII ! Slowly but surely, we are finding out who the double agents were, their true identities and some of the operations that they were involved in. This is a very good read for anyone, who is a WWII buff !
Lufbra More than 1 year ago
This tale is what the British used to call a ripping good yarn. Eddie Chapmans' story of his double cross of the German secret service in favor of the British while MI5 doubted his every move during WW2 is a story for the ages. Chapmans motives are never really clear but his actions undoubtly helped hte British efforts during the war while the his Nazi spymasters praised his dedication to their efforts to win the war and even awarded him the Iron Cross. His story validates that old saying that truth is stranger than fiction. This book is a good read not only for fans of WW2 or spy stories but for anyone who enjoys a good story. Ben Macintyre really does justice to his subject - as a reader I couldn't figure out Chapmans motives or his alliances - but the author also takes the readers into the machinations and mindset of WW2 espionage on both sides of the conflict. Fascinating stuff. Macintyre write in a Non-fiction as novel style but still manges to fill his books with numerous details and memerable characters and events. A book as much about Eddie Chapman as it is the unsung heroes he crossed paths with both on the side of the conflict.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A rousing good read, even better than the well done books and movies based on such WWII events. Eddie Chapman was a scoundrel and patriot who is hard not to like. The author does a fine job of describing the story's myriad characters and details in a way that can be easily followed.
regina77004 More than 1 year ago
Who said non-fiction can't be fun? I read a lot of non-fiction and actually enjoy the minutiae of political philosophy, histoirical context, etc. But, everyone once in a while it is refreshing to read the personal tales of those who lived the moment. Macintyre's account of Eddie Chapman: English crook turned German spy-turned British Intel agent does just that, and it is deliciously fun to read! "Fiction has not, and probably never will, produce an espionage story to rival in fascination and improbability the true story of Edward Chapman, whom only war could invest with virtue,and that only for its duration." Tin Eye Stephens, British interrogator (pg 287) Eddie Chapman started as a petty thief and his criminal career escalated to crack lock aficionado landing him in a prison that eventually came under German control. Chapman, looking for a way off the island, offered his services to the German army reasoning that his British citizenship, knowledge of explosives, and criminal history made him the ideal candidate to spy on his home country. The Germans took him up on his offer and trained him as a spy. Parachuted back into England Chapman immediately contacts MI5 and offers to spy on the Germans. There are so many things to love about this book. First, Chapman is a fascinating psychological study. He is a crook and can't be trusted. Everything that comes out of his mouth is suspect. Yet while the Germans fed his ego and offered the financial gain Chapman seemed to constantly pursue, he did remain loyal to the British cause and was the source of many successes. Secondly, I learned a lot. I have read a great deal about the success of MI5 and the SOE. They are fascinating agencies to read about. Macintyre does a very good job of showing how the Germans Intel shortcomings actually elevated their British counterparts. Thirdly, key players in other arenas make appearances like Jasper Maskelyne, the magician who is well known for his illusions in the North Africa campaing and Terrence Young who went on to create James Bond. Finally, there are the heroic actions of many individuals that make WWII a favorite among historical readers. Highly recommend it. It is an easy read, entertaining, and informative all at the the same time.
Denise_T More than 1 year ago
Wow! What an amazing story! Great research and writing that never stands still. It's the story of a double agent in World War II, and how he was "handled" on both sides. It's a good, solid story and I am happy to recommend it!
joaninoregon 6 days ago
Ben Macintyre never disappoints! I've purchased all his works and this is my favorite. I'll continue to buy everything he writes. His wit and vast understanding of the time frame and its players are unbeatable. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JKathleen More than 1 year ago
This book, this story, is a reminder of a truly remarkable time in history and the cast of characters who made it through a horrific time. Agent Zigzag is a person who is unimaginable, and how he got to where he did is a story unlike any other. I also enjoyed finding out what happened to the cast of characters after the war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Completely worth reading from cover to cover
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eddie Chapman, a handsome British explosive expert, professional thief and womanizer, became a double agent for his home country England, against Nazi Germany's Abwehr. Was Zigzag truly a double agent? A good read for a long, cold week-end. MDK75
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and hard to believe that all that really happened. But it must be true. Recommend to anyone interested in WWII history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago